We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Spectacular’ Gillian Flynn. SEVEN FOR A SECRET is the captivating second novel in Lyndsay Faye’s Edgar Award-nominated series, for fans of Andrew Taylor and Antonia Hodgson’s The Devil in the Marshalsea.

Timothy and Valentine Wilde must once again delve into the darkest underbelly of old New York.

When the beautiful and terrified Mrs Lucy Adams stumbles into the Tombs, headquarters of New York’s newly formed police force, it’s the beginning of a dense, thorny maze of crime for copper star Timothy Wilde. He’s hardened to the injustices of life in the unforgiving city he’s grown up in, but that doesn’t mean he accepts them. With immigrants flooding into the docks every day, each community is both adapting and fighting for its place in the new world, and there are many who fall victim to the clash. But the worst menace growing on the streets are the blackbirders; slave catchers who make a tidy sum from their human trade. And Timothy is about to be taken right to heart of them…

Reviews

Praise for THE GODS OF GOTHAM: 'A wonderful book. Lyndsay Faye's command of historical detail is remarkable and her knowledge of human character even more so. I bought into this world and never once had the desire to leave'
Michael Connelly
'Executed with brio and packed with pungent historical detail...this is a cracking yarn'
Daily Mail
'The Gods of Gotham succeeds on many levels: as a colourful, crackling evocation of an underworld packed with desperados; as an unflinching glance into the history of some of New York's shadiest and most shameful corners; and as a cleverly crafted crime story with a central character who deserves a new case, and another book'
Metro
'The dangerous underworld of New York in the mid-nineteenth century... wonderfully vivid and vigorous'
The Sunday Times
'This is special...The historical detail is impressive in a character-driven tale spotted with an underground language called Flash, which is fascinating. Stunning... highly recommended'
Sarah Broadhurst, 'Ones to Watch' Paperback Preview, Bookseller
'The slums of 19th-century New York... [a] rollicking historical novel...with vibrant characters'
New York Times