Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Knights Templar Collection: Volume 1

The Knights Templar Collection: Volume 1

Escape into the evocative medieval world of Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock, as you join them on the suspenseful trail of three murder mysteries.

The Knights Templar Collection
brings together three engrossing novels in the widely acclaimed and much-loved Knights Templar series by Michael Jecks. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Bernard Cornwell.

The Mad Monk of Gidleigh (Book 14):
As the winter of 1323 descends on Dartmoor, who could blame the young priest, Father Mark, for seeking affection from the miller’s daughter, Mary? But when Mary and her unborn child are found dead, Mark is the obvious suspect. Called to investigate, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and his friend Bailiff Simon Puttock soon begin to have their doubts. And by the time their search is over, life will never be quite the same again.

The Templar’s Penance (Book 15): It is the summer of 1323, and Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock have been granted leave to go on pilgrimage. When a beautiful girl is found murdered on a hillside en route to Santiago de Compostela, the friends are among the first on the scene. As Baldwin and Simon lend their skills to the inquiry, the unexpected appearance of a face from Baldwin’s past could threaten the investigation, as well as the future of Baldwin himself…

The Outlaws of Ennor (Book 16): On return from pilgrimage, Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock’s ship is attacked by pirates, and Simon sees Baldwin washed overboard. On the island of Ennor, Simon must investigate the murder of the island’s hated tax collector while, unbeknownst to his friend, Baldwin begins to unpick the same murder on the other side of the island. Can the pair uncover the truth in time to prevent certain massacre?

What readers are saying about The Knights Templar mysteries:

‘Michael Jecks is one of the best medieval writers of our times. His two main characters come alive in the imagination when you’re reading them’

The characters are richly drawn and weave in and out of the events of the early 14th century, with Michael Jecks showing great knowledge of the times

Good introduction to the series
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 12th February 2015

Price: £5.99

ISBN-13: 9781472228017


Atmospheric and cleverly plotted
Memorable characters, steadily absorbing period background... a commendable achievement
Kirkus Reviews
Complicated, well-populated, written with cross-cutting gusto, and accompanied by scholarly extras
Ellery Queen Magazine
A gem of historical storytelling
Northern Echo
Praise for Michael Jecks: Michael Jecks is the master of the medieval whodunnit
Robert Low
The most wickedly plotted medieval mystery novels
The Times
Tremendously successful medieval mystery series
Sunday Independent
If you care for a well-researched visit to medieval England, don't pass this series
Historical Novels Review
Each page is densely packed with cuckolding, coarseness, lewdness, lechery, gore galore, but also with nobility. A heady mix!
North Devon Journal
Marvellously portrayed
C.J. Sansom