Penny Vincenzi - Something Dangerous - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755351534
    • Publication date:04 Sep 2008

Something Dangerous

By Penny Vincenzi

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Sex, scandal and high society. How could anyone resist the second, newly repackaged novel in Penny Vincenzi's bestselling SPOILS OF TIME trilogy?

From the international bestselling novelist Penny Vincenzi comes SOMETHING DANGEROUS, the second novel in her highly acclaimed SPOILS OF TIME trilogy. For any reader of Jilly Cooper, Daisy Goodwin, Santa Montefiore or Harriet Evans' THE BUTTERFLY SUMMER.

'Reading her is an addictive experience' Elizabeth Buchan

The dazzling Lytton twins, Adele and Venetia, are born into the great Lytton publishing empire. In 1928, on their eighteenth birthday, they are rich and admired, with a confidence verging on arrogance. But the spectre of Nazi Germany is growing...

Gradually their privileged world darkens in unimaginable ways - but it is not just the twins whose lives have been irrevocably changed. Barty Miller, rescued from the London slums in babyhood by Celia Lytton, is clever, ambitious, and a complete contrast to the twins - and she faces temptation of the most unexpected kind...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755332410
  • Publication date: 03 Jul 2006
  • Page count: 736
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Penny Vincenzi dazzlingly combines the old-fashioned virtues of gripping storytelling with the up-to-the-minute contemporary feel for emotional depth and insight into the lives of the characters. She is a supreme stylist and clever writer. — Elizabeth Buchan
Highly addictive — Daily Telegraph
Every Penny Vincenzi is a guaranteed bestseller — Grazia
Seductively readable — The Times
Wildfire

Today

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap
Wildfire

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

Rhys Thomas
Authors:
Rhys Thomas
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd

Hunted by G X Todd is the second novel in the Voices series, highlighted as being 'of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand' in the Independent. The battle between Good and Evil continues to play out in a world where the Voice in your head can save or slaughter you. A must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' Lee ChildThe birds are flying. The birds are flocking. The birds sense the red skies are coming. One man is driven by an inner voice that isn't his - this Other is chewing at his sanity like a jackal with a bone and has one purpose. To find the voice hiding in the girl. She has no one to defend her now. But in an inn by the sea, a boy with no tongue and no voice gathers his warriors. Albus must find the girl, Lacey . . . before the Other does. And finish the work his sister Ruby began. Hunted is the second book in the acclaimed Voices series, where the battle between Good and Evil holds you in its vice-like grip. #HearTheVoices

Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

Karen Rose returns with the break-neck follow-up to MONSTER IN THE CLOSET, and the sixth book in the heart-pounding Baltimore Series. Has Thomas Thorne met his match in bloodthirsty gang boss Cesar Tavilla? Or, perhaps, in his beautiful best friend, Gwyn Weaver...?Intense, complex and unforgettable - James PattersonFast and furious - SunA high-octane thrill ride - Lisa Jackson

Headline Review

Sunset over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Jo Thomas's new novel invites you to a special cherry orchard in Spain, where sunshine, romance and family secrets are the order of the day. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews, SUNSET OVER THE CHERRY ORCHARD is a heartwarming, hilarious tale that is 'like the best kind of holiday' (Lucy Diamond).It's time for Beti Winter to dance to her own beat. After three failed engagements Beti is in desperate need of a fresh start. What better place than the sun-drenched hills of southern Spain?But it's not all sangria and siestas. Beti finds work on an old Andalucian cherry farm where there are cherries to be picked, trees to be watered and her fiery boss, Antonio, to win over. As the sun toasts her skin, Beti finds herself warming to the Spanish way of life. Embracing the art of flamenco, she discovers there is much to learn from the dance of passion. She just has to let loose and listen to the rhythm of her heart. Jo Thomas takes you there.

Tinder Press

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne
Authors:
Guy Gunaratne
Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Tinder Press

Notes from an Exhibition

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

The Richard & Judy bestseller.'Poised and pitch-perfect throughout' Mail on SundayCelebrated artist Rachel Kelly dies alone in her Penzance studio, after decades of struggling with the creative highs and devastating lows that have coloured her life. Her family gathers, each of them searching for answers. They reflect on lives shaped by the enigmatic Rachel - as artist, wife and mother - and on the ambiguous legacies she leaves them, of talent, torment and transcendent love.

Headline

The Leopards of Normandy: Conqueror

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

'A fabulous tale with refreshingly inspiring heroines' ***** HeatSheila O'Flanagan is the bestselling author of THE MISSING WIFE, and her new bestseller WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT will enchant readers who love the novels of Marian Keyes and Lisa Jewell. ThenWhen Lola Fitzpatrick catches the eye of Philip Warren, she's new to Dublin and loving it. He's used to getting what he wants...and she can't resist him. Until one night he forces her to make an impossible choice.If she'd known then what she knows now, everything might have been different.NowLola's daughter Bey has inherited her mother's impulsive streak and it takes her down dangerous paths.Then one night she too finds herself in front of a man she loves, with impossible choices of her own to make.For both women, what happened that night changes everything. For better. For worse. For ever. What readers are saying about What Happened That Night: 'Brilliant book from start to finish. Another smash from Sheila O'Flanagan' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'A great, warm, life-affirming read that is not your traditional 'romcom', but offers so much more' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'This is an exquisite book - everyone who loves a family story will love this book. Ready to change your life?' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements

An eerie and compelling ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of The Witchfinder's Sister or The Silent Companions, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone. 'Spine-tingling... the scariest ghost story I have read in a long time' Barbara Erskine 'Brooding and full of creeping menace' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions 'Like something from Emily Bronte's nightmares' Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London Maybe you've heard tales about Scarcross Hall, the house on the old coffin path that winds from village to moor top. They say there's something up here, something evil.Mercy Booth isn't afraid. The moors and Scarcross are her home and lifeblood. But, beneath her certainty, small things are beginning to trouble her. Three ancient coins missing from her father's study, the shadowy figure out by the gatepost, an unshakeable sense that someone is watching.When a stranger appears seeking work, Mercy reluctantly takes him in. As their stories entwine, this man will change everything. She just can't see it yet.

Headline Review

Letters to My Daughters

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline Review

This Could Change Everything: Beat the January blues with the feel-good new romance from the bestselling author

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

If only Essie hadn't written that letter - the one that went viral...THIS COULD CHANGE EVERYTHING is the feel-good new novel from Jill Mansell, the bestselling author of MEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY. Not to be missed by fans of Katie Fforde and Lucy Diamond. On the one hand, if Essie hadn't written that letter - the one that only her best friend was meant to see - then she'd still be living like an actual proper grown-up, tucked up with Paul in his picture-perfect cottage, maybe even planning their wedding...On the other hand (if her true feelings hadn't accidentally taken the internet by storm, that is) she wouldn't have moved into the attic flat on the square. She would never have met Conor. Or got to know Lucas...And she wouldn't have found herself falling in love with someone she really, really shouldn't fall in love with... 'One of my favourite writers' Katie Fforde'Reading Jill is always such a joy!' Veronica Henry

Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Tinder Press

The Aerodynamics of Pork

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

'Gale's concoction is irresistible: modern relationships with period charm' Armistead MaupinSeth, a musical prodigy on the eve of his sixteenth birthday, is obsessed with sex and with the men he might meet, as well as with his strange family - his arch mother, his beautiful sister, and his damaged, distant father. Mo, a policewoman struggling with moral dilemmas and her sexuality in the violent, bigoted police force of the 1980s, wants only to find romance. In this haunting tale of self discovery and hidden identities, Mo and Seth will connect to face unexpected truths about themselves, and those they have chosen to love.

Headline

Across a Summer Sea

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STREET, Helen Carey's fifth Lavender Road novel, is an irresistible, romantic and heart-warming saga of south London's women during the Second World War. Not to be missed by readers of Kate Thompson, Annie Murray and Lilian Harry.It's 1944. London's citizens are weary of air raids and rationing. But there are rumours of an invasion of France. Is the tide of war turning?Young widow Louise Rutherford longs to find a new husband and when a handsome American officer arrives to recruit volunteers for a secret project, she senses an opportunity. Her efforts are hampered, though, by her determination to help a ten-year-old war orphan, George Nelson.On both sides of the street there are challenges to face. Jen Carter's relationship with Henry Keller is threatened when an old flame reappears in her life. Her mother Joyce's decision to take romance slowly threatens to become a dangerous mistake when the V1 rockets start hitting London.In this atmospheric novel, Helen Carey brings to vivid life the spirit of the war years with all their heartache, joy and drama.

Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is: The warm and uplifting novel about a family keeping a big secret

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel