Maggie O'Farrell - Instructions for a Heatwave: Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award 2013 - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755386833
    • Publication date:28 Feb 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755398591
    • Publication date:28 Feb 2013

Instructions for a Heatwave: Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award 2013

By Maggie O'Farrell

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

An unforgettable portrait of an Irish family in crisis in the legendary heatwave of 1976

A story of a dysfunctional but deeply loveable family reunited, set during the legendary summer of 1976, INSTRUCTIONS FOR A HEATWAVE by Maggie O'Farrell was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award and was a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.

It's July 1976. In London, it hasn't rained for months, gardens are filled with aphids, water comes from a standpipe, and Robert Riordan tells his wife Gretta that he's going round the corner to buy a newspaper. He doesn't come back. The search for Robert brings Gretta's children - two estranged sisters and a brother on the brink of divorce - back home, each with different ideas as to where their father might have gone. None of them suspects that their mother might have an explanation that even now she cannot share.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755358793
  • Publication date: 29 Aug 2013
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
The Riordans will stay in your mind long after you finish this book. They're funny, infuriating and impossible not to love. They feel like family — Irish Times
My favourite kind of novel: big-hearted, psychologically complex and utterly gripping — Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette
Unputdownable — Joanna Briscoe, Guardian
Instantly appealing...magical — Daily Telegraph
Masterful...holds you on an exquisite knife-edge — Marie Claire
An author at the top of her game — Sunday Express
O'Farrell's language is lissom, airborne, mostly seamless, her characters flawed, contradictory, aggravating and instantly knowable. This is a deceptively easy, effortlessly true-feeling novel; a total delight — Metro
A quite wonderful novel...at once enthralling, page turning and atmospheric — Irish Examiner
Headline Review

Summer of Secrets

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott

SUMMER OF SECRETS is Nikola Scott's heart-breaking and unforgettable new novel about two women born decades apart caught up in dark secrets. Not to be missed by readers of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.August 1939. At peaceful Summerhill, orphaned Maddy hides from the world and the rumours of war. Then her adored sister Georgina returns from a long trip with a new friend, the handsome Victor. Maddy fears that Victor is not all he seems, but she has no idea just what kind of danger has come into their lives...Today. Chloe is newly pregnant. This should be a joyful time, but she is fearful for the future, despite her husband's devotion. When chance takes her to Summerhill, she's drawn into the mystery of what happened there decades before. And the past reaches out to touch her in ways that could change everything...

Wildfire

Today

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap
Headline Review

How to Find Love in the Little Things

Virginie Grimaldi
Authors:
Virginie Grimaldi
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline

Serpentine

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, returns for her twenty-sixth adventure. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Anne Rice will delight in this series by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Laurell K. Hamilton. 'A hardcore guilty pleasure' - The TimesAnita Blake faces new, even deadlier enemies as she and the people she loves confront major changes in their lives...

Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline Review

The Hideaway

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The unputdownable new novel from Sunday Times bestselling Sheila O'Flanagan, author of THE MISSING WIFE and WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT. Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes.What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie?When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan's world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves - and with no way of getting the answers she so desperately needs.A distraught Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and bountiful orange groves - along with Pep, the winemaker's handsome son - begin to soothe her broken heart, but only Juno herself can mend it.Just when she begins to feel whole again another bombshell falls. Can Juno put the past behind her? And will she ever learn to trust herself again?

Headline

A Whole Lotta Love

Louise Lee
Authors:
Louise Lee
Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke
Headline Review

The Songs of Us

Emma Cooper
Authors:
Emma Cooper
Headline Review

Sunset over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Jo Thomas's new novel invites you to a special cherry orchard in Spain, where sunshine, romance and family secrets are the order of the day. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde, SUNSET OVER THE CHERRY ORCHARD is a heartwarming, hilarious tale.It's time for Beti Winter to dance to her own beat. After three failed engagements Beti is in desperate need of a fresh start. What better place than the sun-drenched hills of southern Spain?But it's not all sangria and siestas. Beti finds work on an old Andalucian cherry farm where there are cherries to be picked, trees to be watered and her fiery boss, Antonio, to win over. As the sun toasts her skin, Beti finds herself warming to the Spanish way of life. Embracing the art of flamenco, she discovers there is much to learn from the dance of passion. She just has to let loose and listen to the rhythm of her heart. Jo Thomas takes you there.

Tinder Press

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne
Authors:
Guy Gunaratne
Wildfire

Lying To You

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds

Following on from her eBook bestseller Close To Me, Amanda Reynolds is back with Lying To You, another gripping psychological drama. Perfect for fans of The Husband's Secret and I Let You Go.You'd know if you were lying to yourself, wouldn't you?When Jess Tidy was Mark Winter's student, she made an accusation that ultimately saw him sentenced to three years in prison. A jury found him guilty, but he always maintained his innocence. Now, Jess's mother's death has brought her back to the village where she grew up, and where Mark still lives with his wife. And the truth about that night ten years ago which nearly destroyed them both is finally going to come out.A gripping drama with dark twists and turns, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and the BBC series Doctor Foster.

Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton

YOU'VE NEVER READ A LOVE STORY AS TWISTED AS THIS. THE MUST-READ THRILLER OF 2018... Perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL, and THE GIRL BEFORE.Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love.Some readers find her...'Obsessed and delusional' 'Like Glenn Close in Fatal Attraction... on steroids!' 'Single white female... from the other side''Truly the most psychotic girlfriend' 'Completely unhinged ... but you just can't help rooting for her'-----------------Juliette loves Nate. She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flight attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him. They are meant to be. The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing. Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.She is the perfect girlfriend. And she'll make sure no one stops her from getting exactly what she wants.True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain...------------------'Brilliant and terrifying' Fiona Cummins, author of RATTLE'So addictive it should come with a warning' Alice Feeney, author of SOMETIMES I LIE'One of the best twisted narrators I've ever read' C.J. Tudor, author of THE CHALK MAN'Thrillingly different and totally gripping. I loved it!' Laura Marshall, author of FRIEND REQUEST

Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements

An eerie and compelling ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of The Witchfinder's Sister or The Silent Companions, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone. 'Spine-tingling... the scariest ghost story I have read in a long time' Barbara Erskine 'Brooding and full of creeping menace' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions 'Like something from Emily Bronte's nightmares' Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London Maybe you've heard tales about Scarcross Hall, the house on the old coffin path that winds from village to moor top. They say there's something up here, something evil.Mercy Booth isn't afraid. The moors and Scarcross are her home and lifeblood. But, beneath her certainty, small things are beginning to trouble her. Three ancient coins missing from her father's study, the shadowy figure out by the gatepost, an unshakeable sense that someone is watching.When a stranger appears seeking work, Mercy reluctantly takes him in. As their stories entwine, this man will change everything. She just can't see it yet.

Tinder Press

A Perfectly Good Man

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER, 'a convincing, moving account of man's struggle with faith, marriage and morality' Sunday TimesOn a clear, crisp summer's day in Cornwall, a young man carefully prepares to take his own life, and asks family friend, John Barnaby, to pray with him. Barnaby - priest, husband and father - has always tried to do good, though life hasn't always been rosy. Lenny's request poses problems, not just for Barnaby, but for his wife and family, and the wider community, as the secrets of the past push themselves forcefully into the present for all to see.

Tinder Press

The Whole Day Through

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

A Sweet Obscurity

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Friendly Fire

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Tree Surgery for Beginners

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale