Martina Cole - The Runaway - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755374090
    • Publication date:28 Oct 2010
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755350728
    • Publication date:10 Jun 2005

The Runaway

By Martina Cole
Read by Lisa Coleman

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A gritty, unputdownable thriller of corruption and violence from the unique voice of No. 1 bestselling author Martina Cole

When Cathy Connor and Eamonn Docherty are thrown together as children in the sleazy streets of London's east End their fate is sealed.

Cathy's miserable life as a prostitute's child leads to a terrifying ordeal that leaves her with no choice . . . Entering the world of Soho as a runaway, she is rescued and taught to survive in a criminal underworld by Desrae. Meanwhile, Eamonn, who fled to America with his father, has gained a reputation as one of the most ruthless villains in New York.

It's only a matter of time before their paths cross and, when they do, Cathy's an equal match for Eamonn. She's beautiful, clever and tough. And nothing's going to make her run away again . . .

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755382231
  • Publication date: 31 Mar 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Untitled 1

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Headline Review

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

Alison Weir
Authors:
Alison Weir

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life' GuardianAnne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.'Offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne's true nature . . . Enthralling' Sarah GristwoodThe young woman who changed the course of history.Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price. ANNE BOLEYN. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story. History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.

Headline

Blood Tide (Paula Maguire 5)

Claire McGowan
Authors:
Claire McGowan

Forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returns in BLOOD TIDE, the fifth novel in Claire McGowan's acclaimed series. If you loved Sharon Bolton's LITTLE BLACK LIES or Elly Griffiths' THE WOMAN IN BLUE, you will love this new novel from the author acclaimed as 'the new Ruth Rendell' by Ken Bruen.Called in to investigate the disappearance of a young couple during a violent storm, Paula Maguire, forensic psychologist, has mixed feelings about going back to Bone Island. Her last family holiday as a child was spent on its beautiful, remote beaches and returning brings back haunting memories of her long-lost mother.It soon becomes clear that outsiders aren't welcome on the island, and with no choice but to investigate the local community, Paula soon suspects foul play, realising that the islanders are hiding secrets from her, and each other.With another storm fast approaching, Paula is faced with a choice. Leave alive or risk being trapped with a killer on an inescapable island, as the blood tide rushes in...

Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

Betrayal

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

The DI Kate Burrows Trilogy: The Ladykiller, Broken, Hard Girls

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

An Echo of Murder (William Monk Mystery, Book 23)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

The master of the Victorian crime, New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry returns with the 23rd novel in the William Monk series, AN ECHO OF MURDER.London, 1870: The body of a Hungarian immigrant is found dead in what appears to be a ritualistic killing, with a bayonet through his heart, his fingers broken and his body surrounded by seventeen blood-dipped candles. At first, Commander William Monk of the Thames River Police suspects the killer is from within the community, but when another murder takes place, Monk fears the immigrants are being targeted by an outsider...Meanwhile, Hester is reunited with a doctor who had been left for dead on a Crimean battlefield. Traumatised by his experiences, Fitz has made his way home via Hungary and is now living in the community. Hester is determined to help him and, when he is accused of the killings, she sets out to prove his innocence...

Headline

Get Even

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

The Good Life

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

The Knights Templar Collection

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Headline

Revenge

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

BE SURE YOUR SINS WILL FIND YOU OUT.Michael Flynn is untouchable in a world of power, money and violence. He fights for what he wants and he takes it, whatever the cost. He learns the rules of the Life from the best and when his mentor, legendary Face Patrick Costello, is taken out, no one questions that Michael Flynn is his natural successor. For Michael, loyalty - and crime - pay.Michael Flynn rises to heights beyond anything the criminal underworld has seen. He owns everyone and he rules his empire with an even but fierce hand. No one would dare challenge him.Then the unthinkable happens. Perhaps Michael Flynn is not so untouchable after all, and he must learn that . . .WITHOUT THE SHEDDING OF BLOOD THERE CAN BE NO FORGIVENESS OF SINS.

Headline

The Knowledge: A free digital compendium

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

THE KNOWLEDGE by Sunday Times bestselling author Martina Cole is a digital compendium introducing you to the world of the Queen of Crime. **Now updated with a preview of Martina's new novel, BETRAYAL**. Ideal reading for fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.What makes Martina Cole tick? What are her passions? What are the essential facts behind the phenomenal bestselling author? THE KNOWLEDGE is a snapshot of Martina Cole herself as well as a showcase of her short stories, and samples of all her novels, culminating in a sneak peek of BETRAYAL, her new novel out autumn 2016.THE KNOWLEDGE: ENTER THE UNIQUE WORLD OF MARTINA COLE IF YOU DARE.

Headline

The Life

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

THE LIFE by Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole is an unflinching novel that exposes a world that many would rather ignore. The 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian), Martina's unique, powerful storytelling will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.The Baileys are born into the Life. Brothers Daniel and Peter rule London's East End with threats and violence. Only a fool would cross them, but there are always those in the shadows who will try.And when their enemies strike, every Bailey pays the price. But none more so than Daniel's only daughter, Tania. The Life is in her blood, and now it's her weapon for revenge.

Headline

Broken

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

DI Kate Burrows thought she'd never face a killer like the Grantley Ripper again. But she was wrong. One by one, children are being abandoned. Thankfully, they're rescued from harm. Then one victim is not so lucky, and Kate knows she's in a race against time to save lives. As a parent herself, Kate's finding the case tough and she needs the support of her lover, Patrick Kelly, more than ever. But Patrick's got problems of his own...(P)2012 Headline Digital

Headline

Faces

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Just before Danny Cadogan's fourteenth birthday, his father, Big Dan, leaves his wife and children to face the wrath of the men sent to collect his gambling debt. Determined to protect his mother, brother and sister, overnight Danny becomes set on making his way in a violent and dangerous world. He becomes a Face. Not just a Face, but the most feared Face in the Smoke. Out for all he can get. At any cost. Danny's ruthlessness doesn't stop at his front door. He rules his family with an iron will - and his fists. But if his wife, Mary breaks her silence, it could shake Danny's criminal empire; right to the very core. And for a Face at the top of his game, there's only one way to go. Down. Because, after all, debts can be paid without money...(P)2012 Headline Digital

Headline

The Ladykiller

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

George Markham has a nasty little hobby, one that erupts into an orgy of vicious sexual depravity. Patrick Kelly is a hard man. His one soft spot is his daughter, and when she falls victim to the Grantley Ripper, Kelly wants revenge. The DI in charge of the case is Kate Burrows. She feels for Kelly but her growing involvement with a known villain is putting her career at risk . . . As the forces of law and order and London's underworld converge in a huge manhunt, Kate fears she'll lose everything she's ever cared about . . . to the ladykiller.(P)2012 Headline Digital

Headline

The Jump

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

Two Women

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

Jinnie

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Dream a Little Dream

Joan Jonker
Authors:
Joan Jonker

Edie Dennison was a sweet young girl when she first met her husband Robert living in the same street of two-up two-down houses in Seaforth. Now, thanks to the success of Robert's business, they've gone up in the world. When Robert realises that his wife has forgotten her roots, and is encouraging their children to have ideas above their station, he decides to take his two youngest children, Nigel and Abbie, back to Seaforth, to meet their old friends and the grandparents they never knew they had. Soon they discover a whole new world of happiness is waiting for them...