Josephine Cox - Outcast - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472230249
    • Publication date:12 Mar 2015

Outcast

The past cannot be forgotten… (Emma Grady trilogy, Book 1)

By Josephine Cox

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Josephine Cox writes a gripping Victorian saga in Outcast, the first instalment of the Emma Grady trilogy - the story of a young woman's battles in life and love.

As history threatens to repeat itself, the actions of one young woman lead to tragic consequences...

In the first instalment of the Emma Grady trilogy, Josephine Cox's Outcast is an extraordinarily powerful saga of a passionate, yet impossible, love. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Kitty Neale.

On a fateful night in 1860, Thadius Grady realises, too late, that he has made a grave mistake. In blind faith he has put himself and his daughter Emma at the mercy of his sister and her conniving husband, Caleb Crowther - for he has entrusted to them his entire fortune and the daughter he adores. With his dying breath he pleads to see his daughter one last time - but Caleb's heart is made of stone.

A feared Lancashire Justice, Caleb Crowther is a womaniser and a gambler, and now the inheritance due to Emma is as much in his hands as is the beautiful Emma Grady herself. But Caleb lives in fear of the past, for how did Emma's mother mysteriously die? And what made Thadius and Caleb hate the river people so intensely? History seems likely to repeat itself when Emma falls helplessly in love with Marlow Tanner, a young bargee. For Marlow and Emma, it is an impossible love - a love made in Heaven, but which could carry them both to Hell...

What readers are saying about Outcast:

'A dark and somewhat disturbing tale of intrigue, mystery and romance; of treacherous relatives and doomed love affairs'

'I loved this story. You can really feel the emotions of the characters and the threats they face. The actions and settings are so vividly described that you could almost be in the scenes yourself'

'One of the best books I've ever read'

Biographical Notes

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755384532
  • Publication date: 19 Jan 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline
Driven and passionate — The Sunday Times
Impossible to resist — Woman's Realm
Josephine Cox brings so much freshness to the plot, and the characters ... A Cookson by any other name — Birmingham Post
Hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson — Manchester Evening News
Headline Review

Hidden Truths

Muna Shehadi
Authors:
Muna Shehadi
Headline Review

Honest Secrets

Muna Shehadi
Authors:
Muna Shehadi
Headline

The Stolen Child

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

A powerful new saga from Jennie Felton in the grand tradition of Josephine Cox, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin of love, loss, tragedy, drama, secrets and twists and turns.Who will believe this baby is not hers?When Stella Swift is discovered holding a shard of broken glass near her newborn baby boy, fears that she might harm William result in her being taken to Catcombe - the local asylum. Although the regime is not as harsh as it once was, it's not somewhere that Tom wants to send his wife - but he has no choice.Turning to his kind-hearted sister-in-law Grace for help taking care of his other three children whilst he keeps working at the mine seems like the simplest solution until Stella is well - if only there wasn't the shared history between Tom and Grace...At first Catcombe seems to offer the respite Stella needs - until one day she becomes convinced that the baby the nurses have given to her is not William. Is Stella losing her mind? Or is it true that a mother will always know her own child?Don't miss Jennie's Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter, Edie's story in The Girl Below Stairs, Carina's story in The Widow's Promise and Laurel's story in The Sister's Secret.

Headline

Death in Focus (Elena Standish Book 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry brings us an exciting new thriller of espionage and murder set across Europe in the 1930s. The world is on the brink of war and no one is to be trusted as young photographer Elena Standish becomes embroiled in a terrifying game of cat and mouse.

Headline

Belle of the Back Streets

Glenda Young
Authors:
Glenda Young
Headline Review

The Gown

Jennifer Robson
Authors:
Jennifer Robson

The Gown is an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it. Perfect for anyone who's captivated by The Crown.London, 1947: Besieged by a harsh winter, burdened by shortages and rationing, the people of post-war Britain are suffering despite their nation's recent victory. For Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, embroiderers at the famed Mayfair fashion house of Norman Hartnell, a glimmer of brightness comes in the form of their unlikely friendship and being chosen for a once-in-a-lifetime honour: taking part in the creation of Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown. Toronto, 2016: Heather Mackenzie seeks to unravel the mystery of a legacy from her late grandmother. How did her beloved nan, who never spoke of her old life in Britain, come to possess the priceless embroideries that so closely resemble the motifs on the stunning gown worn by Queen Elizabeth II at her wedding almost seventy years before? And what was her nan's connection to the celebrated textile artist and Holocaust survivor Miriam Dassin?With The Gown, Jennifer Robson takes us inside the workrooms where one of the most famous wedding gowns in history was created to tell a story of women whose lives are woven together by the pain of survival, the bonds of friendship, and the redemptive power of love.

Headline

Dark Tide Rising (William Monk Mystery, Book 24)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

A Christmas Return (Christmas Novella 15)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

A CHRISTMAS RETURN is the 15th novella in the festive series by Anne Perry, the queen of Victorian crime.As the festive season approaches, Charlotte Pitt's grandmamma, Mariah Ellison, is facing Christmas alone. When she receives an unexpected gift, memories are sparked of a Christmas in Haslemere long ago, when her beloved friend Cullen Wesley died and a local villager was brutally murdered, with no killer brought to justice.The unsolved case has resurfaced and Cullen's grandson, Peter, begs for Mariah's help to solve the crime that led to his grandfather's death. Mariah can't resist a friend in need and she returns to Haslemere to investigate the murder and heal old wounds. But evil still lurks in the picturesque village and she'll need all her wits about her to see that justice is done.A Christmas Return is the enthralling new festive tale from the pen of Anne Perry, the master of Victorian crime.

Headline

Twenty-One Days (Daniel Pitt Mystery 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Cradle of Thorns

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

The Girl Below Stairs: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 3

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

On A Wing And A Prayer (Lavender Road 3)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

The Ties that Bind

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

THE TIES THAT BIND is a powerful, moving saga from bestselling author Lyn Andrews. Not to be missed by readers of Kate Thompson and Donna Douglas.Tessa O'Leary is the only daughter of a family of fatherless boys. When her mother dies she's her brothers' lifeline to survival. So for Tessa the privations of war are just another battle to be fought for a young woman who was born fighting...Elizabeth Harrison is oppressed by her shopkeeper mother's snobbish expectations and it seems that the coming war could offer her an escape from her family's emotional ties - but at what cost?

Headline

Some Sunny Day (Lavender Road 2)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

Corridors of the Night (William Monk Mystery, Book 21)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry

One night, in a corridor of the Royal Naval Hospital, Greenwich, nurse Hester Monk is approached by a terrified girl. She's from a hidden ward of children, all subject to frequent blood-letting, and her brother is dying. While William Monk's River Police fight to keep London safe from gun-runners, Hester takes on a new role at the hospital, helping to administer a secretive new treatment. But she slowly realises that this experimental cure is putting the lives of the children at risk. Attempting to protect the young victims, she comes under threat from one rich, powerful, and very ill man who is desperate to survive...

Headline

Jessica's Girl

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Despite a deathbed warning from her beloved mother, Phoebe Mulligan has no choice but to throw herself on the mercy of her uncle, Edward. Wrenched from all she holds dear, the tragic young girl is delivered to Blackburn town, where she must live in a household terrorised by the cold, forbidding presence of her mother's brother. Phoebe cannot understand why she is treated so harshly by Edward Dickens. She is not to know the guilty secret that lies in his past, a secret that casts a sinister shadow over his feelings for his lovely niece . . .