Claire McGowan - The Lost (Paula Maguire 1) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755386383
    • Publication date:11 Apr 2013
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755386376
    • Publication date:11 Apr 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755398669
    • Publication date:11 Apr 2013

The Lost (Paula Maguire 1)

By Claire McGowan

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The first in the Paula Maguire series from Claire McGowan, acclaimed by Ken Bruen as 'Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell'. Forensic psychologist Maguire must search for two missing girls but soon learns that sometimes it's better not to find what you've lost.

The first novel in the highly exhilarating Paula Maguire series from Claire McGowan, acclaimed by Ken Bruen as 'Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell'. Perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths and Isabelle Gray.

Not everyone who's missing is lost
When two teenage girls go missing along the Irish border, forensic psychologist Paula Maguire has to return to the hometown she left years before. Swirling with rumour and secrets, the town is gripped by fear of a serial killer. But the truth could be even darker.

Not everyone who's lost wants to be found
Surrounded by people and places she tried to forget, Paula digs into the cases as the truth twists further away. What's the link with two other disappearances from 1985? And why does everything lead back to the town's dark past- including the reasons her own mother went missing years before?

Nothing is what it seems
As the shocking truth is revealed, Paula learns that sometimes, it's better not to find what you've lost.

Biographical Notes

Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland. After a degree in English and French from Oxford University, and time spent living in China and France, she moved to London and works in the charity sector and also teaches creative writing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755386406
  • Publication date: 26 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Headline
Compelling, clever and entertaining — Jane Casey, author of The Burning
A gripping yarn you will be unable to put down — Sun
McGowan's style is pacey and direct, and the twists come thick and fast — Declan Burke, Irish Times
Engaging and gripping — Northern Echo
Taut plotting and assured writing . . . a highly satisfying thriller — Good Housekeeping
Either Tana French and Michael Connelly secretly co-wrote this book, or Claire McGowan is a knockout new talent you should read immediately. I'm betting on the latter — Lee Child
Claire McGowan is Ireland's answer to Ruth Rendell — Ken Bruen
Fresh and accessible without ever compromising on grit or suspense — Erin Kelly
A brilliant portrait of a fractured society and a mystery full of heartstopping twists. Compelling, clever and entertaining — Jane Casey
A keeps-you-guessing mystery — Alex Marwood, author of The Wicked Girls
A terrifically assured and pulse-pounding novel; dark, sad, lyrical, and full of superb twists — Stav Sherez