Bateman - Mohammed Maguire - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472201362
    • Publication date:09 May 2013

Mohammed Maguire

By Bateman

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

Dark and irreverent, MOHAMMED MAGUIRE is a wickedly funny fable by bestselling author Bateman.

When the Marines destroy a terrorist training camp in the Libyan desert, they also kill both the parents of a ten-year-old boy, Mohammed Maguire.

Brought back to Ireland, the land of his mother's birth, young Mohammed is treated as a public relations commodity by both sides of an argument that he doesn't understand - but which he can see with the clear eyes of a child.

Wickedly funny and wonderfully abrasive, MOHAMMED MAGUIRE is Bateman at his very best.

Biographical Notes

Bateman was a journalist in Northern Ireland before becoming a full-time writer. His first novel, DIVORCING JACK, won the Betty Trask Prize, and all his novels have been critically acclaimed. He wrote the screenplays for the feature films DIVORCING JACK and WILD ABOUT HARRY and the popular TV series MURPHY`S LAW starring James Nesbitt. Bateman lives in Ireland with his family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472201355
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Headline
'It is as if Spike Milligan teamed up with Flann O'Brien with the idea of writing a farce about Northern Ireland in the 80s. We are offered free-wheeling lunacy, satire, raw comedy and wonderful abrasive dialogue' — Sunday Tribune
Headline

Bob Skinner 31

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

Found

Erin Kinsley
Authors:
Erin Kinsley

ONE CHILD IS SAFE...BUT HOW LONG UNTIL ANOTHER IS TAKEN?A gripping, heart-wrenching thriller that combines the suspense of Cara Hunter's CLOSE TO HOME with the searing emotion of TV dramas such as BROADCHURCH.When 11 year old Evan vanishes without trace, his parents are plunged into their worst nightmare - especially as the police, under massive pressure, have no answers. But months later Evan is unexpectedly found, frightened and refusing to speak. His loving family realise life will never be the same again. DI Naylor knows that unless those who took Evan are caught, other children are in danger. And with Evan silent, she must race against time to find those responsible...(P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Wildfire

Nothing to Hide

James Oswald
Authors:
James Oswald
Headline

A Knife to the Heart (Ikmen Mystery 21)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The twenty-first chilling Istanbul crime thriller starring Çetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Silver Dagger Award-winning author Barbara Nadel. Not to be missed by fans of Donna Leon. A derelict villa near Istanbul holds dark spirits, secrets and murder...Retired inspector Çetin Ikmen must confront his demons to reveal the shocking truth behind a young girl's death...When historian Suzan Tan is asked to examine the contents of a derelict villa on the Bosphorus, she is intrigued to discover a Ouija board among the artefacts. Forty years ago, a young girl was found with a knife in her heart in this villa. It is said that before her death this very Ouija board spelled out her name.The verdict was suicide - but what if it was a brutal act of murder and her killer was still walking free?Suzan asks Ikmen to solve the case, and despite his reluctance to get involved, he soon finds himself drawn into the mystery. With the help of his friend Inspector Süleyman, Ikmen delves into Istanbul's dark underbelly to uncover a terrifying tale of secrets, lies and murder.(P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline Review

The Big Kahuna

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich

A mysterious disappearance, an enormous fortune and a missing unicorn - it's the weirdest and wildest challenge yet for Janet Evanovich's bestselling sleuths Fox & O'Hare FBI Agent Kate O'Hare plays by the rules. Charming con man Nicholas Fox makes them up as he goes along. They're working together to tackle the out-of-bounds cases ordinary FBI agents can't touch. And their relationship? Well, there hasn't been so much explosive chemistry since Nitro was introduced to Glycerin. Next up: the mysterious disappearance of the Silicon Valley billionaire known as the Big Kahuna. His model wife and shady business partner are more interested in gaining control of his company than in finding him. They need a dead body... not a living Kahuna. The only lead is the Kahuna's drop-out son, who's living the dream in Hawaii. To get close to him, Kate and Nick go undercover as a married couple in the surfer community. For Kate, there is nothing more horrifying than setting up house with Nick Fox. If they don't catch a break soon, waves aren't going to be the only thing she'll be shredding (or bedding).

Headline

Death in Focus (Elena Standish Book 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

The Knights Templar Collection: Volume 2

Michael Jecks
Authors:
Michael Jecks
Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton

YOU'VE NEVER READ A LOVE STORY AS TWISTED AS THIS.Perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL, and THE GIRL BEFORE.Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love.Juliette loves Nate.She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flightattendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.They are meant to be.The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing.Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.She is the perfect girlfriend.And she'll make sure no one stops her fromgetting exactly what she wants.True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain...'You don't often come across a character who is both sociopathic and compelling. Buckle your seatbelts, you're in for a very bumpy ride ... Let this supremely enjoyable thriller whisk you up, up and away' Sunday Mirror'This debut novel is written with a gleeful zeal ... Juliette is a memorable, grippingly unpredictable character' Daily Express'An addictive psycological thriller... Unhinged' Culturefly'Be prepared to put your life on hold' Good Housekeeping

Headline

Cold Case (Bob Skinner series, Book 30)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine
Headline

The Night She Died

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst

The addictive new psychological thriller from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 eBook-bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU. Full of dark drama and unexpected twists, this will suit fans of FRIEND REQUEST, CLOSE TO HOME, and THE GUILTY WIFE.'Hooked from the first page and kept me guessing right up until the end.' Claire Douglas, Sunday Times Top 10 bestselling author of The Sisters, Local Girl Missing and Last Seen AliveOn her own wedding night, beautiful and complicated Evie White leaps off a cliff to her death. What drove her to commit this terrible act? It's left to her best friend and her husband to unravel the sinister mystery. Following a twisted trail of clues leading to Evie's darkest secrets, they begin to realize they never knew the real Evie at all...Readers LOVE The Night She Died...'The Night She Died is a gripping and hugely enjoyable book. As their lies weave a trap for the characters, the twists come at a pace that will make your head spin. I was hooked from the start' Jane Casey'Utterly fabulous. Hooked all the way through, from one chapter to the next.' Rebecca Bradley'Blackhurst's excellent writing keeps the tension high right through to the final page' Rachel Abbott'The Night She Died is expertly plotted, utterly captivating and wonderfully dark - I loved it!" Susi Holiday'A fiendishly twisting mystery I finished almost in one sitting. Jenny Blackhurst is the new queen of the psychological thriller.' Mason Cross'The Night She Died is a rollercoaster ride you'll love' Lucy Dawson'This talented writer knows a thing or two about her craft.' Amanda Jennings'This book has been read under desks in lecture theatres, on the school run, on trains... #obsessed!' C.R. Myers'Utterly gripping, this devious thriller will have you racing to the end with its intrigue and clever pacing' Woman's Weekly

Headline

A Christmas Return (Christmas Novella 15)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 3: Dreadful Places

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke

For fans of Neil Gaiman and Welcome to Night Vale, Aaron Mahnke's The World of Lore (based on the hit LORE podcast) explores the chilling truth behind the legendary creatures, peculiar people and horrific places that arouse our deepest fears. Now on online streaming seriesVolume 3: Dreadful PlacesThis third book in The World of Lore series will explore dark and dreadful places on land and at sea, places haunted by tragedy and filled with echoes of evil. These are the stories about cities, and buildings, too, from New Orleans to Louisiana and Richmond, Virginia, as well as infamous places like the Stanley Hotel in Colorado and England's most frightening and brooding castles...

Headline Review

Hardcore Twenty-Four

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

'With the return of some of her best-loved characters and lashings of her usual grit, Cole fans will lap this up' HeatDamaged is the explosive new novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole, author of Dangerous Lady, The Ladykiller and Betrayal. Iconic heroine DCI Kate Burrows returns in a blistering thriller you won't be able to put down. This killer has only just begun...DCI Kate Burrows might be retired, but when the bodies of missing schoolgirls start turning up in Grantley, she's the first person DCI Annie Carr calls for help.Life for Kate and ex-gangster Patrick Kelly is thrown into chaos when his long lost son turns up out of the blue, bringing trouble with him. This new case could be just what Kate needs.But as the body count grows, Kate and Annie face a race against the clock.Without any clear leads, can they stop the killer before another schoolgirl dies?

Headline

Incorruptible (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 20)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

'Inspector Ikmen thrillers combine brightly coloured scene setting with deliciously tortuous plots' GuardianINCORRUPTIBLE is the gripping new Istanbul crime thriller starring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from award-winning author Barbara Nadel. Not to be missed by fans of Donna Leon.In the backstreets of Istanbul, a young woman's body is found. Dumped in a dustbin and covered in cut flowers, she is the victim of a frenzied and vicious stabbing. Inspector Ikmen discovers that the woman was well known in Istanbul. Newspapers had been calling her the blessed woman; cured of cancer in a Christian miracle and a proclaimed messenger of the Virgin Mary. These controversial claims had made her fierce enemies in the predominantly Islamic community and she had unwittingly stirred up divisions amongst the Christians of the city. But as Ikmen digs further into the case he uncovers powerful hatred and dark secrets lurking within her family. And to find the truth he must delve into a toxic world of fear, concealment and lies. The question is: was this a killing in the name of faith or does the answer lie somewhere else?

Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 2: Wicked Mortals

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke
Headline

Twenty-One Days (Daniel Pitt Mystery 1)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Dark Tide Rising (William Monk Mystery, Book 24)

Anne Perry
Authors:
Anne Perry
Headline

Night of the Lightbringer (Sister Fidelma Mysteries Book 28)

Peter Tremayne
Authors:
Peter Tremayne
Headline

State Secrets (Bob Skinner series, Book 28)

Quintin Jardine
Authors:
Quintin Jardine