Patrick Gale - The Rocks Along Our Way - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472205339
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2018
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472205346
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2018

The Rocks Along Our Way

By Patrick Gale

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the author of the Costa Shortlisted A PLACE CALLED WINTER comes a startling coming-of-age novel of boyhood and the collision between desire and reality.

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER comes a new novel of boyhood, coming of age, and the confusions of desire and reality. For all readers of Ian McEwan's ATONEMENT or L P Hartley's THE GO-BETWEEN.

1970s Weston-Super-Mare and ten-year-old oddball Eustace, an only child, has life transformed by his mother's quixotic decision to sign him up for cello lessons. Music-making brings release for a boy who is discovering he is an emotional volcano. He laps up lessons from his young teacher, not noticing how her brand of glamour is casting a damaging spell over his frustrated and controlling mother.

When he is enrolled in holiday courses in the Scottish borders, lessons in love, rejection and humility are added to daily practice.

Drawing in part on his own boyhood, Patrick Gale's new novel explores a collision between childish hero worship and extremely messy adult love lives.

Biographical Notes

Patrick Gale was born on the Isle of Wight. He spent his infancy at Wandsworth Prison, which his father governed, then grew up in Winchester before going to Oxford University. He now lives on a farm near Land's End. One of this country's best-loved novelists, his most recent works are A Perfectly Good Man, the Richard and Judy bestseller Notes From An Exhibition, and the bestselling A Place Called Winter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472205360
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
Headline Review

Untitled

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

Damaged: the new Martina Cole bestseller featuring Kate Burrows

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

Number One megaselling Queen of Crime Martina Cole returns with Damaged, a new DCI Kate Burrows thriller. If you loved The Ladykiller, you'll adore Damaged, the ultimate summer thrill ride. The race is on for DCI Kate Burrows. Stop the killer before more innocent girls die.When the bodies of missing schoolgirls start turning up, former DCI Kate Burrows is dragged out of retirement.A new Grantley serial killer is in town and DCI Annie Carr turns to Kate for help. She welcomes the distraction from her home life with former gangster, Patrick Kelly, whose long lost son has turned up out of the blue, bringing trouble with him.It soon becomes clear the killer is on their doorstep and as the body count grows, Kate and Annie face a race against the clock. But they have no real leads ... and there's more to these murders than meets the eye. Can Kate take the killer down before another schoolgirl dies?

Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline Review

Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas

Jo Thomas's new novel invites you to a special cherry orchard in Spain, where sunshine, romance and family secrets are the order of the day. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde, SUNSET OVER THE CHERRY ORCHARD is a heartwarming, hilarious tale.A fresh start. A lifelong dream. A shot at true love. Could a cherry orchard in Spain hold the answers for Beti? Jo Thomas takes you there.

Headline

The Leopards of Normandy: Conqueror

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill

**From the co-author of the No.1 bestselling Wilbur Smith novel, WAR CRY. **The Leopards of Normandy trilogy concludes with Conqueror as Duke William prepares to take England, and his rivals for the English throne, by storm. It begins in Normandy. It will end at Hastings. This vibrant series by David Churchill, co-author of War Cry, the upcoming Courtney novel by Wilbur Smith, is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'An exciting mix of medieval betrayal, violence and sex' Wilbur Smith.It began with a promise. It will end at Hastings.William of Normandy, sworn heir to the English throne, is no longer the boy Duke but a loyal and proven warrior. Few dare challenge him, but England is an irresistible prize.The handsome, ambitious Harold Godwinson and the Viking Hardrada are both determined to stake a claim. William faces his greatest ever battle: deny his own destiny or conquer the land he was born to rule.History will be written in the blood of those who fall.

Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Headline Review

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan

A tumbledown hacienda in the Spanish countryside in want of love and care is just what a grieving Irish family needs in this heartwarming, uplifting novel from Irish top ten bestseller Emma Hannigan. If you love reading Cathy Kelly and Patricia Scanlan, and watching UNDER A TUSCAN SUN, this is the perfect read for you, and a book you will want to share. 'Brimming with hope' Sunday Independent

Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller you have to read this summer

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

A Sunday Times Top Ten BestsellerMEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY is a romantic, funny and unputdownable new novel about love and friendship from Jill Mansell, bestselling author of THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT and YOU AND ME, ALWAYS - 'A glorious, heartwarming romantic read' Woman & Home. Perfect for anyone who loves Milly Johnson, Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan.Love is in the air in St Carys, but you'd never know it - the people of this seaside town are very good at keeping secrets...The man Clemency loves belongs to someone else. She has to hide her true feelings - but when she ropes in an unsuspecting friend to help, wires start to get crossed.For the first time in Ronan's life his charm has failed him in winning over the woman he wants. Loving her from afar appears to be his only option.Belle seems to have the perfect boyfriend, but something isn't quite right. And now a long-buried secret is slowly rising to the surface.The truth has a funny way of revealing itself, and when it does St Carys will be a very different place indeed...

Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

A RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK 2017SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA NOVEL AWARDA top-ten bestseller, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE by Maggie O'Farrell crosses time zones and continents to reveal an extraordinary portrait of a marriage. 'A complex, riveting novel of love and hope that grips at the heart' The Sunday TimesA reclusive ex-film star living in the wilds of Ireland, Claudette Wells is a woman whose first instinct, when a stranger approaches her home, is to reach for her shotgun. Why is she so fiercely protective of her family, and what made her walk out of her cinematic career when she had the whole world at her feet?Her husband Daniel, reeling from a discovery about a woman he last saw twenty years ago, is about to make an exit of his own. It is a journey that will send him off-course, far away from the life he and Claudette have made together. Will their love for one another be enough to bring Daniel back home?

Headline

Ararat

Christopher Golden
Authors:
Christopher Golden
Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel
Headline Review

The Plague Charmer

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline

Love Me or Leave Me

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

A Time for Us

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

The Door to December

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Six years ago, Laura McCaffrey's three-year-old daughter Melanie was kidnapped by Laura's estranged husband, Dylan, and seemingly vanished from the face of the earth. Now, Melanie has been found, a nine-year-old wandering the Los Angeles streets with blank eyes and a secret in her soul she will not or can not reveal. Dylan has been found too - or at least his mangled remains. Melanie is home again. But can she ever truly be safe - as the floodgates of terror open and the bloody torrent comes pouring through...?