Nick Cutter - The Troop - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472206220
    • Publication date:25 Feb 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472206237
    • Publication date:25 Feb 2014

The Troop

By Nick Cutter

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

LORD OF THE FLIES meets STAND BY ME and THE THING in this fast-paced and completely addictive psychological thriller that will really get under your skin.

Winner of the inaugural James Herbert Award, THE TROOP is a novel that will not fail to get under your skin...

He felt something touch his hand. Which is when he looked down.

For the scouts of Troop 52, three days of camping, hiking and survival lessons on Falstaff Island is as close as they'll get to a proper holiday.

Which was when he saw it.

But when an emaciated figure stumbles into their camp asking for food, the trip takes a horrifying turn. The man is not just hungry, he's sick. Sick in a way they have never seen before.

Which was when he screamed.

Cut off from the mainland, the troop face a terror far worse than anything they could have made up around a campfire. To survive they will have to fight their fears, the elements ... and eventually each other.

'THE TROOP scared the hell out of me, and I couldn't put it down. Not for the faint-hearted' Stephen King

Biographical Notes

Nick Cutter is a pseudonym for an acclaimed author of novels and short stories. He lives in Toronto, Canada.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472206244
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline
This is more than a stunning debut. It reminds me how vacuous, banal and insipid most highly-touted fiction is. [He] asks - and answers - some big, uncomfortable questions about the nature of our humanity — Irvine Welsh
Smudges the line between comedy and horror, cruelty and mercy. His remarkable stories are challenging and upsetting, but never boring — Chuck Palahniuk
Big, riveting stories about tough guys in trouble...the best I've read in a long time from a young writer — Bret Easton Ellis
He is a writer of immense power and surprising, accurate insights — Peter Straub
Lean and crisp... Disquieting, disturbing — Scott Smith, author of The Ruins and A Simple Plan
Disturbing, disgusting, and bone-chilling. I am delighted — Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author
Tinder Press

Last Ones Left Alive

Sarah Davis-Goff
Authors:
Sarah Davis-Goff
Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 3: Dreadful Places

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke

For fans of Neil Gaiman and Welcome to Night Vale, Aaron Mahnke's The World of Lore (based on the hit LORE podcast) explores the chilling truth behind the legendary creatures, peculiar people and horrific places that arouse our deepest fears. Now on online streaming seriesVolume 3: Dreadful PlacesThis third book in The World of Lore series will explore dark and dreadful places on land and at sea, places haunted by tragedy and filled with echoes of evil. These are the stories about cities, and buildings, too, from New Orleans to Louisiana and Richmond, Virginia, as well as infamous places like the Stanley Hotel in Colorado and England's most frightening and brooding castles...

Headline

A Measure of Darkness

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke
Wildfire

The World of Lore, Volume 2: Wicked Mortals

Aaron Mahnke
Authors:
Aaron Mahnke

A chilling, lavishly illustrated who's-who of the most despicable people ever to walk the earth, featuring both rare and best-loved stories from the hit podcast Lore, now an online streaming series. Here are the incredible true stories of some of the mortals who achieved notoriety in history and folklore through horrible means. Monsters of this sort - serial killers, desperate criminals, and socially mobile people with a much darker double-life - are, in fact, quite real . . . including H. H. Holmes, the infamous Chicago serial killer; William Brodie, the Edinburgh criminal mastermind who inspired The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde; and Bela Kiss, a Hungarian tinsmith with a most disturbing hobby: collecting women in gasoline drums. As Aaron Mahnke reminds us, sometimes the truth is even more frightening than the lore.

Headline

The Silenced

Stephen Lloyd Jones
Authors:
Stephen Lloyd Jones
Headline

Skyjack

K. J. Howe
Authors:
K. J. Howe

The electrifying sequel to THE FREEDOM BROKER, featuring Thea Paris, a kidnap and ransom specialist. For Thea, kidnap is always personal - her brother's life was nearly ruined when he was taken as a child. Lisa Gardner says THE FREEDOM BROKER is 'clever and gritty' and Peter James calls it 'spellbinding'. If you like David Baldacci's King and Maxwell series, you will love this.When Thea Paris's flight is hijacked over the Libyan Desert, her first priority is the two former child soldiers she is escorting to a new life in London. As an international kidnap specialist, Thea Paris negotiates for hostage release as part of her job. She knows one wrong move could lead to deadly consequences. After she is forcibly separated from the boys and the other passengers, Thea and her tactical team quickly regroup. And in their desperate search for the hostages that follows, unearth a conspiracy involving the CIA, the Vatican and the Sicilian Mafia, and a plot far more sinister than Thea could ever have imagined.

Wildfire

The Broken Girls

Simone St. James
Authors:
Simone St. James
Headline Review

The Coffin Path

Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements

An eerie and compelling ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of The Witchfinder's Sister, The Silent Companions and Susan Hill, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone. 'Spine-tingling... the scariest ghost story I have read in a long time' Barbara Erskine 'Reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and as good as Sarah Waters' Historical Novel Society 'Like something from Emily Bronte's nightmares' Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London Maybe you've heard tales about Scarcross Hall, the house on the old coffin path that winds from village to moor top. They say there's something up here, something evil.Mercy Booth isn't afraid. The moors and Scarcross are her home and lifeblood. But, beneath her certainty, small things are beginning to trouble her. Three ancient coins missing from her father's study, the shadowy figure out by the gatepost, an unshakeable sense that someone is watching.When a stranger appears seeking work, Mercy reluctantly takes him in. As their stories entwine, this man will change everything. She just can't see it yet. What readers are saying about The Coffin Path: 'A fantastic eerie ghost story to settle down with on a winters night''Compelling and chilling, the slow build-up of tension had me completely on edge''I couldn't put it down. I felt I was there on the moors, being watched by the unseen'

Headline

The Foster Child: 'a sleep-with-the-lights-on thriller'

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

Ararat

Christopher Golden
Authors:
Christopher Golden
Headline

Thunderbird

Jack McDevitt
Authors:
Jack McDevitt
Headline

The Golem of Paris

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Headline

The Dean Koontz Collection

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The Deep

Nick Cutter
Authors:
Nick Cutter

Afraid of the dark? You should be ... Part horror, part psychological nightmare, The Deep by Nick Cutter is a novel fans of Stephen King and Clive Barker won't want to miss.A plague is destroying the world's population. The 'Gets makes people forget. First it's the small things, like where you left your keys ... then the not-so-small things, like how to drive. And finally your body forgets how to live.But now an unknown substance with extraordinary power to heal has been discovered in the depths of the Pacific Ocean. Nicknamed ambrosia, it might just be the miracle cure the world has been praying for.A research lab has been established eight miles below the sea's surface, but all contact with the team has been lost. Dr Luke Nelson's brother is down there and as desperation for a cure outweighs common sense, he agrees to descend through the lightless fathoms ... perhaps to face an evil blacker than anything he could have imagined.

Tinder Press

A Place Called Winter: Costa Shortlisted 2015

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline

The Golem of Hollywood

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman

One exhausted detective. One mysterious woman. One terrifying monster. From Jonathan Kellerman, the No 1 New York Times bestselling author and master of psychological suspense, and Jesse Kellerman, the international No 1 bestselling author of The Genius, comes The Golem of Hollywood, one of the most remarkable novels of the year. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and David Baldacci.'Brilliant, page-turning fiction with mythic underpinnings... The book is like nothing I've ever read before. It sort of took my breath away' - Stephen King A burned-out L.A. detective... a woman of mystery who is far more than she seems... a grotesque, ancient monster bent on a mission of retribution. When these three collide, a new standard of suspense is born.The legend of the Golem of Prague has endured through the ages, a creature fashioned by a sixteenth-century rabbi to protect his congregation, now lying dormant in the garret of a synagogue. But the Golem is dormant no longer.And for Detective Jacob Lev, the mystery of how he spent last night pales in comparison to the one he's about to be called upon to solve... What readers are saying about The Golem of Hollywood: '[An] absolutely brilliant book''Beautifully written and absorbing''Fascinating, eminently readable and totally engrossing'

Headline

Chindi (Academy - Book 3)

Jack McDevitt
Authors:
Jack McDevitt
Headline

Omega (Academy - Book 4)

Jack McDevitt
Authors:
Jack McDevitt
Feature

Night Chills

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Night chills are seizing the men and women of Black River, driving them to terrible acts.Glenn drove the Land Rover into a stone wall at just over 100mph. Alice stuck a meat fork through her hand and pinned it to the chopping board. Brenda took off all her clothes. She did whatever she was told. They were compelled by a fear too great to be remembered, enslaved by a power no man should ever wield.