Alison Weir - Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472227683
    • Publication date:03 May 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472227690
    • Publication date:03 May 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472227706
    • Publication date:03 May 2018
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472227713
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019

Six Tudor Queens: Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen

Six Tudor Queens 3

By Alison Weir

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

Jane Seymour comes to life in this spectacular addition to Alison Weir's highly acclaimed Six Tudor Queens series.

'This brilliant book is a bombshell! Jane Seymour the shy mouse type? Think again!' Kate Williams

Alison Weir, historian and author of the Sunday Times bestsellers Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen and Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession, draws an enthralling portrait of Jane Seymour, Henry VIII's third queen, as you've never seen her before. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

'This six-book series looks likely to become a landmark in historical fiction' The Times

THE WOMAN HAUNTED BY THE FATE OF HER PREDECESSOR.

Eleven days after the death of Anne Boleyn, Jane is dressing for her wedding to the King.

She has witnessed at first hand how courtly play can quickly turn to danger and knows she must bear a son . . . or face ruin.

This new Queen must therefore step out from the shadows cast by Katherine and Anne. In doing so, can she expose a gentler side to the brutal King?

JANE SEYMOUR
THE THIRD OF HENRY'S QUEENS
HER STORY

Acclaimed, bestselling historian Alison Weir draws on new research for her captivating novel, which paints a compelling portrait of Jane and casts fresh light on both traditional and modern perceptions of her. Jane was driven by the strength of her faith and a belief that she might do some good in a wicked world.

History tells us how she died.
This spellbinding novel explores the life she lived.

SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.

Biographical Notes

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian (and the fifth-bestselling historian overall) in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She has published eighteen history books, including her most recent non-fiction book, Queens of the Conquest, the first in her England's Medieval Queens quartet. Alison has also published several historical novels, including Innocent Traitor and The Lady Elizabeth.

Anna of Kleve: Queen of Secrets is Alison Weir's ninth published novel and the fourth in the Six Tudor Queens series about the wives of Henry VIII, which was launched in 2016 to great critical acclaim. The first three books in the series - Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession and Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen were all Sunday Times bestsellers.

Alison is a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and an honorary life patron of Historic Royal Palaces.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472227676
  • Publication date: 03 May 2018
  • Page count: 544
  • Imprint: Headline Review
This six-book series looks likely to become a landmark in historical fiction — The Times
Alison Weir gives a fresh take on Jane Seymour's life . . . A brilliant and engaging read — Good Housekeeping
Gripping and utterly compelling . . . Henry VIII's third and - allegedly - best-loved wife is brought vividly to life . . . Not to be missed — Tracy Borman
Written with the verve of fiction and the authority of history, this is a Jane who is neither a puppet, a pious victim nor a po-faced schemer, but a living, breathing woman, launched on her own emotional journey. Meticulous research is magically transformed into a riveting narrative which takes us into the places non-fiction history cannot reach. It's what Alison Weir does better than anybody - and what historical fiction was created to do — Sarah Gristwood
Deft, authoritative biographical fiction — Kirkus Reviews
This brilliant book is a bombshell! Jane Seymour the shy mouse type? Think again! . . . She is vibrant, determined and she sets the King's court on fire . . . A magnificent novel - you'll never forget her! — Kate Williams
Hugely enjoyable . . . Alison Weir knows her subject and has a knack for the telling and textural detail — Daily Mail
Combining her authority as a historian with her skill as a novelist, in telling Jane Seymour's story Alison has once again brought the past enthrallingly to life, as only she can. The Haunted Queen is another classic - in the great tradition of historical fiction — Josephine Ross
Vivid characters and a wonderful sense of time and place combine with the story of a gentle, kind heroine who I really cared about, the more so because she was so cruelly robbed of her life at the moment of her greatest happiness — Barbara Erskine
Weir does an excellent job of bringing the pages of history to life; creating living, breathing characters with flaws and weaknesses like our own — Bookbag
Weir's impressive novel shows why Jane deserves renewed attention . . . This third volume in Weir's exceptional Six Tudor Queens series offers new angles on its earlier subjects [Katherine and Anne] . . . Weir keeps the tension high, breathing new life into a familiar tale and making us wish for a different ending — Booklist
This retelling portrays Jane as a lady of principle. Meticulously researched and richly rewarding — Candis Magazine
A triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman — Elizabeth Fremantle
Alison Weir's wonderfully detailed novel offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne [Boleyn's] true nature . . . Enthralling — Sarah Gristwood
Well researched and engrossing — Good Housekeeping
Alison Weir makes history come alive as no one else — Barbara Erskine