Kathryn Hughes - The Secret - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472229984
    • Publication date:01 Jul 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240552
    • Publication date:01 Jul 2016

The Secret

The word of mouth bestseller from the #1 author of The Letter

By Kathryn Hughes

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The Kindle bestselling author returns with her second novel, The Secret - a beautiful, tearjerking novel which will be cherished by all those thousands of readers who lost their hearts to The Letter.

'Riveting' Lesley Pearse on The Letter. 'Gripping' Good Housekeeping on The Secret.

From the #1 bestselling author of The Letter comes The Secret - a powerful, twisting novel that you won't be able to put down.

Mary has been nursing a secret.

Forty years ago, she made a choice that would change her world for ever, and alter the path of someone she holds dear.

Beth is searching for answers. She has never known the truth about her parentage, but finding out could be the lifeline her sick child so desperately needs. When Beth finds a faded newspaper cutting amongst her mother's things, she realises the key to her son's future lies in her own past. She must go back to where it all began to unlock...The Secret.

What readers are saying about the unputdownable stories of Kathryn Hughes:

'Get set to be hooked'

'A page-turner from the very beginning'

'This is one of the BEST BOOKS I have ever read'

'I cried buckets of tears reading it'

'A beautifully told, tragic tale'



Biographical Notes

Kathryn Hughes was born in Altrincham, near Manchester. After completing a secretarial course, Kathryn met her husband and they married in Canada. For twenty-nine years they ran a business together, raised two children and travelled when they could to places such as India, Singapore, South Africa and New Zealand. Kathryn and her family now make their home in a village near Manchester. The Letter, Kathryn's first novel, was an international bestseller, and her second The Secret has been highly acclaimed. Kathryn is now at work on her third novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472229991
  • Publication date: 08 Sep 2016
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline Review
The Letter, Kathryn's debut novel, was an eBook bestseller. Her second, The Secret, is just as gripping — Good Housekeeping
An emotional and intriguing read... Keeps you guessing right to the end ***** — People's Friend
Have lots of tissues ready — My Weekly
Full of hidden secrets and tragic events... I really enjoyed this book — Rea's Book Reviews
A fantastic story. I absolutely loved this book! — Babs' Bookshelf
A gripping and emotional read...that will stay with me for a long time — By the Letter Book Reviews
A wonderful and uplifting story — Lesley Pearse on The Letter
One to tug at the heartstrings — Red on The Letter
Get set to be hooked — Look on The Letter
A moving story of love, loss and hope — Bella on The Letter
Beautifully written and incredibly poignant — The Last Word Book Reviews on The Letter
A truly gorgeous story — Shaz's Book Blog on The Letter
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: A delicious Cornish romance

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline Review

The Letter

Kathryn Hughes
Authors:
Kathryn Hughes
Headline

Dead Ice

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton
Headline Review

If You Were Me

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

Three Amazing Things About You

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

The Chase

Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg
Authors:
Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg

Raves for Janet Evanovich's novels: 'Stephanie Plum in ass-kicking form...utterly delightful' (Cosmopolitan); 'A laugh-out-loud page turner' (Heat); 'Plum is not just a smart private eye but a heroine with a sense of humour' (Daily Mail) Catching the bad guys has never felt so good.FBI Special Agent Kate O'Hare and semi-retired, expert conman Nick Fox are going after Carter Grove, the head of a mercenary security agency. Problem is, if you're planning on crossing Carter Grove, you'd better also be planning your funeral.Confronting Grove's elite assassins, Fox and O'Hare mount a daring heist that results in a deadly chase from Washington, D.C., to Shanghai, China. Luckily it'll take more than death threats, trained henchmen and sleepless nights to outsmart the unlikely duo...

Headline Review

The Unpredictable Consequences of Love

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline

The Blood Crows (Eagles of the Empire 12)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

Better Together

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

BETTER TOGETHER is a fabulously addictive novel from No. 1 bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan,When high-flying journalist Sheridan Gray loses her job, her boyfriend and her flat, she knows she must pick herself up and make a new start. But how will she adjust to small-town living and local reporting? Meanwhile, home-loving Nina Fallon's life is shattered when the exploits of her actor husband become national news. Now she's avoiding friends as she runs Ardbawn's guesthouse on her own. When Sheridan moves into Ardbawn, she realises Nina holds the key to a story that will make her name as a reporter again. But as she gets closer to the truth, Sheridan risks jeopardising her relationship with the man she has come to love. Is she better off going it alone? Or is love the greatest prize of all?

Headline Review

Don't Want To Miss A Thing

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

Jill Mansell's bestseller DON'T WANT TO MISS A THING is 'bursting with humour, brimming with intrigue and full of characters you'll adore' Heat. Not to be missed by readers of Jojo Moyes and Veronica Henry. Dexter Yates loves his fun, care-free London life; he has money, looks and girlfriends galore. But everything changes overnight when his sister dies, leaving him in charge of her eight-month-old daughter Delphi. How is he ever going to cope? Comic-strip artist Molly Hayes lives in the beautiful Cotswold village of Briarwood. When it comes to relationships, she has a history of choosing all the wrong men. Leaving the city behind, Dex moves to Briarwood - a much better place to work on his parenting skills - and he and Molly become neighbours. There's an undeniable connection between them. But if Dexter's going to adapt, he first has a lot to learn about Molly, about other people's secrets...and about himself.

Headline

Sword and Scimitar

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow
Headline Review

All For You

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

A Walk In The Park

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

Stand By Me

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

To The Moon And Back

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline Review

Follow Me

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Pippa Jones seems to have it all. The only thing that the high-flying career girl is missing is love. When she spots a gorgeous man who seems to be following her everywhere she goes, she wonders if fate is trying to throw them together. But with her job on the line can she afford to make time for this handsome, mysterious stranger?

Headline

The Gladiator (Eagles of the Empire 9)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The action-packed new novel featuring Roman army officers Macro and Cato from Sunday Times bestselling author Simon ScarrowWhile centurions Macro and Cato are returning to Rome from a harrowing campaign against the Parthians, their transport ship is almost capsized by a tidal wave. They barely make it to the port of Matala in Crete where they are stunned to find a devastated town. An earthquake has struck the island, destroying its cities and killing thousands. In the chaotic aftermath, large bands of the island's slaves begin to revolt and local bandits, taking advantage of the slave rebellion, urge the Cretans to overthrow the Roman administration. With many of the island's troops either killed or wounded during the earthquake, the governor of the province calls on Macro and Cato for help. Can they move swiftly enough to counter the rebellion before it sweeps the Romans from the island?(P)2012 Headline Digital

Headline Review

A Season To Remember: A Christmas Treat

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Sheila O'Flanagan's deliciously engaging A SEASON TO REMEMBER is essential Christmas reading for fans of Marian Keyes, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans. Reviewers love Sheila's novels: 'A romantic and charming read' CandisIt's Christmas - when everyone is meant to be merry. But what if you've just had your heart broken? Or discovered that the man you're married to has lied to you? What if a secret from your past has come back to haunt you?As Claire and Neil Archer open the doors to their luxurious Sugar Loaf Lodge for the festive season, it's with worries of their own. But can they, along with their troubled guests, find the magic of Christmas - and a happy ending - within the walls of this beautiful hotel? Maybe this really is the happiest time of the year!

Headline Review

Sheer Mischief

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell