Lyn Andrews - Far From Home - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755379248
    • Publication date:27 May 2010
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755398782
    • Publication date:05 Nov 2012

Far From Home

A young woman finds hope and tragedy in 1920s Liverpool

By Lyn Andrews

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

When blacksmith's daughter Kitty Doyle catches the eye of her grocer employer in 1920s Liverpool it seems her troubles are over - but there are shocks to come. An unmissable saga from the bestselling author of THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET and FROM LIVERPOOL WITH LOVE.

Lyn Andrews' storytelling gift shines through on every page of her Sunday Times bestseller FAR FROM HOME - the perfect read if you enjoy the novels of Kate Thompson and Dilly Court.

As daughter of the blacksmith in her tiny Irish village, sixteen-year-old Kitty Doyle knows little of the ways of the world, but she has to grow up fast when her widowed father re-marries and she has no choice but to leave the family home.

Luckily there's work to be found over the water in 1920s Liverpool and soon Kitty has a job in a grocer's, where she also catches the eye of the owner.

With Kitty's input the business is soon thriving - but tragedy lies ahead, and she must endure many trials and tribulations before she can find true happiness...

Biographical Notes

Lyn Andrews was born in Liverpool in 1944; her father Joseph was killed on D-Day just nine months later. Lyn was brought up in Liverpool and became a secretary before she married and gave birth to triplets. Once the children had gone to school Lyn began writing, and her first novel was quickly accepted for publication. She has since written over thirty books, many of them Sunday Times bestsellers.

Lyn lives on the Isle of Man, but spends many weeks of the year back on Merseyside, seeing her children and grandchildren.

www.lynandrewsbooks.co.uk
www.facebook.com/LynAndrewsBooks
Twitter: @LynSagaAuthor

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472246646
  • Publication date: 15 Dec 2016
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Headline
Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller' — Woman's Weekly
A vivid portrayal of life — Best
A compelling read — Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool — Northern Echo
Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning — Daily Express
Headline Review

Untitled

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Last Ones Left Alive

Sarah Davis-Goff
Authors:
Sarah Davis-Goff

Tinder Press

Goulash

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling
Headline Review

The List That Changed My Life

Olivia Beirne
Authors:
Olivia Beirne
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Wildfire

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

Rhys Thomas
Authors:
Rhys Thomas
Headline

Serpentine

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton

Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, returns to face an ancient, Medusa-like curse in her twenty-sixth adventure. Fans of Charlaine Harris and Anne Rice will delight in this series by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Laurell K. Hamilton. 'I've never read a writer with a more fertile imagination' Diana Gabaldon My name is Anita Blake and I've always overcome anything I've faced. But this time, there's a monster that even I don't know how to fight . . .A remote Florida island is the perfect destination for my fellow US marshal and best friend Edward's wedding. And for me, it's a welcome break as it's the first trip I've ever taken with just wereleopards Micah and Nathaniel for company. But it's not all fun, games and bachelor parties...In this tropical paradise, Micah has discovered a horrific new form of lycanthropy, one that has afflicted a single family for generations. Believed to be an ancient Greek curse, it turns human bodies into a mass of snakes.The last thing I need is more drama, but when women start disappearing from the hotel - and worse - my own friends and lovers become the prime suspects. A strange power is afoot, a force that's rendering those around me helpless in its thrall. I can't face this alone and am willing to accept help from even the deadliest places - help that I will most certainly regret. If I survive at all...

Wildfire

Lying To You

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds

'THIS DIZZYING NOVEL KEEPS YOU ON YOUR TOES' - THE SUNYou think you know the truth about that night, but what if your husband is LYING TO YOU?When Jess Tidy was Mark Winter's student, she made a shocking accusation. Mark maintained his innocence, but the damage was done.Karen Winter stood by her husband through everything, determined to protect her family.Now, ten years later, Jess is back. And the truth about that night is finally going to come out . . .A gripping drama with dark twists and turns, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and the BBC series Doctor Foster.MORE PRAISE FOR LYING TO YOU:'Gripping and twisty' Laura Marshall, Friend Request'Compulsively readable and beautifully told' Kate Hamer, The Girl in the Red Coat'Psychological and domestic drama at its very best' Woman's Weekly

Headline Review

I Will Find You (Seal Island 2)

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti
Headline

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future...A nostalgic and poignant saga of Liverpool in the years before the First World War, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Lyn Andrews.Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Donna Douglas and Rosie Goodwin. Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone. Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl:'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars

Headline

Conqueror (Leopards of Normandy 3)

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline

Friends Forever

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

Two young women find the bond of lifelong friendship gives them the strength to hold on to their dreams, in the hardship of 1920s Liverpool. In Friends Forever, Lyn Andrews weaves an unforgettable saga of friendship overcoming life's hardships. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Joan Jonker.In 1928 Bernie O'Sullivan and Molly Keegan catch their first glimpse of the bustling city they're about to call home. Both seventeen, and best friends since childhood, the girls have left Ireland behind to seek an exciting new life in Liverpool.They are dismayed to discover that the relatives they are to stay with have barely two pennies to rub together; the promised grand house is a run-down building in one of Liverpool's worst slum areas. Desperate to escape, Bernie secures a position as a domestic servant, while Molly is taken on as a shop assistant. Soon they have settled and find themselves in love with local men. For both, though, love holds surprises and the danger of ruin in an unforgiving world . . .

Headline

Liverpool Sisters

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller to brighten your day

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

Headline

Heart and Home

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

A Moment in Time: A Short Story

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

A heartwarming short story of turn-of-the-century Liverpool from the bestselling author of THE HOUSE ON LONELY STREET, perfect for readers of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.Ellen Holt has grown up in the heart of Liverpool's slums. Each day brings worry and struggle for her mam and da and Ellen works hard as a factory girl to help her family. Together, they get by. She has never imagined any other existence until one night she joins a gathering of suffragettes. Suddenly anything seems possible. But she's soon to discover how much courage it takes to fight for better. And, just when all seems lost, Eddie Shaw walks into her world...Includes the first chapter of Lyn's captivating new novel FROM LIVERPOOL WITH LOVE.

Headline

From Liverpool With Love

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Liverpool Angels

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews