Rhys Thomas - The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472248145
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

By Rhys Thomas

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

This is not an ordinary love story, and Sam Holloway is not your typical hero. But he is a hero...

This is not an ordinary love story, and Sam Holloway is not your typical hero. But he is a hero...

Kick-Ass meets Amelie in this funny, charming, and very moving novel. Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, The Keeper of Lost Things, and The Universe Versus Alex Woods.

Sam is 26 years old, and ever since 'The Incident', he's lost faith in the world. There's only one thing that makes him feel alive these days - and keeps his loneliness at bay.

Three nights a week, Sam dons his carefully constructed superhero costume, and patrols the streets of his community.

When Sam is a superhero, he feels invincible. But his unlikely heroics are getting him into some sticky, and increasingly dangerous situations.

And when a girl comes into his life, it throws his careful routines into chaos.

Sam needs to decide whether he can be brave enough to take off the mask, and take a chance on love.

This is a heart-breaking story about grief, loss and loneliness. But it's also a heart-warming story about love, and the great power of kindness.

Biographical Notes

Rhys Thomas lives in Cardiff with his long-term girlfriend and two cats, Henry VIII and Sheldon Tilllikum Cooper.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472248121
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Wildfire
Headline

Night Moves

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline

Siege Line (Reawakening Trilogy 3)

Myke Cole
Authors:
Myke Cole
Headline

The Servants of Twilight

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Icebound

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A widespread drought is causing murderous famine. There is one possible solution: Arctic ice could be moved south to parched coastlines and melted for water. In an Arctic icefield, a special team of scientists has planted bombs that will detonate automatically at midnight to break away some of the ice. Before they withdraw to the safety of their base camp, a shattering tidal wave breaks loose the ice on which they are working. Now they are marooned on an iceberg during the worst winter storm of the decade. The bombs in the ice beneath them are buried irretrievably deep...and ticking. Abruptly thrown into a desperate struggle for survival, the scientists are plagued by the discovery that one of them is a ruthless killer on a strange mission of his own...Icebound is a revised version of the author's novel Prison of Ice, published under the pseudonym David Axton.

Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline Review

The Honey Farm on the Hill

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The unputdownable summer read about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott

Addie thinks she knows everything about her mother. But when a stranger appears claiming to be her sister, she realises that her life so far has been a lie. But why?'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies. 'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Santa Montefiore. Hartland House has always been a faithful keeper of secrets...1958. Sent to beautiful Hartland to be sheltered from her mother's illness, Liz spends the summer with the wealthy Shaw family. They treat Liz as one of their own, but their influence could be dangerous...Now. Addie believes she knows everything about her mother Elizabeth and their difficult relationship until her recent death. When a stranger appears claiming to be Addie's sister, she is stunned. Is everything she's been told about her early life a lie?How can you find the truth about the past if the one person who could tell you is gone? Addie must go back to that golden summer her mother never spoke of...and the one night that changed a young girl's life for ever.'A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s' Sheila O'Flanagan.'Trembles with family secrets' Victoria Fox

Tinder Press

The Fractured Life of Jimmy Dice

Ronan Ryan
Authors:
Ronan Ryan

If you enjoy Paul Murray's SKIPPY DIES, or THE WORLD ACCORDING TO GARP, you will want to read THE FRACTURED LIFE OF JIMMY DICE by Ronan Ryan. Jimmy is born a twin, and while he doesn't know it, his nearest sibling has stayed with him forever, overseeing the drama of his life played out and acting as a narrative voice. As a young boy, aged seven, Jimmy loses a lower limb to an attack dog - the first of many disasters that shape him for the future. Jimmy is a chancer who becomes a wilful man unafraid to stand up to a notorious Dublin gangster. He's also a young man with heart and belief: a loyal son, a good friend, a courageous brother and a sweet and passionate lover. Part love story, part coming of age, The Fractured Life of Jimmy Dice is also the story of a life in the changing streets of Ireland, from the days of the Troubles to the boom and bust years and Dublin today.

Headline

Neverwhere

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman

Discover NEVERWHERE, Neil Gaiman's extraordinary modern classic, illustrated for the first time with breathtaking pictures by Children's Laureate Chris Riddell. This beautiful edition is like no other, featuring the fully illustrated short story, HOW THE MARQUIS GOT HIS COAT BACK, and will delight fans of Coraline, Philip Pullman and Doctor Who. Under the streets of London lies a world most people could never dream of.When Richard Mayhew helps a mysterious girl he finds bleeding on the pavement, his boring life changes in an instant. Her name is Door, she's on the run from two assassins in black suits and she comes from London Below. His act of kindness leads him to a place filled with monsters and angels, a Beast in a labyrinth and an Earl who holds Court in a Tube train. It is strangely familiar yet utterly bizarre.

Headline Review

My Mother's Secret

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

Three Amazing Things About You

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

A touching romantic novel about a young woman whose time is running out - a Sunday Times bestseller. Not to be missed by readers of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan.Jill Mansell's enchanting new novel will drive readers to seize life with both hands and make the most of every minute...Hallie has a secret. She's in love. He's perfect for her in every way, but he's seriously out of bounds. And her friends aren't going to help her because what they do know is that Hallie doesn't have long to live. Time is running out...Flo has a dilemma. She really likes Zander. But his scary sister won't be even faintly amused if she thinks Zander and Flo are becoming friends - let alone anything more.Tasha has a problem. Her new boyfriend is the adventurous type. And she's afraid one of his adventures will go badly wrong.THREE AMAZING THINGS ABOUT YOU begins as Hallie goes on a journey. A donor has been found and she's about to be given new lungs. But whose?

Headline Review

If You Were Me

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

Faithful unto Death

Caroline Graham
Authors:
Caroline Graham
Headline

More than Riches

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

When Rosie's parents were involved in a train accident, her mother was killed and her father left crippled, unable to earn a living and relying on Rosie to keep the wolf from the door.With her mother gone and her sweetheart Adam away in the army, Rosie is lonely. She eagerly awaits the letters from him, but they never come. As she grows more disillusioned, Adam's best friend Doug goes out of his way to be charming and attentive. Alone and confused, Rosie blossoms under his evil influence. Soon she is carrying Doug's baby and her father has thrown her out of the house. Realising she has no choice, she agrees to marry Doug.As if she isn't in enough trouble, Rosie's whole world falls apart when a warm and wonderful letter arrives from Adam . . . telling her he's on his way home.

Headline

The House of Thunder

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

In a cavern called The House of Thunder, Susan Thorton watched in terror as her lover died a brutal death in a college hazing. And in the following four years, the four young men who participated in that grim fraternity rite also died violently. Or did they? Twelve years later Susan wakes in a hospital bed. Apparently involved in a fatal accident, she is suffering from amnesia. She doesn't remember who she is or why she is there. All she knows is that her convalescence is unfolding into a fearful nightmare - and that the faces that surround her, pretending loving care, are those of the four men involved in that murder years before. Have the dead come back to life? Or has Susan plunged into the abyss of madness? With the help of her neurosurgeon, Susan desperately clings to her sanity while fighting to uncover who or what could be stalking her...

Headline

Dragon Tears

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Harry Lyon is a cop who embraces tradition and order. The biggest bane of his life is his partner, Connie Gulliver. Harry doesn't like the messiness of her desk, her lack of social polish or her sometimes casual attitude towards the law. 'Look, Harry, it's the Age of Chaos,' she tells him. 'Get with the times.' And when Harry and Connie have to take out a hopped-up gunman in a restaurant, the chase and shootout swiftly degenerate into a surreal nightmare that seems to justify Connie's view of the modern world. Shortly after, Harry encounters a filthy, rag-clad denizen of the streets, who says ominously, 'Ticktock, ticktock. You'll be dead in sixteen hours.' Struggling to regain the orderly life he cherishes, Harry is trapped in an undertow of terror and violence. For reasons he does not understand, someone is after him, Connie Gulliver and the people he loves.

Headline

Whispers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A beautiful woman scarred by a hateful past. A compassionate cop haunted by a childhood blighted by poverty. Violence brought them together. An unspeakable abomination may tear them apart.Bruno Frye nightly succumbs to the malicious lullaby of the whispers. Losing himself in the nightdreams of their rustling cries, he is deafened by whispers more piercing than any scream. In the dark recesses of his mind no act is too violent, no deed too shocking . . .

Headline

Twilight Eyes

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Slim MacKenzie knows what they are, what they do - and how they hide in human form. He is blessed - or cursed - by twilight eyes. He can see the diabolical others through their innocent human disguise. He's already killed one of them. And he'll kill again...But even the grave won't hold them...