Rhys Thomas - The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472248145
    • Publication date:31 May 2018

The Unlikely Heroics of Sam Holloway

By Rhys Thomas

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

This is not an ordinary love story, and Sam Holloway is not your typical hero. But he is a hero...

This is not an ordinary love story, and Sam Holloway is not your typical hero. But he is a hero...

Kick-Ass meets Amelie in this funny, charming, and very moving novel. Perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, The Keeper of Lost Things, and The Universe Versus Alex Woods.

Sam is 26 years old, and ever since 'The Incident', he's lost faith in the world. There's only one thing that makes him feel alive these days - and keeps his loneliness at bay.

Three nights a week, Sam dons his carefully constructed superhero costume, and patrols the streets of his community.

When Sam is a superhero, he feels invincible. But his unlikely heroics are getting him into some sticky, and increasingly dangerous situations.

And when a girl comes into his life, it throws his careful routines into chaos.

Sam needs to decide whether he can be brave enough to take off the mask, and take a chance on love.

This is a heart-breaking story about grief, loss and loneliness. But it's also a heart-warming story about love, and the great power of kindness.

Biographical Notes

Rhys Thomas lives in Cardiff with his long-term girlfriend and two cats, Henry VIII and Sheldon Tilllikum Cooper.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472248121
  • Publication date: 31 May 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Wildfire
Headline Review

Untitled

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

This Could Change Everything

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd

Hunted by G X Todd is the second novel in the Voices series, highlighted as being 'of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand' in the Independent. The battle between Good and Evil continues to play out in a world where the Voice in your head can save or slaughter you. A must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' Lee ChildThe birds are flying. The birds are flocking. The birds know where to find her.One man is driven by a Voice that isn't his. It's killing his sanity and wrestling with it over and over like a jackal with a bone. He has one goal.To find the girl with a Voice like his own. She has no one to defend her now. The hunt is on.But in an inn by the sea, a boy with no tongue and no Voice gathers his warriors. Albus must find Lacey . . . before the Other does. And finish the work his sister Ruby began.Hunted is the second book in the highly acclaimed Voices series, where the battle between Good and Evil rages on. And on.#HearTheVoices

Headline Review

Sunset Over the Cherry Orchard

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Headline

The Leopards of Normandy: Conqueror

David Churchill
Authors:
David Churchill

**From the co-author of the No.1 bestselling Wilbur Smith novel, WAR CRY. **The Leopards of Normandy trilogy concludes with Conqueror as Duke William prepares to take England, and his rivals for the English throne, by storm. It begins in Normandy. It will end at Hastings. This vibrant series by David Churchill, co-author of War Cry, the upcoming Courtney novel by Wilbur Smith, is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'An exciting mix of medieval betrayal, violence and sex' Wilbur Smith.It began with a promise. It will end at Hastings.William of Normandy, sworn heir to the English throne, is no longer the boy Duke but a loyal and proven warrior. Few dare challenge him, but England is an irresistible prize.The handsome, ambitious Harold Godwinson and the Viking Hardrada are both determined to stake a claim. William faces his greatest ever battle: deny his own destiny or conquer the land he was born to rule.History will be written in the blood of those who fall.

Headline Review

The Wildflowers

Harriet Evans
Authors:
Harriet Evans
Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

'A fabulous tale with refreshingly inspiring heroines' ***** HeatSheila O'Flanagan is the bestselling author of THE MISSING WIFE and MY MOTHER'S SECRET, and her new bestseller WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT, with its enticing story of mothers, daughters and lovers, will enchant readers who love the novels of Marian Keyes and Lisa Jewell. Lola has a plan. She's going to escape the village she grew up in and make it in the big city. She's smart enough - but she's also headstrong. When, one evening, she has to make a life-changing choice, she decides quickly, and without the full facts. But there's no way back. Bey is every bit her mother's daughter. An impulsive decision puts her in the path of great danger. She's left wary of trusting her own judgement ever again. Then, one night, she's standing in front of the man she loves, with her own choice to make. For both women, everything changes in a moment. But their biggest mistakes might also turn out to be their greatest opportunities...

Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

A QUESTION OF TRUST is vintage Penny Vincenzi: rich with characters, life-changing decisions, glamour, love, desire and conflict. 'There are few things better in life than ... the latest novel by Penny Vincenzi' Daily Express1950s London. Tom Knelston is charismatic, working class and driven by ambition, ideals and passion. He is a man to watch. His wife Alice shares his vision. It seems they are the perfect match.Then out of the blue, Tom meets beautiful and unhappily married Diana Southcott, a fashion model. An exciting but dangerous affair is inevitable and potentially damaging to their careers. And when a child becomes ill, Tom is forced to make decisions about his principles, his reputation, his marriage, and most of all, his love for his child.(P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline

The Door to December

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman

The unforgettable and achingly tender new novel from Sarah Winman, author of the international bestseller WHEN GOD WAS A RABBIT and the Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller A YEAR OF MARVELLOUS WAYS.It begins with a painting won in a raffle: fifteen sunflowers, hung on the wall by a woman who believes that men and boys are capable of beautiful things.And then there are two boys, Ellis and Michael,Who couldn't be closer.And the boys become men,And then they meet Annie,And it changes nothing and everything.Tin Man sees Sarah Winman follow the acclaimed success of When God Was A Rabbit and A Year Of Marvellous Ways with a love letter to human kindness and friendship, loss and living.(P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited

Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall

THE THOUSAND LIGHTS HOTEL is the gorgeous new novel from Emylia Hall, author of Richard & Judy Summer Pick THE BOOK OF SUMMERS. Set in idyllic Italy, it's the perfect holiday read, for fans of Louise Douglas and Hannah Richell.When Kit loses her mother in tragic circumstances, she feels drawn to finally connect with the father she has never met. That search brings her to the Thousand Lights Hotel, the perfect holiday escape perched upon a cliff on the island of Elba. Within this idyllic setting a devastating truth is brought to light: shaking the foundations upon which the hotel is built, and shattering the lives of the people within it.A heartbreaking story of loss, betrayal, and redemption, told with all the warmth and beauty of an Italian summer.

Headline Review

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: The feel-good bestseller you have to read this summer

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

A Sunday Times Top Ten BestsellerMEET ME AT BEACHCOMBER BAY is a romantic, funny and unputdownable new novel about love and friendship from Jill Mansell, bestselling author of THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT and YOU AND ME, ALWAYS - 'A glorious, heartwarming romantic read' Woman & Home. Perfect for anyone who loves Milly Johnson, Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan.Love is in the air in St Carys, but you'd never know it - the people of this seaside town are very good at keeping secrets...The man Clemency loves belongs to someone else. She has to hide her true feelings - but when she ropes in an unsuspecting friend to help, wires start to get crossed.For the first time in Ronan's life his charm has failed him in winning over the woman he wants. Loving her from afar appears to be his only option.Belle seems to have the perfect boyfriend, but something isn't quite right. And now a long-buried secret is slowly rising to the surface.The truth has a funny way of revealing itself, and when it does St Carys will be a very different place indeed...

Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

Ararat

Christopher Golden
Authors:
Christopher Golden
Headline Review

This Is How It Always Is

Laurie Frankel
Authors:
Laurie Frankel

'A very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think.' Liane Moriarty, No. 1 bestselling author of THE HUSBAND'S SECRETLaurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS the 'fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them... Sparkles with wit and wisdom' (Maria Semple). Perfect for readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY. This is how a family keeps a secret...and how that secret ends up keeping them.This is how a family lives happily ever after...until happily ever after becomes complicated.This is how children change...and then change the world.This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers, and loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess.When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl.Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes.Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales, and family. And it's about the ways this is how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan. And families with secrets don't get to keep them forever.'An intelligent, life-affirming, emotionally charged story' Prima

Headline Review

The Plague Charmer

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland
Headline

Love Me or Leave Me

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

A Time for Us

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Lucy Nolan is the golden girl. The only daughter of local grocers, Sally and Mike Nolan, she's grown up in a home of total love and security. The one thing her heart desires is that Jack Hanson might ask her to marry him, and when he does eventually propose, Lucy is prepared to give up everything to be with him - even though it means leaving her beloved parents to live abroad where Jack has been offered an exciting business opportunity.But then, almost on the eve of the marriage itself, tragedy strikes. And for the first time in her life, Lucy is forced to realise that Fate, which has been so kind to her, can also be just as cruel.