Dean Koontz - The Face of Fear - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780747232964
    • Publication date:09 Nov 1989
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472202949
    • Publication date:06 Dec 2012

The Face of Fear

A compelling and horrifying tale

By Dean Koontz

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

'Not just a master of our darkest dreams but also a literary juggler' THE TIMES on Dean Koontz.

Originally published under the pseudonym Brian Coffey

Graham Harris is a gifted clairvoyant, and during a television interview, he 'sees' a murder being committed. He knows that the killer is the man the police have named the Butcher - the slayer of nine young women.

Learning of the psychic identification, the Butcher begins to stalk this 'witness' to his crime, and traps Harris and his girlfriend at night in a vast forty-two-storey business building, hunting them relentlessly from floor to floor...

Originally published under the pseudonym Brian Coffey

Biographical Notes

Dean Koontz is an international household name whose novels have sold many millions of copies worldwide and have appeared on national and international bestseller lists, selling millions of copies each year. He lives with his wife Gerda, their dog Anna and the enduring spirit of their dog Trixie in southern California.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472248404
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Shattered

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Review

Hardcore Twenty-Four

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

The Funhouse

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

If you delight in the suspense of Stephen King and Harlan Coben, you'll love The Funhouse - a classic thriller by Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz. The carnival is a world apart, endlessly travelling from town to town, providing thrills and magic for new kids every week. And the biggest, most popular attraction is the Funhouse - the ghoulish creepshow of ghosts and skeletons, rattling chains and make-believe terror . . .Young Amy Harper is the most beautiful girl at her school, but to her life seems wretched. Terrorised by her mother, Amy's little brother Joey is her only real friend. Their mother's days are regulated by religious obsession, and nights by the bottle and drunken confessions. When the carnival comes to town, Joey plans to escape his troubled home and join the revellers. But Amy and Joey fall under the carnival spell, unaware that their mother's secrets are buried here and that vengeance for past deeds lies in wait for them in the make-believe world of . . . the Funhouse.Originally published under the pseudonym Owen West

Headline

Phantoms

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The Dean Koontz Collection

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

The Dean Koontz Collection is an unmissable omnibus of three of his most spine-tingling thrillers, By the Light of the Moon, One Door Away From Heaven and Seize the Night. A terrifying treat perfect for Stephen King fans...By the Light of the Moon: When Dylan O'Conner pulls into a motel, all he wants is sleep. But he soon finds himself bound, gagged and being injected with a mysterious fluid by a lunatic doctor, who claims Dylan will be the carrier of his 'life's work'. He warns Dylan and fellow victim Jillian that he's being pursued and that they too are now targets. They're sceptical. But soon they realise that perhaps he isn't so mad after all... One Door Away From Heaven: Leilani Maddoc's tenth birthday is nine months away. Micky Bellsong is convinced that in nine months and one day, the girl will be dead. Micky's decision to save the child's life - and pit herself against an adversary as fearsome as he is cunning - takes her on a journey of incredible peril and stunning discoveries, a journey that will change her for ever...Seize the Night: One by one, the children of Moonlight Bay are disappearing. No one knows if they are dead or alive. Christopher Snow has glimpsed the dark and torrid secrets of the small-town community where he has spent his life. And only he has the key to the truth - a truth that could only exist in the genetic chaos of Moonlight Bay.

Headline Review

Three Amazing Things About You

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Headline

The Blood Crows (Eagles of the Empire 12)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

THE BLOOD CROWS is the unputdownable twelfth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell.For nearly ten years, the Roman Empire has fought ceaselessly to strengthen its hold over Britannia. But opposition from native tribes led by the ruthless warrior Caratacus threatens to destroy everything. Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro are summoned by Governor Ostorius to Londinium. Tasked with leading a newly formed cavalry cohort into the heartland of Wales, they must destroy the growing resistance. But with Caratacus hatching increasingly ambitious plans and disorder threatening from within Macro and Cato's own ranks, this final test will push the soldiers to their limits. And if they do not emerge as victors, the Emperor Claudius's rule may be at stake, and the very foundations of the Roman Empire could be shattered irrevocably.

Headline Review

Better Together

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

BETTER TOGETHER is a fabulously addictive novel from No. 1 bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan,When high-flying journalist Sheridan Gray loses her job, her boyfriend and her flat, she knows she must pick herself up and make a new start. But how will she adjust to small-town living and local reporting? Meanwhile, home-loving Nina Fallon's life is shattered when the exploits of her actor husband become national news. Now she's avoiding friends as she runs Ardbawn's guesthouse on her own. When Sheridan moves into Ardbawn, she realises Nina holds the key to a story that will make her name as a reporter again. But as she gets closer to the truth, Sheridan risks jeopardising her relationship with the man she has come to love. Is she better off going it alone? Or is love the greatest prize of all?

Headline

Watchers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Whispers

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Winter Moon

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Cold Fire

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Hideaway

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Icebound

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Strange Highways

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

One wrong turn changes everything... Strange Highways is a brilliant collection of dark and suspense-filled short stories from the international bestselling author Dean Koontz. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon.One rain-swept Sunday night when he was twenty years old, on his way back to college after a weekend with his family, Joey Shannon took the wrong highway - and from that moment, nothing ever went right for him again. Now, exactly twenty years later, on another rain-swept night, Joey finds himself at the same crossroads, looking down the road never taken. Which is odd. Because that road no longer exists. A superhighway replaced it nearly twenty years ago, and the old state route - which had crossed a web of perpetually burning, abandoned coal mines - was condemned as too dangerous and was torn up. But now the highway is exactly as it was on that long-ago night, and when Joey turns on to it, he begins an eerie, terrifying journey toward a truth so dark and stunning that it will change everything he believes about himself, his past, and the nature of life...The first of thirteen short stories sets the pace for a thrilling read. What readers are saying about Strange Highways: 'One of the most thought provoking, terrifying yet enjoyable books I have ever read''Each story is as compelling and equally disturbing as the next''Great stories from when Dean Koontz was at the peak of his powers. There's suspense, horror, and a great atmosphere of something nasty lurking in the cubby holes of your mind'

Headline

The Key to Midnight

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The Mask

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

When the girl from nowhere appeared, things started to go wrong... The Mask is another spine-chilling tale from the bestselling master of suspense Dean Koontz. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Richard Laymon. 'Koontz hones his fearful yarns to a gleaming edge' - People Who was the girl behind the mask...?She had appeared out of nowhere... in the middle of traffic, on a busy day, in front of Carol's car. A teenager with no past, no family - and no memories. Carol and Paul were instantly drawn to her, this girl they named Jane - she was the daughter they never had. It was almost too good to be true.Then the hauntings began - ghastly sounds in the dark of night; a bloody face in the mirror; a dim but persistent sense of fear... and the déjà vu. Where had Jane come from? Was she just an orphan in need of love? Or was she hiding a more sinister purpose? What readers are saying about The Mask: 'It's a spooky story, intriguing and unnerving, character-driven as always and unfurling a mystery that threatens to engulf every character''This book had me captured instantly from the beginning''Classic Koontz, a superb read'

Headline

The Servants of Twilight

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

A religious cult takes its faith to the extreme... In The Servants of Twilight by Dean Koontz, a mother must fight unimaginable evil to save her child. Perfect for fans of Richard Laymon and Harlan Coben. 'Koontz's skill at edge-of-the-seat writing has improved with each book. He can scare our socks off' - Boston HeraldTo his mother, Joey seems an ordinary six-year-old boy - special to her, but to no one else. To the Servants of Twilight, however, he is an evil presence who must be destroyed - an Anti-Christ who must die.The terrifying ordeal for Joey and his mother begins in the supermarket car park where an old woman accosts them and pursues them with her terrible threats. Christine's world is turned into a nightmare of terror. Only her love for her child, and the support of the one man who believes her, gives her the chance to survive the Servants of Twilight... What readers are saying about The Servants of Twilight: 'This book will shake you to your very foundations. Stunning, compulsive narrative. Real, unadulterated fear in a quality plot''A classic Koontz tale that makes the face pale, the heart stop and stretches the nerve endings to virtually snapping point!''Devilishly good!'

Headline

Shadowfires

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Feature

Night Chills

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Night chills are seizing the men and women of Black River, driving them to terrible acts.Glenn drove the Land Rover into a stone wall at just over 100mph. Alice stuck a meat fork through her hand and pinned it to the chopping board. Brenda took off all her clothes. She did whatever she was told. They were compelled by a fear too great to be remembered, enslaved by a power no man should ever wield.