Gill Thompson - The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events

By Gill Thompson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A heartwrenching, uplifting story, inspired by real events, of a mother and child, separated by continents, trying to find a way back to each other.

Inspired by heartrending real events, a mother fights to find her son and a child battles for survival in this riveting debut novel.

For readers of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, and Remember Me by Lesley Pearse.

A woman is found wandering injured in London after an air raid.
She remembers nothing of who she is. Only that she has lost something very precious.

As the little boy waits in the orphanage, he hopes his mother will return.
But then he finds himself on board a ship bound for Australia, the promise of a golden life ahead, and wonders: how will she find him in a land across the oceans?

In Perth, a lonely wife takes in the orphaned child. But then she discovers the secret of his past. Should she keep quiet? Or tell the truth and risk losing the boy who has become her life?

This magnificent, moving novel, set in London and Australia, is testament to the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

Biographical Notes

Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who recently completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. The first three chapters of THE OCEANS BETWEEN US were longlisted for the Mslexia novel award and the first page of her second work in progress has been selected to feature in Mslexia magazine. She lives with her family in West Sussex and teaches English to college students.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472257949
  • Publication date: 21 Mar 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Headline

Master Of Souls (Sister Fidelma Mysteries Book 16)

Peter Tremayne
Authors:
Peter Tremayne
Headline

Whispers of the Dead (Sister Fidelma Mysteries Book 15)

Peter Tremayne
Authors:
Peter Tremayne
Headline

Our Lady of Darkness (Sister Fidelma Mysteries Book 10)

Peter Tremayne
Authors:
Peter Tremayne

Peter Tremayne, highly acclaimed author of HEMLOCK AT VESPERSand ACT OF MERCY, presents OUR LADY OF DARKNESS, the tenth gripping Celtic mystery featuring super-sleuth Sister Fidelma.PRAISE FOR THE SISTER FIDELMA SERIES: 'Definitely an Ellis Peters competitor' Evening Standard, 'This is masterly storytelling from an author who breathes fascinating life into the worth he is writing about' Belfast Telegraph Arriving home from a pilgrim voyage, Sister Fidelma hears that her faithful Saxon companion, Brother Eadulf, is under sentence of death for murder. She hastens to the capital of Laigin, where he is being held, determined to appeal against the sentence. The crime took place at the abbey of Fearna where Fidelma clashes with the sinister Abbess Fainder. The evidence against Eadulf seems overwhelming - can he actually be guilty? Will Fidelma's emotional involvement blind her in her desperate search for the truth? What readers are saying about OUR LADY OF DARKNESS:'Fascinating insight into seventh century Ireland, combining intrigue and excitement in equal measure''Kept me on tender-hooks and could not go to bed until I finished it!''An excellent mystery and informs you about the society contemporary to the protagonist'

Headline

Hemlock at Vespers (Sister Fidelma Mysteries Book 9)

Peter Tremayne
Authors:
Peter Tremayne

HEMLOCK AT VESPERS is Peter Tremayne's anthology of Celtic mysteries featuring the ever-popular 7th-century super-sleuth Sister Fidelma. PRAISE FOR HEMLOCK AT VESPERS: 'This collection is an essential canonical text for Sister Fidelma Acolytes' Publisher's Weekly 'A treasure trove of small gems for historical mystery fans' Booklist'A complex mesh of betrayals that also catch up the sleuth, exploting both Fidelma's strengths and vulnerabilities' Kirkus Reviews Sister Fidelma originally made her debut as one of the decade's most interesting sleuths in short story form. The sharp-witted and astonishingly wise religieuse captured the hearts of many readers as she successfully tackled the most baffling of crimes in her other role as advocate of the law courts of Ireland, using the ancient Brehon Law system. The overwhelming response to these stories launched Fidelma as the heroine of a bestselling series of Celtic crime novels. But it also created a demand for further short stories. HEMLOCK AT VESPERS is the first collection of these stories ever to be published. With its breathtaking range of settings and crimes, it is guaranteed to entertain and intrigue - and is an anthology that no lover of Celtic culture or historical crime should be without.What readers are saying about HEMLOCK AT VESPERS: 'Intriguing, entertaining and informative''Brilliant. These books get better and better''There are echoes in the story that still reverberate today'

Adele Parks

Adele Parks worked in advertising until she published her first novel in 2000. Since then, her many Sunday Times bestsellers have been translated into twenty-six different languages. Adele spent her adult life in Italy, Botswana and London until 2005 when she moved to Guildford, where she now lives with her husband and son. Adele believes reading is a basic human right, so she works closely with The Reading Agency as an Ambassador for Reading Ahead, a programme designed to encourage adult literacy.Meet Adele! Visit her website for the latest news on her upcoming events: www.adeleparks.com, head to Facebook for exclusive extras: facebook.com/OfficialAdeleParks and chat with Adele on Twitter @adeleparks.

Alex Rutherford

Alex Rutherford lives in London.

Amanda Hickie

Amanda Hickie was born in Sydney and has lived in Australia most of her life. In 2000, she moved for some time to Canada, and was living there when Toronto was one of two centres of a SARS outbreak. Observing the news, and the response of those around her, she became interested in what decisions a family might have to make to survive an epidemic on the scale of the 1918 flu. Amanda lives in Sydney with her husband, two sons and two cats.

Andy McDermott

Andy McDermott is the bestselling author of the Nina Wilde & Eddie Chase adventure thrillers, which have been sold in over 30 countries and 20 languages. His debut novel, THE HUNT FOR ATLANTIS, was his first of several New York Times bestsellers. THE SPEAR OF ATLANTIS is the fourteenth book in the series, and he has also written the explosive spy thriller The Persona Protocol.A former journalist and movie critic, Andy is now a full-time novelist. Born in Halifax, he lives in Bournemouth with his partner and son.

Ann Kidd Taylor

Ann Kidd Taylor is the co-author with Sue Monk Kidd of the New York Times bestselling memoir Travelling with Pomegranates. The Shark Club is her first novel. She lives in southwest Florida with her husband and son.

Anna Mazzola

Anna Mazzola's first novel, THE UNSEEING, was published to critical acclaim in 2016. She is a criminal justice solicitor and lives in London with her husband and two children.

Barbara Nadel

Trained as an actress, Barbara Nadel used to work in mental health services. Born in the East End of London, she now writes full time and has been a visitor to Turkey for over twenty years. She received the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger for her novel DEADLY WEB, and the Swedish Flintax Prize for historical crime fiction for her first Francis Hancock novel, LAST RIGHTS.To find out more, follow Barbara on Twitter @BarbaraNadel or visit her website www.barbara-nadel.com

Bernie McGill

Bernie McGill was born and raised in Northern Ireland and attended Queen's University, Belfast. Her first novel, The Butterfly Cabinet, was published by Headline Review in 2011. Bernie is also the author of Sleepwalkers, a collection of short fiction (shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize) and a contributor to three acclaimed anthologies of Irish women writers, The Long Gaze Back, The Glass Shore and Female Lines (New Island, 2015, 2016 & 2017). She has numerous theatre credits to her name. Bernie lives in Portstewart, Northern Ireland, with her family.

Brian Kimberling

Brian Kimberling was born and grew up in Indiana, where he was briefly employed as an ornithologist, a job that inspired his first book, SNAPPER. Before settling in the UK, he lived and worked in Prague, and drew on extensive experience teaching English in bars to create the character of Elliott in GOULASH. He now lives and works in Bath.

Caroline Graham

Caroline Graham, the creator of Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby, was born in Warwickshire and educated at Nuneaton High School for Girls, and later the Open University. She was awarded an MA in Theatre Studies at Birmingham University, and has written several plays for both radio and theatre. She has been dubbed by The Sunday Times as, 'Simply the best detective writer since Agatha Christie'.

Caroline Stickland

Caroline Stickland was born in 1955. With a degree in English and American Literature from the University of East Anglia, she became involved in adult literacy tutoring. Her first novel, THE STANDING HILLS, was shortlisted for a Betty Trask Award and the Georgette Heyer Historical Novel Prize. This was followed by A HOUSE OF CLAY, THE DARKNESS OF CORN, AN ANCIENT HOPE and THE DARKENING LEAF.

Chloe Benjamin

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

Christina Schwarz

Christina Schwarz's novels include the Oprah Book Club selection Drowning Ruth, which was an international bestseller. Born and raised in rural Wisconsin, USA, she lives in southern California.

Christopher Golden

CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN is the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of such novels as Wildwood Road, The Boys Are Back in Town, The Ferryman, and Of Saints and Shadows. He has collaborated on books, comics, videogames and scripts with other writers, including Mike Mignola, Amber Benson, and Charlaine Harris. He has also written novels for teens and young adults, and, as an editor, he has worked on several short story anthologies. Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. www.christophergolden.com

Claire McGowan

Claire McGowan grew up in a small village in Northern Ireland and now lives in London, where she runs an MA in creative writing at City University. THE KILLING HOUSE is Claire's seventh crime novel, and the sixth in the highly-acclaimed Paula Maguire series. She also writes women's fiction as Eva Woods.

Clemency Burton-Hill

Clemency Burton-Hill has been one of the UK's most prominent arts and music broadcasters for the past decade. As the host of BBC Radio 3's Breakfast Show she welcomed a new audience to classical music. Her television presenting work includes the BBC Proms and Young Musician of the Year, as well as numerous other music and arts programmes on radio, television and online. As a journalist her work has been published in every major UK publication, including the Economist, the Financial Times, Guardian, Observer and Independent. She is also the music columnist for BBC Culture. An award-winning violinist, Clemency has performed all over the world under leading conductors. She is the co-founder of Aurora Orchestra and a patron of the music and arts education charities The Choir of London Trust and Dramatic Need. She was appointed Creative Director of Music and Arts for New York Public Radio in September 2018 and she divides her time between London and New York.