Related to: 'Second Time Around'

Author

Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of five novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, and THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

Headline

Winning Through (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 3)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

The Chadwick siblings will always have a place to call home... Marcia Willett presents a sensitive, compassionate and deeply moving story in Winning Through, the third novel in the Chadwick Family Chronicles. The perfect read for fans of Erica James and Liz Fenwick. 'Fans will love this story for its absorbing insight into character and rich evocation of local settings' - South Hams Gazette It's nearly thirty years since the Chadwick siblings arrived from Kenya at The Keep in Devon to live with their grandmother Freddy. And while much has altered since in their lives, The Keep remains a sanctuary for the whole family; warm, unchanging, filled with love. Now mistress of The Keep, Fliss finds it hard to fill the place of her beloved grandmother, especially when she has so many doubts in her life. Mole has settled into his second family, the Navy. And Susanna, always the baby, is now a wife and mother herself. But whatever challenges they face, the family know that the house will always be ready to welcome them home.What readers are saying about Winning Through:'Ms Willett has given her characters such depth and their lives such texture that you feel that you are reading about real people''Beautifully written and emotive, with tragedy and delight clearly interwoven''Wonderful description of scenery which I was able to visualise immediately'

Headline

The Courtyard

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Holding On (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 2)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

The Dipper

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Those Who Serve

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

It had all seemed so exciting and romantic...Marcia Willett's fascinating and moving debut Those Who Serve, set in the 1960s, is a tale of the ups and downs of Navy life and of being a Navy wife. The perfect read for fans of Harriet Evans and Katie Fforde. Not even out of their teens, Kate and Cass, friends since boarding school, both marrying dashing naval officers within weeks of each other. But after all the glamour of naval balls and white weddings, passing beneath the arches of naval swords had not led Kate down the pathway to marital bliss. Not even her cherished twins can compensate for her husband's coldness and mental cruelty and she yearns for the peace of her beloved West Country. Cass, on the other hand, revels in the freedom of movement her husband's long absences on the submarines provide - even with the arrival of the first of her four children, she is not to be denied the frenzied activity of the 1960s sexual revolution! But it is a dangerous game that Cass is playing, and as the decades roll by, Kate may not always be around to pick up the pieces...What readers are saying about Those Who Serve:'Absolutely beautifully written. Emotional rollercoaster from start to finish''A delight, well written and great human insight''Wonderful believable characters'

Headline

Hattie's Mill

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

The renovation of a mill shows how lives too can be rebuilt... Marcia Willett's charming novel Hattie's Mill is the tale of Hattie Weatherall, breaking free of convention and starting again, forming lasting friendships along the way. The perfect read for fans of Hilary Boyd and Erica James. 'Willett creates such fully dimensional characters that readers feel as if they should phone or email them to keep in touch' - Rocky Mountain News Hattie Weatherall's heart leapt when she first saw Abbot's Mill, and with her dog and an assortment of wild fowl for company she sets about renovating the mill. Sarah Farley feels a pang of envy for Hattie's freedom. For over twenty years, Sarah has tolerated her husband's infidelities - and her love for him is about to be tested again... As Hattie settles into life at the mill, she befriends two young boatmen. Toby is recovering from a broken marriage and, when he has another chance at happiness, Hattie is glad welcome his new family into the fold. Joss's problems are not so easily solved, but when he turns to Hattie for help, the motherly love that blossoms in her heart enables them both to heal old wounds...What readers are saying about Hattie's Mill:'She [Marcia Willett] has a gift for writing and her books are a delight to read''Beautifully written''The characters come to life and the plots are very carefully worked out and totally believable'

Headline

Forgotten Laughter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett
Headline

Looking Forward (The Chadwick Family Chronicles, Book 1)

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

Summer of 1957. Life at The Keep changes forever...Marcia Willett tells the tale of three orphaned siblings sent from Kenya to live with their grandmother and cousins in Devon. Looking Forward is the first stunning novel in the Chadwick Family chronicles and is the perfect read for fans of Veronica Henry and Hilary Boyd. 'This moving family chronicle has a cast of wise and family characters. A real tear-jerker' - Family Circle Life at The Keep changes forever when Fliss, Mole and Susannah arrive in the summer of 1957. Their parents and elder brother have been killed in Kenya so the children are sent to their grandmother, Freddy, in Devon. Freddy is no stranger to grief, but she would be lost without her devoted helpers, Ellen and Fox, who enable her to cope with this latest tragedy. And, above all, she looks to her brother-in-law, Theo, to guide her while the children heal their wounds and embark on the treacherous journey to adulthood.What readers are saying about Looking Forward:'Marcia Willett has a wonderful affinity for bringing her characters to life' 'Another touching story!''Both heart-warming and heart-wrenching. But it left me feeling warm and happy'

Headline

A Week in Winter

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

When Maudie Todhunter finally decides she must sell Moorgate, her beautiful farmhouse on the edge of Bodmin Moor, she anticipates strong objections from her family - particularly from Selina, her stepdaughter, with whom she has never seen eye to eye. But no one could have predicted the feelings that Moorgate evokes or the consequences...

Headline

Starting Over

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

When recently-widowed Annie's god-daughter Pippa is abandoned by her husband, she insists that she comes to live with her. Frances and Stephen Ankerton are desperately worried about their son, Hugh, who wrongly blames himself for a fatal accident that took place nearly a year ago. While Frances turns to Annie for advice, Stephen finds a way to set Hugh's mind at rest... When Max Driver inherits some land on Dartmoor his dream becomes a reality. And a chance encounter with Frances leads to each and every one of them being touched by his warmth and enthusiasm. Soon he is an integral part of their lives and his determination to fulfil his own goal inspires the others to start over again.

Headline

Thea's Parrot

Marcia Willett
Authors:
Marcia Willett

Emma Hannigan

Emma Hannigan is the No. 1 bestselling author of twelve novels including Letters to my Daughters, The Wedding Promise and The Perfect Gift. Her bestselling memoir, Talk to the Headscarf, was updated and revised as All To Live For: Fighting Cancer. Finding Hope. and was also a top ten bestseller.

Emylia Hall

Emylia Hall was born in 1978 and grew up in the Devon countryside. She is the author of The Book of Summers, which was a Richard & Judy Summer Book Club pick in 2012, A Heart Bent Out of Shape, The Sea Between Us and The Thousand Lights Hotel. She lives in Bristol with her husband, the writer Robin Etherington, and their young son.

Gill Paul

Gill Paul is a Scottish-born, London-based writer of historical fiction and non-fiction. Her novels include the USA Today bestseller The Secret Wife, Women and Children First, which was shortlisted for an RNA Award, The Affair and No Place for a Lady, which was shortlisted for a Love Stories Award. Her non-fiction includes A History of Medicine in 50 Objects, World War I Love Stories and Royal Love Stories. Gill's expertise is often called upon for talks on historical subjects, including the sinking of the Titanic. She lives in London, where, as well as writing full-time, she enjoys swimming year-round in an outdoor pond.

Harriet Evans

Harriet Evans is the author of seven previous novels, Going Home, A Hopeless Romantic, The Love of Her Life, I Remember You, Love Always, Happily Ever After and Not Without You. She lives in London with her family.

Jill Mansell

'The queen of witty, heart-warming, feel-good love stories' RedJill Mansell started writing fiction while working in the NHS, after she read a magazine article that inspired her to join a local creative writing class. She has since written over twenty Sunday Times bestsellers, including The One You Really Want and You And Me, Always, and her books have sold over 11 million copies around the world. Jill's hobbies include buying stationery, particularly magical new colours of ink for the fountain pen she uses to write all her books. She lives in Bristol with her family. Jill keeps in touch with her readers on Twitter - @JillMansell - and Facebook - /OfficialJillMansell.

Jill Shalvis

New York Times bestseller Jill Shalvis is the author of many romance novels including her acclaimed Cedar Ridge, Lucky Harbor and Animal Magnetism series. The RITA winner and three-time National Readers Choice winner makes her home near Lake Tahoe. Visit her website at www.jillshalvis.com for a complete book list and daily blog, and www.facebook.com/jillshalvis for other news or follow her on Twitter @jillshalvis.

Jo Thomas

Jo Thomas worked for many years as a reporter and producer, first for BBC Radio 5, before moving on to Radio 2's The Steve Wright Show. In 2013 Jo won the RNA Katie Fforde Bursary. Her debut novel, The Oyster Catcher, was a runaway bestseller in ebook and was awarded the 2014 RNA Joan Hessayon Award and the 2014 Festival of Romance Best Ebook Award. Jo lives in the Vale of Glamorgan with her husband and three children.

Judith Lennox

Judith Lennox grew up in rural Hampshire and studied at the University of Lancaster, where she met her husband Iain; they have three sons, three grandsons and a granddaughter. Judith lives with her husband in Cambridge.

Julie Cohen

Julie Cohen studied at Brown University, earning a summa cum laude degree with honours in English. She moved to the UK to pursue a postgraduate degree in English Literature at the University of Reading and this was followed by a career teaching English at secondary level. She has written twenty books, including the Richard and Judy Book Club pick Dear Thing. She lives with her husband, a guitar tech for rock bands, and their son in Berkshire, where she writes full time.