Related to: 'The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox'

Author

Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of five novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, and THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

Karen Rose returns with the break-neck follow-up to MONSTER IN THE CLOSET, and the sixth book in the heart-pounding Baltimore Series. Has Thomas Thorne met his match in bloodthirsty gang boss Cesar Tavilla? Or, perhaps, in his beautiful best friend, Gwyn Weaver...?Intense, complex and unforgettable - James PattersonFast and furious - SunA high-octane thrill ride - Lisa Jackson

Tinder Press

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

I AM, I AM, I AM is Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel-Award winner Maggie O'Farrell's electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life; it will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Joan Didion's A YEAR OF MAGICAL THINKING.A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital.This is a memoir with a difference: seventeen encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal to us a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. It is a book to make you question yourself: what would you do if your life was in danger? How would you react? And what would you stand to lose? I AM, I AM, I AM is a book you will finish newly conscious of your own vulnerability, and determined to make every heartbeat count.(P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

THIS MUST BE THE PLACE: Exclusive Chapter Sampler

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

Read for free the first chapter of Maggie O'Farrell's new novel, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE, and discover for yourself why this book is garnering so much attention and praise. 'Inventive, moving and hilarious. I loved it' Rachel Joyce'Destined to be one of the most acclaimed books of 2016' Hannah Beckerman'Magnificent... perceptive, profound and page turning' Cathy RentzenbrinkMeet Daniel Sullivan, a man with a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn and a wife, Claudette, who is a reclusive ex-film star given to shooting at anyone who ventures up their driveway.He is also about to find out something about a woman he lost touch with twenty years ago, and this discovery will send him off-course, far away from wife and home. Will his love for Claudette be enough to bring him back?Maggie O'Farrell's seventh novel is a dazzling, intimate epic about who we leave behind and who we become as we search for our place in the world.

Tinder Press

Maggie O'Farrell: A Reader's Guide - free digital compendium

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

This free digital collection brings together extracts from Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel Award-winner Maggie O'Farrell's six novels. Whether you're discovering Maggie O'Farrell for the first time or revisiting your favourite novels, this collection showcases the work of one of the most critically acclaimed and commercially successful writers at work today. Follow #DiscoverMaggie to find out more.Special bonus material: find out what inspired Maggie to write her haunting debut, After You'd Gone, and the bestselling Instructions for a Heatwave.

Tinder Press

Instructions for a Heatwave: Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award 2013

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

Instructions for a Heatwave

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

The stunning new novel from Costa-Novel-Award-winning novelist Maggie O'Farrell: a portrait of an Irish family in crisis in the legendary heatwave of 1976.It's July 1976. In London, it hasn't rained for months, gardens are filled with aphids, water comes from a standpipe, and Robert Riordan tells his wife Gretta that he's going round the corner to buy a newspaper. He doesn't come back. The search for Robert brings Gretta's children - two estranged sisters and a brother on the brink of divorce - back home, each wih different ideas as to where their father might have gone. None of them suspects that their mother might have an explanation that even now she cannot share.Maggie O'Farrell's sixth book is the work of an outstanding novelist at the height of her powers.

Tinder Press

After You'd Gone

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

Tinder Press

The Hand That First Held Mine

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

A Discovery of Witches

Deborah Harkness
Authors:
Deborah Harkness

*Soon to be a major TV series*THE NUMBER ONE INTERNATIONAL AND SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER. A Discovery of Witches is the first in the must-have, must-read ALL SOULS trilogy. It begins with absence and desire. It begins with blood and fear. It begins with a discovery of witches.Fall under the spell of Diana and Matthew in the stunning first volume of the No.1 internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy. A world of witches, daemons and vampires. A manuscript which holds the secrets of their past and the key to their future. Diana and Matthew - the forbidden love at the heart of it.When historian Diana Bishop opens an alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, it's an unwelcome intrusion of magic into her carefully ordered life. Though Diana is a witch of impeccable lineage, the violent death of her parents while she was still a child convinced her that human fear is more potent than any witchcraft. Now Diana has unwittingly exposed herself to a world she's kept at bay for years; one of powerful witches, creative, destructive daemons and long-lived vampires. Sensing the significance of Diana's discovery, the creatures gather in Oxford, among them the enigmatic Matthew Clairmont, a vampire genticist. Diana is inexplicably drawn to Matthew and, in a shadowy world of half-truths and old enmities, ties herself to him without fully understanding the ancient line they are crossing. As they begin to unlock the secrets of the manuscript and their feelings for each other deepen, so the fragile balance of peace unravels...Five reasons to read A Discovery of Witches and the All Souls Trilogy 'Rich, thrilling ... A captivating and romantic ripping yarn' E L James'Intelligent and off-the-wall ... irrestistible to Twilight fans' Sunday Times'I could lose myself in here and never want to come out ... Utterly enchanting on every level' Manda Scott'Exciting amounts of spells, kisses and battles, and is recounted with enchanting, page-turning panache' Marie Claire'A bubbling cauldron of illicit desire ... an assured saga that blends romance with fantasy' Daily Mail

Tinder Press

The Hand That First Held Mine

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

My Lover's Lover

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Tinder Press

The Distance Between Us

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

Gripping, insightful and deft, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US by Maggie O'Farrell is a haunting story of the way our families shape our lives, from the award-winning author of THIS MUST BE THE PLACE. It was a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller and won the Somerset Maugham Award.On a cold February afternoon, Stella catches sight of a man she hasn't seen for many years, but instantly recognises. Or thinks she does. At the same moment on the other side of the globe, in the middle of a crowd of Chinese New Year revellers, Jake realises that things are becoming dangerous.They know nothing of one another's existence, but both Stella and Jake flee their lives: Jake in search of a place so remote it doesn't appear on any map, and Stella for a destination in Scotland, the significance of which only her sister, Nina, will understand.

Headline Review

Play it Again?

Julie Highmore
Authors:
Julie Highmore
Headline Review

Pure Fiction

Julie Highmore
Authors:
Julie Highmore

Looking for a good book? Try Pure Fiction. When the local library starts up a reading group, Ed is the first to sign up. Left home alone with baby Georgia once too often, he's looking for something more stimulating than the latest draft of his tiresome thesis. His fellow readers all have their own reasons for the weekly escape. Kate's social life is at a standstill and her quirky furniture shop barely breaks even. Zoe's self-esteem is regularly battered by her married lover. Semi-retired Bob, strongly encouraged by his wife, needs to get out of the house more. Donna, aged twenty-one and a mother of two, is desperate to feed her mind and catch up on her education. When English lecturer Gideon arrives, his literary certainties spark rivalries and emotions that no one expected. As the reading circle draws its members into an unlikely community, the plots become increasingly dramatic, and their lives grow ever more entwined...

Headline Review

After You'd Gone

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell

The groundbreaking debut novel from Maggie O'Farrell, AFTER YOU'D GONE is a stunning, best-selling story of wrenching love and grief.A distraught young woman boards a train at King's Cross to return to her family in Scotland. Six hours later, she catches sight of something so terrible in a mirror at Waverley Station that she gets on the next train back to London.AFTER YOU'D GONE follows Alice's mental journey through her own past, after a traffic accident has left her in a coma. A love story that is also a story of absence, and of how our choices can reverberate through the generations, it slowly draws us closer to a dark secret at the family's heart.

Headline

Say it with Poison

Ann Granger
Authors:
Ann Granger

Katherine Clements

Katherine Clements is a critically acclaimed novelist, self-confessed costume drama addict and current Royal Literary Fund Fellow at the University of Manchester. She is editor of Historia, the online magazine of the Historical Writers' Association, and is a member of the HWA committee. @KL_Clements

Maggie O'Farrell

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of seven novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, INSTRUCTIONS FOR A HEATWAVE, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, and THIS MUST BE THE PLACE, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

Stephanie Bishop

Stephanie Bishop was named one of the Sydney Morning Herald's Best Young Australian Novelists for her debut novel, The Singing. Stephanie studied in Cambridge, where part of THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD is set, and is currently a lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of New South Wales.