Related to: 'Cake: A Slice of History'

Tips and recipes

Pancake Day

Top tips for Pancake Day from our cookery stars, including inventive filling suggestions and brand new recipes.

Headline Home

Cherish

Anne Shooter
Authors:
Anne Shooter

'Sesame & Spice is an absolute treat; full of warmth and generosity, and so many recipes I want to cook, that I've been headily immoderate with my post-it notes!' Nigella LawsonThe recipes in Cherish are the food that Anne Shooter cooks for her family - the cookbook that her daughters wanted her to write. Full of love and generosity, the recipes are a delicious array of flavours from the Middle East, Eastern Europe and Jerusalem. They come from Anne's Jewish background and the times her family and friends come together to eat, celebrate and feast. With the same warm, home-style cooking of Sabrina Ghayour's Persiana, Olia Hercules' Mamushka and Emma Spitzer's Fress, Anne will open up a world of bold flavours but simple ingredients. Recipes that you will want to cook over and over again.'Every Friday, like my mum and my grandma, and her mother before her, I cook a delicious, comforting dinner for my family and friends. My recipes come from my Jewish roots, but I have written them for the modern table, drawing from the street foods of Tel Aviv to all the Jewish communities around the world to the meals my family have now made their own. I cook these recipes whenever we have friends or family over - a weekday one-tray supper of chicken, aubergine and bulghar wheat, a Sunday lunch of lamb shanks with apricots or roasted peppers with chickpeas, quinoa & feta for a vibrant dinner I can turn around a veritable feast of a dinner in a couple of hours because these recipes are tried and tested by generations of cooks before me, recipes I will be passing on to my daughters for their own families one day, I hope, and that you will to yours. This is indeed a book inspired by my Jewish roots, but above all, it is a book of food to make for people you love.'

Headline Home

A Handful of Flour

Tess Lister
Authors:
Tess Lister

A Handful of Flour is not simply a book of recipes but, like Shipton Mill itself, is grounded in the belief that flour matters. A simple ingredient which, if chosen and treated with care, can make all the difference. Shipton Mill's flour is the one that professional and home bakers namecheck, from Richard Bertinet to Andrew Whitley to Darina Allen, Raymond Blanc, Jamie Oliver, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and Yotam Ottolenghi.In this, their first, much-anticipated book, Tess Lister will show you how to choose the best flour for breads, pastry, pizza, cakes, tarts, biscuits and more. As well as covering the well-loved varieties of white and wholemeal flours, Tess will introduce you to ancient grains such as spelt, einkorn, emmer and khorasan. The book also explores the stunning flavours of many gluten-free flours, including rice, almond, chestnut and teff. Whether you simply want exciting recipes that explore the full range of flours available to us or to understand how best to employ them in your baking, this book will become as enduring as the Mill itself.Shortlisted for the Best First Book Award by the Guild of Food Writers 2017.

Headline Home

Marmalade

Sarah Randell
Authors:
Sarah Randell
Headline

Gin Glorious Gin

Olivia Williams
Authors:
Olivia Williams

Gin Glorious Gin is a vibrant cultural history of London seen through the prism of its most iconic drink. Leading the reader through the underbelly of the Georgian city via the Gin Craze, detouring through the Empire (with a G&T in hand), to the emergence of cocktail bars in the West End, the story is brought right up to date with the resurgence of class in a glass - the Ginnaissance.As gin has crossed paths with Londoners of all classes and professions over the past three hundred years it has become shorthand for metropolitan glamour and alcoholic squalor in equal measure. In and out of both legality and popularity, gin is a drink that has seen it all.Gin Glorious Gin is quirky, informative, full of famous faces - from Dickens to Churchill, Hogarth to Dr Johnson - and introduces many previously unknown Londoners, hidden from history, who have shaped the city and its signature drink.

Headline Home

John Whaite Bakes At Home

John Whaite
Authors:
John Whaite

John Whaite, winner of the 2012 Great British Bake Off, bakes everywhere he goes - at food festivals, as a guest on the nation's top cookery shows, at Le Cordon Bleu school where he is perfecting his craft and as teacher at his new cookery school. Yet his favourite place to bake is still at home, creating delicious treats and feasts for his family and friends.In John Whaite Bakes At Home, John shares with us those recipes he saves for his nearest and dearest. The lunches, brunches and afternoon teas he whips up when his parents come to visit, the indulgent sweet bakes and savoury pizzas he has waiting when his friends come to stay, and the picnics, confectionery and special occasion cakes he prepares for, and with, his nieces and nephews. So whether you want a birthday cake to impress or a comfort food feast to welcome the whole family, if you're after straightforward homemade recipes with a modern twist, this is the book for you.

Headline Home

Mary Berry's Christmas Collection

Mary Berry
Authors:
Mary Berry
Headline Eternal

Fool For Love (Cupcake Lovers Book 1)

Beth Ciotta
Authors:
Beth Ciotta

The Cupcake Lovers - a feel-good series of love, friendship and cake, for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan, Debbie Johnson, Cressida McLaughlin and Cathy Bramley. Fool For Love is the fabulous first novel in Beth Ciotta's delicious series in which some things in life are too sweet to resist...For chef-in-training Chloe Madison, a new job in Sugar Creek, Vermont is the perfect way to get over an ex. What could be more tempting than cooking for an eccentric lady who's crazy for desserts and joining a club called the Cupcake Lovers? Just one thing: local business-hunk Devlin Monroe... The grandson of Chloe's fun-loving boss, Devlin Monroe is all work and no play. That is until he meets the vibrant, beautiful Chloe. But when old grudges and secrets threaten to destroy the Cupcake Lovers, Devlin must decide if his feelings for Chloe are a recipe for disaster - or could be a sinfully delicious ever-after...BONUS CONTENT: Make your own cupcakes with the Cupcake Lovers' recipes! Curl up with a cupcake and indulge in the rest of the deliciously romantic Cupcake Lovers series: Fool For Love, The Trouble With Love, Some Kind of Wonderful and In The Mood For Love.

Headline Home

John Whaite Bakes: Recipes for Every Day and Every Mood

John Whaite
Authors:
John Whaite
Headline Home

It Must've Been Something I Ate

Jeffrey Steingarten
Authors:
Jeffrey Steingarten

Anne Shooter

Anne Shooter has been a journalist for 20 years, mainly at the Daily Mail and Mail Online and has also written for titles including delicious. magazine, the Jewish Chronicle, the Guardian and Woman & Home.Anne's love of cooking also led her to complete the Leiths School of Food and Wine's professional diploma and as such she also caters events and hosts numerous noisy dinner parties for as many friends and relatives as she can, whenever she has time. Her first book, Sesame & Spice: Baking from the East End to the Middle East, was nominated for the Guild of Food Writers' First Book Award. She lives in London with her husband Dan, daughters Charlotte and Jessica, and labradoodle Rufus.

Henry Herbert

Last year Henry, 24, left his role as Head Chef of the award winning Coach and Horses in Clerkenwell to face a new challenge, buying the traditional butchers next door to his brother Tom`s bakery. Now the two work and cook side by side, professionally and domestically, creating every element of a meal; from the bun to the burgers and even the homemade pickles that top them off.

Itamar Srulovich

Itamar Srulovich and Sarit Packer are a husband-and-wife team who together run Honey & Co in London's Fitzrovia. They first met twelve years ago in a restaurant kitchen in Israel and arrived in London dreaming of high gastronomy and Michelin stars. Their tiny restaurant has ten tables and brings the magic of homely Middle Eastern soul food to a hungry crowd. They have since opened Honey & Spice and Honey & Smoke and published two cookbooks. Follow on Twitter: @Honeyandco

Jeffrey Steingarten

Jeffrey Steingarten trained to become a food writer at Harvard College, Harvard Law School, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and the Harvard Lampoon. He is the internationally feared and acclaimed food critic of American Vogue.

Jo Brand

Jo Brand is a stand-up comic with many TV and radio shows to her name. She is married with two children and lives in south London.

Joanne Fluke

Joanne Fluke is the New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty novels. Like her much-loved series character, Hannah Swensen, Joanne was born and raised in a small town in rural Minnesota, but now lives in sunny Southern California. She is currently at work on her next Hannah Swensen mystery and loves to hear from her readers. You can contact Joanne at Gr8Clues@aol.com, or by visiting her website at www.joannefluke.com.

John Parker

John Parker, a journalist and former Fleet Street editor, has undertaken many investigative projects in his writing career with topics ranging from the Mafia to Northern Ireland. His numerous books include several military bestsellers including THE GURKHAS, DEATH OF A HERO and SBS: THE INSIDE STORY OF THE SPECIAL BOAT SERVICE.

John Whaite

John Whaite is the winner of BBC 2's The Great British Bake Off, 2012. He has been a keen baker and cook since he was a tiny tot, when he would spend many hours in the kitchen with his mum.From banking to baking, John was able to give up his mundane day job as a city commercial banker, to focus on the one thing he is truly obsessed with: food. In 2013 he fulfilled one of his lifelong dreams and attend Le Cordon Bleu in London to study the nine-month patisserie diploma.

Mary Berry

Mary Berry is the nation's favourite baker and home cook. The much-loved judge of The Great British Bake Off, Mary is the author of more than 70 cookbooks. Mary is loved for her practical and unfussy approach to cooking, but when she is at home, she loves to be with her family and tending her garden - her other great passion.

Sarah Randell

Sarah Randell is a food writer and editor and was Food Director at Sainsbury's Magazine for over ten years. She previously worked as food editor for Delia Smith's cookery books and on many of Delia's BBC TV programmes. Sarah lives in London with her husband and little boy Archie.Follow her on Twitter @2015bittersweetwww.potofmarmalade.uk

Tom Herbert

Fresh out of baking college, Tom won Baker Of the Year and his signature sourdough has won Organic Loaf of the Year 9 times in the last 10 years. Now, along with his butcher brother Henry, the two work and cook side by side, professionally and domestically, creating every element of a meal; from the bun to the burgers and even the homemade pickles that top them off.