Related to: 'Cake: A Slice of History'

Tips and recipes

Pancake Day

Top tips for Pancake Day from our cookery stars, including inventive filling suggestions and brand new recipes.

Headline Home

A Handful of Flour

Tess Lister
Authors:
Tess Lister

A Handful of Flour is not simply a book of recipes but, like Shipton Mill itself, is grounded in the belief that flour matters. A simple ingredient which, if chosen and treated with care, can make all the difference. Shipton Mill's flour is the one that professional and home bakers namecheck, from Richard Bertinet to Andrew Whitley to Darina Allen, Raymond Blanc, Jamie Oliver, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and Yotam Ottolenghi.In this, their first, much-anticipated book, Tess Lister will show you how to choose the best flour for breads, pastry, pizza, cakes, tarts, biscuits and more. As well as covering the well-loved varieties of white and wholemeal flours, Tess will introduce you to ancient grains such as spelt, einkorn, emmer and khorasan. The book also explores the stunning flavours of many gluten-free flours, including rice, almond, chestnut and teff. Whether you simply want exciting recipes that explore the full range of flours available to us or to understand how best to employ them in your baking, this book will become as enduring as the Mill itself.Shortlisted for the Best First Book Award by the Guild of Food Writers 2017.

Headline

Gin Glorious Gin

Olivia Williams
Authors:
Olivia Williams
Headline

Apple Turnover Murder (Hannah Swensen Mysteries, Book 13)

Joanne Fluke
Authors:
Joanne Fluke
Headline Home

Marmalade

Sarah Randell
Authors:
Sarah Randell
Headline Home

John Whaite Bakes At Home

John Whaite
Authors:
John Whaite

John Whaite, winner of the 2012 Great British Bake Off, bakes everywhere he goes - at food festivals, as a guest on the nation's top cookery shows, at Le Cordon Bleu school where he is perfecting his craft and as teacher at his new cookery school. Yet his favourite place to bake is still at home, creating delicious treats and feasts for his family and friends.In John Whaite Bakes At Home, John shares with us those recipes he saves for his nearest and dearest. The lunches, brunches and afternoon teas he whips up when his parents come to visit, the indulgent sweet bakes and savoury pizzas he has waiting when his friends come to stay, and the picnics, confectionery and special occasion cakes he prepares for, and with, his nieces and nephews. So whether you want a birthday cake to impress or a comfort food feast to welcome the whole family, if you're after straightforward homemade recipes with a modern twist, this is the book for you.

Headline Eternal

Fool For Love (Cupcake Lovers Book 1)

Beth Ciotta
Authors:
Beth Ciotta

Who can resist the delicious romance of the first in the Cupcake Lovers series? The Cupcake Lovers - a feel-good series of love, friendship and cake from author Beth Ciotta, follows a group of friends in the beautiful state of Vermont, as they navigate the romances and dramas that make up their lives. Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Jenny Colgan. 'Ciotta writes fun, sexy reads with a good dose of realism. Hot romance, a little suspense and a whole lot of charm make this a fast read Ciotta writes fun, sexy reads with a good dose of realism - and this is no exception. Hot romance, a little suspense and a whole lot of charm make this a fast read - and perfect for relaxing with a cup of tea' - Romantic TimesFor chef-in-training Chloe Madison, a new job in Sugar Creek, Vermont is the perfect way to get over an ex. What could be more tempting than cooking for an eccentric lady who's crazy for desserts and joining a club called the Cupcake Lovers? Just one thing: local business-hunk Devlin Monroe...The grandson of Chloe's fun-loving boss, Devlin Monroe is all work and no play. That is until he meets the vibrant, beautiful Chloe. But when old grudges and secrets threaten to destroy the Cupcake Lovers, Devlin must decide if his feelings for Chloe are a recipe for disaster - or could be a sinfully delicious ever-after...BONUS CONTENT: Make your own cupcakes with the Cupcake Lovers' recipes! Curl up with a cupcake and indulge in the rest of the deliciously romantic Cupcake Lovers series: Fool For Love, The Trouble With Love, Some Kind of Wonderful and In The Mood For Love. What readers are saying about Fool For Love: 'If you're looking for a sweet romantic read, with a bit of heat, a lot of family interactions, a hint of small town support and some delicious sounding cupcakes, then give this a try. I'm glad I did''I thoroughly enjoyed this book; it was a great tale full of drama and intrigue, fun, frolics and a dose of mystery''For fans of chick-lit and cupcakes. A light-hearted, easy to read, fun book with characters you can relate to'

Headline Home

John Whaite Bakes: Recipes for Every Day and Every Mood

John Whaite
Authors:
John Whaite

John Whaite Bakes. He always has. Whether he is happy or sad, in love or heartbroken, on his own or with friends, he believes that whipping up his favourite dishes provides nourishment for both the body and the soul.Now, fresh from winning the 2012 Great British Bake Off, he wants to share his mouthwatering creations with us so we can find the perfect recipe to fit our mood too.There are comforting dishes here like Self-Saucing Chocolate Mud Pud and Pork, Apple and Thyme Sausage Rolls that will warm up the coldest of winter evenings, inspiring flavour combinations such as Fig and Rose Savarin and Salted Caramel Rum Babas, romantic dishes to share such as Pizza Puttanesca and Passionfruit Tart and some new showstoppers too, including the brand new Hellfire and Brimstone Cake.So, whether you need a pick-me-up for dinner or a lazy Sunday breakfast treat, John Whaite Bakes is full of indulgent, delicious recipes to suit your every day and every mood.

Headline Home

Mary Berry's Christmas Collection

Mary Berry
Authors:
Mary Berry
Headline Home

It Must've Been Something I Ate

Jeffrey Steingarten
Authors:
Jeffrey Steingarten

Jeffrey Steingarten's first book, THE MAN WHO ATE EVERYTHING, was an instant classic. Nigella Lawson said, 'I have yet to meet anyone who hasn't adored this book once they've read it.' Now he has done it again. In this stunning collection of provocative, witty and erudite food essays, Jeffrey Steingarten continues his quest for the perfect meal. He chews over the supreme hors d'oeuvres recipe, embarks on an epic hunt for bluefish tuna, and, in 'The Man Who Cooked for his Dog', responds to baleful looks from his golden retriever by cooking him dishes of braised short ribs. As ever, it's a gloriously diverse menu from the man who has dedicated his life to searching out the ultimate in food experiences - at considerable expense to his waistline - for your reading pleasure. Read it and eat!

Anne Shooter

Anne Shooter's first book, Sesame & Spice, is shortlisted for the Guild of Food Writers' First Book Award. Anne is a food writer, recipe columist and blogger for the Daily Mail and Anne has also written for Delicious, the Jewish Chronicle, the Guardian and Women and Home and has also appeared at food festivals including Gefiltefest, the Oxford Foodie Festival and Aldeburgh.Her work also includes chairing tasting panels, hosting food events and judging awards on radio and TV as well as advising Marks & Spencer, Sainsbury's and the Red Tractor Campaign.

Henry Herbert

Last year Henry, 24, left his role as Head Chef of the award winning Coach and Horses in Clerkenwell to face a new challenge, buying the traditional butchers next door to his brother Tom`s bakery. Now the two work and cook side by side, professionally and domestically, creating every element of a meal; from the bun to the burgers and even the homemade pickles that top them off.

Itamar Srulovich

Itamar Srulovich and Sarit Packer are a husband-and-wife team who together run Honey & Co in London's Fitzrovia. They first met twelve years ago in a restaurant kitchen in Israel and arrived in London dreaming of high gastronomy and Michelin stars. Their tiny restaurant has ten tables and brings the magic of homely Middle Eastern soul food to a hungry crowd. They have since opened Honey & Spice and Honey & Smoke and published two cookbooks. Follow on Twitter: @Honeyandco

Jeffrey Steingarten

Jeffrey Steingarten trained to become a food writer at Harvard College, Harvard Law School, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and the Harvard Lampoon. He is the internationally feared and acclaimed food critic of American Vogue.

Jo Brand

Jo Brand is a stand-up comic with many TV and radio shows to her name. She is married with two children and lives in south London.

Joanne Fluke

Joanne Fluke is the New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty novels. Like her much-loved series character, Hannah Swensen, Joanne was born and raised in a small town in rural Minnesota, but now lives in sunny Southern California. She is currently at work on her next Hannah Swensen mystery and loves to hear from her readers. You can contact Joanne at Gr8Clues@aol.com, or by visiting her website at www.joannefluke.com.

John Parker

John Parker, a journalist and former Fleet Street editor, has undertaken many investigative projects in his writing career with topics ranging from the Mafia to Northern Ireland. His numerous books include several military bestsellers including THE GURKHAS, DEATH OF A HERO and SBS: THE INSIDE STORY OF THE SPECIAL BOAT SERVICE.

John Whaite

John Whaite is the winner of BBC 2's The Great British Bake Off, 2012. He has been a keen baker and cook since he was a tiny tot, when he would spend many hours in the kitchen with his mum.From banking to baking, John was able to give up his mundane day job as a city commercial banker, to focus on the one thing he is truly obsessed with: food. In 2013 he fulfilled one of his lifelong dreams and attend Le Cordon Bleu in London to study the nine-month patisserie diploma.

Mary Berry

Mary Berry is the nation's favourite baker and home cook. The much-loved judge of The Great British Bake Off, Mary is the author of more than 70 cookbooks. Mary is loved for her practical and unfussy approach to cooking, but when she is at home, she loves to be with her family and tending her garden - her other great passion.

Sarah Randell

Sarah Randell is a food writer and editor and was Food Director at Sainsbury's Magazine for over ten years. She previously worked as food editor for Delia Smith's cookery books and on many of Delia's BBC TV programmes. Sarah lives in London with her husband and little boy Archie.Follow her on Twitter @2015bittersweetwww.potofmarmalade.uk

Tom Herbert

Fresh out of baking college, Tom won Baker Of the Year and his signature sourdough has won Organic Loaf of the Year 9 times in the last 10 years. Now, along with his butcher brother Henry, the two work and cook side by side, professionally and domestically, creating every element of a meal; from the bun to the burgers and even the homemade pickles that top them off.