Related to: 'Cake: A Slice of History'

Tips and recipes

Pancake Day

Top tips for Pancake Day from our cookery stars, including inventive filling suggestions and brand new recipes.

Headline Home

A Handful of Flour

Tess Lister
Authors:
Tess Lister
Headline

Hello Life!

Marcus Butler
Authors:
Marcus Butler
Headline

The Glam Guide

Fleur De Force
Authors:
Fleur De Force

Fleur De Force started making YouTube videos in 2009 out of a passion for everything beauty and fashion related. What began as a fun hobby quickly turned into something much bigger, and she's spent the past five years seeking out the best products, top tips and easiest ways for us all to look and feel more fabulous. In The Glam Guide she shares all of her secrets and discoveries so whether you're looking for makeup tips, wardrobe cheats, first-date pointers or healthy lifestyle motivation, this is the book for you.

Headline

Blackberry Pie Murder (Hannah Swensen Mysteries, Book 17)

Joanne Fluke
Authors:
Joanne Fluke
Headline

Red Velvet Cupcake Murder (Hannah Swensen Mysteries, Book 16)

Joanne Fluke
Authors:
Joanne Fluke

With Hannah herself as prime suspect, how will she solve the crime this time? Red Velvet Cupcake Murder sees Hannah in a tricky position, as Joanne Fluke's cosy mystery puts the sleuth in the spotlight. Packed full of delicious recipes and perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton and Leslie Meier.'If your reading habits alternate between curling up with a good mystery or with a good cookbook, you ought to know about Joanne Fluke' - Charlotte ObserverIt's a hot summer's evening in Lake Eden, Minnesota - perfect for the Grand Opening of the refurbished Albion Hotel. Hannah Swensen's famous Red Velvet cupcakes are the talk of the night, until Doctor Bev, the woman who left town after two-timing her fiancé, turns up unexpectedly.Things go from bad to worse when another partygoer takes a dive off the hotel's rooftop garden. As the police investigate, Hannah is more preoccupied with Bev's attempts to stir things up with old flame Norman, who's since reunited with Hannah. When Bev is found dead at the bottom of Miller's Pond, things reach boiling point. To everyone's shock, Hannah is now the target of a murder investigation - and she's feeling the heat like never before... What readers are saying about Red Velvet Cupcake Murder: 'The delightful characters make every page a joy''Another fantastic mystery from Joanne Fluke. The books are easy to read and such a pleasure''Five stars'

Headline

Cinnamon Roll Murder (Hannah Swensen Mysteries, Book 15)

Joanne Fluke
Authors:
Joanne Fluke
Headline

Marmalade

Sarah Randell
Authors:
Sarah Randell

From the arrival of the first boxes of bitter Seville oranges at the greengrocer's in January, to the sweet-sharp scent of citrus fruit filling the kitchen as the preserving pan bubbles away on the stove, there is something deeply satisfying about the annual ritual of making marmalade and piling the pantry shelves high with neatly labeled jars of glistening preserves.Once you've perfected the set and balanced the bittersweet flavour in your traditional orange marmalade, you might experiment with different fruits, or try adding alcohol, essences or spices - cardamom, ginger or a hint of bergamot - but after that, what to do with all those pots of citrus perfection? A jar or two to friends and family, another for the breakfast table... and then what? It's time to start using it for baking and cooking. From Christmas ham to rhubarb and marmalade trifle, and from chocolate fondants with bitter orange centres to marmalade marguerites, here is all the inspiration you need to make the most of marmalade right through the year.

Headline Eternal

Some Kind of Wonderful: A Cupcake Lovers Novella 3.5 (A feel-good series of love, friendship and cake)

Beth Ciotta
Authors:
Beth Ciotta
Headline

Not In Your Lifetime

Anthony Summers
Authors:
Anthony Summers

It might not be in your lifetime', said the Chief Justice of the United States when asked whether the files on the assassination of President Kennedy would be made public. If the President was killed by a lone gunman, as the first official enquiry claimed, why can we still not see all relevant records?Fifty years on and the murder of the century remains unsolved. Drawing on thirty years of investigation, Anthony Summers examines the case in compelling, forensic detail. He analyses the evidence for Oswald's guilt, the Mafia connection, and the links to Cuba and reveals, for the first time, a plausible admission of involvement. This updated edition of Not in Your Lifetime is the most definitive account of one of the most intractable mystery mysteries of our time.

Headline Home

Mary Berry's Christmas Collection

Mary Berry
Authors:
Mary Berry

Let Mary solve all your Christmas troubles with this fabulous collection of her favourite Christmas recipes.Mary Berry's Christmas Collection combines time-honoured festive favourites with a variety of new and exciting dishes to spice up the season. By taking the traditional Christmas fare and giving it a twist, Mary adds sparkle to every celebration.Simple yet reliable recipes and Mary's handy hints will take the pressure off entertaining, whether it's for the big day itself, a Boxing Day crowd or an intimate New Year family gathering.With an invaluable Christmas Day countdown, sample menus, shopping lists and ever-popular tips on preparing ahead and freezing, this is the must-have companion to the festive season.

Headline Eternal

Fool For Love (Cupcake Lovers Book 1)

Beth Ciotta
Authors:
Beth Ciotta
Headline Eternal

The Trouble With Love (Cupcake Lovers Book 2)

Beth Ciotta
Authors:
Beth Ciotta

Deliciously romantic and impossible to resist: the second novel in the Cupcake Lovers series. The Cupcake Lovers - a feel-good series of love, friendship and cake from author Beth Ciotta, follows a group of friends in beautiful Vermont and vibrant New York, as they navigate the romances and dramas that make up their lives. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Cressida McLaughlin. 'The perfect blend of heart-warming love and endearing characters. Another terrific tale in the Cupcake Lovers series that will have readers craving cupcakes...and wanting more books in this terrific series' - Romance Reviews Today Rocky Monroe's bad luck is legendary. So it stands to reason that during a quick trip to New York on Cupcake Lovers' business, she winds up in the arms of the one man she never wants to see again. Delicious Jayce Bello has always been Rocky's biggest mistake, and she's not going to let history repeat itself - even if she can't stop dreaming about him...When Jayce Bello left Sugar Creek over ten years ago, it was the right thing to do - for him and for his best friend's sister. But after another passionate night with gorgeous, reckless Rocky he knows he can no longer live without her. Now he just needs to prove to Rocky that theirs is a recipe for love...BONUS CONTENT: Make your own cupcakes with the Cupcake Lovers' recipes! Curl up with a cupcake and indulge in the rest of the deliciously romantic Cupcake Lovers series: Fool For Love, The Trouble With Love, Some Kind of Wonderful and In The Mood For Love. What readers are saying about The Trouble With Love: 'Best read in a long time''For fans of chick-lit and cupcakes. A light-hearted, easy to read, fun book with characters you can relate to' 'Five stars'

Anne Shooter

Anne Shooter's first book, Sesame & Spice, is shortlisted for the Guild of Food Writers' First Book Award. Anne is a food writer, recipe columist and blogger for the Daily Mail and Anne has also written for Delicious, the Jewish Chronicle, the Guardian and Women and Home and has also appeared at food festivals including Gefiltefest, the Oxford Foodie Festival and Aldeburgh.Her work also includes chairing tasting panels, hosting food events and judging awards on radio and TV as well as advising Marks & Spencer, Sainsbury's and the Red Tractor Campaign.

Anthony Summers

Anthony Summers is the award-winning author of eight bestselling non-fiction books. As a BBC journalist, he covered events in the United States and wars in Vietnam and the Middle East for Panorama. His most recent book The Eleventh Day, co-authored with Robbyn Swan, was a Finalist for the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for History. It also won the Crime Writer's Association's Gold Dagger award for best non-fiction - which the first edition of this book also won. Summers is the only author to have won two Gold Dagger awards for non-fiction.

Fleur De Force

Fleur De Force is one of the most successful beauty and fashion vloggers in the world. She started making videos on YouTube in September 2009, and has been building her global audience ever since. Her You Tube channel subscribers now stand at over 1.3 million bringing her into the top 1% Google approved YouTubers in the beauty sector. Her chatty, informative and accessible videos see her looking at her favourite beauty/fashion trends, products and advice and currently attract over 4 million views per month and some 180,000,000 views since she started.In addition to her You Tube channel, Fleur is an avid blogger - her blog attracts over 100,000 unique visitors per month.Fleur's first book The Glam Guide, published by Headline, shares all of her secrets and discoveries from makeup tips, wardrobe cheats, first-date points or healthy lifestyle motivation and it went straight to the top 5 of the Sunday Times bestsellers!She is a regular speaker at trade events including Beautycon and Vidcon and has been featured in Cosmopolitan, Miss Vogue, Company, Sunday Times Style and ITV This Morning.

Itamar Srulovich

Itamar Srulovich and Sarit Packer are a husband-and-wife team who together run Honey & Co in London's Fitzrovia. They first met ten years ago in a restaurant kitchen in Israel and arrived in London dreaming of high gastronomy and Michelin stars. Their tiny restaurant has ten tables and brings the magic of homely Middle Eastern soul food to a hungry crowd.

Joanne Fluke

Joanne Fluke is the New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty novels. Like her much-loved series character, Hannah Swensen, Joanne was born and raised in a small town in rural Minnesota, but now lives in sunny Southern California. She is currently at work on her next Hannah Swensen mystery and loves to hear from her readers. You can contact Joanne at Gr8Clues@aol.com, or by visiting her website at www.joannefluke.com.

Marcus Butler

Marcus Butler is one of the world's biggest YouTubers, and is still growing enormously quickly. Marcus's observations on the world are very popular and his love of film-making shines through in every video he creates.youtube.com/marcusbutler|youtube.com/moremarcus twitter.com/marcusbutler| instagram.com/marcusbutler|facebook.com/marcusbutlertv | Marcus Butler App

Mary Berry

Mary Berry is the nation's favourite baker and home cook. The much-loved judge of The Great British Bake Off, Mary is the author of more than 70 cookbooks. Mary is loved for her practical and unfussy approach to cooking, but when she is at home, she loves to be with her family and tending her garden - her other great passion.

Sarah Randell

Sarah Randell is a food writer and editor and was Food Director at Sainsbury's Magazine for over ten years. She previously worked as food editor for Delia Smith's cookery books and on many of Delia's BBC TV programmes. Sarah lives in London with her husband and little boy Archie.Follow her on Twitter @2015bittersweetwww.potofmarmalade.uk