Related to: 'The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19)'

Headline

A Knife to the Heart (Ikmen Mystery 21)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The twenty-first chilling Istanbul crime thriller starring Çetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Silver Dagger Award-winning author Barbara Nadel. Not to be missed by fans of Donna Leon. A derelict villa near Istanbul holds dark spirits, secrets and murder...Retired inspector Çetin Ikmen must confront his demons to reveal the shocking truth behind a young girl's death...When historian Suzan Tan is asked to examine the contents of a derelict villa on the Bosphorus, she is intrigued to discover a Ouija board among the artefacts. Forty years ago, a young girl was found with a knife in her heart in this villa. It is said that before her death this very Ouija board spelled out her name.The verdict was suicide - but what if it was a brutal act of murder and her killer was still walking free?Suzan asks Ikmen to solve the case, and despite his reluctance to get involved, he soon finds himself drawn into the mystery. With the help of his friend Inspector Süleyman, Ikmen delves into Istanbul's dark underbelly to uncover a terrifying tale of secrets, lies and murder.

Headline

Incorruptible (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 20)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The brand-new Istanbul crime thriller staring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. ON THE BONE is perfect for fans of Donna Leon.In Istanbul - the golden city on the Bosphorus - ancient myths and modern evils are at work...On a buzzing street in the fashionable district of Beyoglu, a young man drops dead. Ümit Kavas's death was natural but the autopsy betrays a shocking truth: his last meal was human flesh. Under desperate pressure from their superiors, Inspector Cetin Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Süleyman begin their most obscure investigation yet. How did Ümit Kavas, apparently a good, liberal man, come to partake in the greatest taboo of all? Did he act alone? And who was his victim? Soon they find themselves embroiled in a dark web of underground worlds: of Turkey's old secular elite; a community of squatters; and a new gastronomy scene breaking every boundary. But where does the truth lie?

Headline

Land of the Blind (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 17)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Deadline (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 15)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Dead of Night (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 14)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

A Noble Killing (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 13)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Turkey: the police are called to the scene of what seems to be the honour killing of a young girl. Burnt alive, she is not the first girl to suffer such an horrific death in Istanbul. Further investigations by Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehmet Suleyman reveal that the girl had a secret boyfriend who has now disappeared. He and the girl's family are prime suspects, even though forensic evidence is scant. Why does the family, in common with other families of girls immolated in the city, now appear to be broke? There are also links to an infamous local gangster. Religion, organised crime and the lengths some people will go to in order to conform, come together in a tragic story of violence in a divided and changing society. And Mehmet Suleyman is on the verge of making a mistake that could ruin his career...

Headline

Death by Design (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 12)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Barbara Nadel's new Turkish crime novel sees Inspector Ikmen tackling a complex case of organised crime in London.When the Istanbul police raid a counterfeit goods factory in the run-down district of Tarlabasi, a young man with explosives strapped to his chest blows himself up in front of them. In the process, Istanbul's Inpsector Çetin Ikmen is injured. Documents found in the factory lead the authorities in both Istanbul and London to believe that a terrorist attack, in part orchestrated from the Tarlabasi factory, is about to be enacted in the British capital. Ikmen goes undercover amongst the Turkish community of North London, although what he uncovers there is certainly not what his British colleagues were expecting...

Headline

Sure and Certain Death

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The chilling World War Two crime mystery by the award-winning author Barbara Nadel; fourth in the highly popular Francis Hancock series. East London, 1940: Francis Hancock finds the brutally eviscerated body of a woman in a derelict house. Francis' sister, Nancy, knew the victim. Then, shockingly, two more murders follow. Rumours start to spread through the East End about another Jack the Ripper. When a fourth woman is murdered, Nancy admits that she knew all of the victims, and Francis sets out to find the killer, discovering a trail of murderous resentment that goes back decades...

Headline

Ashes to Ashes (Francis Hancock Mystery 3)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

As the German Luftwaffe bomb the capital, undertaker Francis Hancock suddenly finds himself caught up in the middle of a terrifying abduction plot.It's 29 December, 1940, the night that Hitler has chosen to destroy London under a barrage of flaming incendiary bombs. Their main target - St Paul's cathedral - is where Hancock is sheltering from the onslaught. But the First World War veteran doesn't just have bombs to contend with; a young girl, who was also sheltering in the cathedral, has vanished. Then some of those charged with protecting the building are brutally murdered. Hancock must face his own demons and fears in his struggle to catch those responsible and bring them to justice...

Headline

A Passion for Killing (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 9)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

After the Mourning (Francis Hancock Mystery 2)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

In the dark days of the Blitz, crime goes undercover...Undertaker Francis Hancock has seen the worst that humanity can do to itself. Why then does the murder of a young gypsy girl in Epping Forest move him so much? Travellers, gypsies, the homeless, deserters and German spies inhabit this stretch of open ground that was once her home. Francis knows it's not wise to delve into this human melting pot, but he is drawn to the exotic customs of the gypsies, their music and magic. But as he investigates the girl's murder further, the death toll rises and Francis uncovers a much bigger conspiracy, at the heart of which lies something even Adolf Hitler is prepared to kill for...

Headline Review

Dance with Death (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 8)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

A body is discovered in a cave in the remote region of Cappadocia, Turkey. The woman died of gunshot wounds, and her corpse has lain undisturbed for twenty years. Inspector Cetin Ikmen is summoned from Istanbul to investigate and discovers a complex web of intrigue. Was she killed by her boyfriend, driven mad by love, or her husband, believing she would never bear the son he wanted so badly? When it is revealed the girl was pregnant when she died, the whispers and accusations increase. Ikmen, stifled among a rural community thriving on folklore and intrigue, begins to think he will never see clearly through the lies surrounding this case. One thing, however, is clear: the past is as potent as the present.

Headline

Last Rights (Francis Hancock Mystery 1)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

October 1940. The London borough of West Ham is in the grip of yet another night of bombing, and undertaker Francis Hancock is in the grip of yet another night of temporary insanity.A veteran of World War One, Francis is forced by the nightly air raids to relive the trauma of the trenches, and all he can do is try to outrun the horrific flashbacks. So when he sees a man lurching through the rubble, screaming about being stabbed but with no visible wound, Francis dismisses it at the ravings of another lost soul... until the man's body turns up at his funeral parlour, two days later. Suspecting foul play, Francis feels compelled to discover what really happened that night - but he finds himself pitted against violent thugs, an impenetrable network of lies and his own fragile sanity.

Headline

Deadly Web (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 7)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

A naked teenage girl is found dead near the beautiful Byzantine Yoros Castle in Turkey. She has stabbed herself through the heart but there is evidence of bizarre sexual practice. In another part of Istanbul, a young boy sems to have committed suicide in similar circumstances. What dark rituals could have compelled them to fatal self-abuse? Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehmet Suleyman follow an internet trail that leads them to an underworld of Goth nightclubs and Satanic worship. But even those murkey shadows hide more than they reveal and the answers to an ever increasing number of suspicious deaths is more shocking and terrible than they could ever have imagined.

Headline

Petrified (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 6)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

Summer in Istanbul is hot. The kind of heat that can drive even the sanest people a little crazy...An elderly woman is found dead in a flat with the perfectly preserved body of a young man. In an ancient part of the Jewish quarter, two children are missing. Their father, an artist whose genius borders on insanity, only seems more driven in his work. And a raid on a Russian gangster yields nothing except the dead body of a girl he claims is his daughter. Could the connection to all cases lie in a macabre forgotten art? But Inspector Cetin Ikmen's worries aren't just work-related. His protégé, Suleyman, is going dangerously off the rails, threatening to compromise not just himself but months of painstaking investigation. Ikmen faces a complex case which threatens to rock the very fabric of Turkish society.

Headline

Harem (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 5)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The body of a teenage girl is discovered in a cistern deep below the city of Istanbul. For the Turkish police force's most talented officer, Inspector Çetin Ikmen, this is a difficult case. The girl was his daughter's friend and her attire, that of a nineteenth-century Ottoman, offers no easy explanation.With his promise of justice to the dead girl's mother still fresh on his lips, Ikmen is suddenly taken off the case and reassigned to the kidnapping of an ageing movie star's wife. The star is hiding something and so, Ikmen fears, are his superiors. A powerful secret exists in the labyrinthine city; one which those on either side of the law will do anything to prevent surfacing...

Headline

Deep Waters (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 4)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Arabesk (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 3)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel
Headline

Belshazzar's Daughter (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 1)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel