Related to: 'The Cat Sanctuary'

September Book of the Month

WHEN I'M WITH YOU - EXCERPT

A sizzling excerpt from When I'm With You, Book 2 in Beth Kery's captivating Because You Are Mine series.

Tinder Press

Three Decades of Stories

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Little Bits of Baby

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale's LITTLE BITS OF BABY is a charming, witty novel of love, possibility and life in crisis - 'Richly comic, affectionate and perceptive' Mail on SundayEight years ago, Robin fled from his family, friends, and entire life, to suffer a complete breakdown in an island monastery. Now he's reconnecting with those he left behind: his mother and father, with their own small secrets, and Jake and Candida, both of whom were impossibly close to Robin when he disappeared. But while the people he abandoned have missed him, Robin finds that everything has changed. He alone can decide what he will do in this new world of resentment, possibility and triumphant love.

Tinder Press

Facing the Tank

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Ease

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

The Aerodynamics of Pork

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

THE AERODYNAMICS OF PORK is an irresistible novel of love, music and comedy - 'A master storyteller' Independent on Sunday'Gale's concoction is irresistible: modern relationships with period charm' Armistead MaupinSeth, a musical prodigy on the eve of his sixteenth birthday, is obsessed with sex and with the men he might meet, as well as with his strange family - his arch mother, his beautiful sister, and his damaged, distant father. Mo, a policewoman struggling with moral dilemmas and her sexuality in the violent, bigoted police force of the 1980s, wants only to find romance. In this haunting tale of self discovery and hidden identities, Mo and Seth will connect to face unexpected truths about themselves, and those they have chosen to love.

Tinder Press

Kansas in August

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale's KANSAS IN AUGUST is a witty, warm novel of childhood and abandonment for readers of Armistead Maupin and Edmund White 'Modern, excellent and sympathetic' Stephen FryMusical-obsessed Hilary Metcalfe, abandoned by his lover Rufus on his birthday, gets drunk, discovers a baby and brings it home to his flat above a corner shop to provide comfort and company. Rufus, meanwhile, allows himself to be seduced by a frivolous young woman, who is actually Hilary's professional, high-powered sister, romancing under a pseudonym to escape the reality of her own loneliness. In this witty, bawdy slice of sex and lies, the trio will find themselves drawn together ever more tightly by the lures of hedonism, self-delusion and the inescapable desire to be needed.

Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

A Sweet Obscurity

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Bittersweet and startling, A SWEET OBSCURITY is a novel of childhood, love and the consequences of how lives are lived. 'Intriguing and impressive. A memorable study of a child forced cruelly, even tragically, to grow up too soon' Sunday TimesSince her mother's death, nine year old Dido has been living with her eccentric aunt, acting as peacekeeper between Eliza, her estranged husband Giles and his girlfriend. They are each cruelly burdened in different ways. Chance draws them down to Cornwall, where a country idyll offers to lighten their urban cares. Eliza falls in love with local farmer, Pearce, an event that causes the four adults to re-assess their lives, with some painful and unforeseen consequences for adults and child alike.

Tinder Press

Friendly Fire

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Insightful and full of understanding and warmth, Patrick Gale's FRIENDLY FIRE is a richly compelling story of adolescence, sexuality and the lessons we carry forever. 'An intense tale of love, life, intellectualism and passion. Inspirational' Daily Express'Utterly compelling from first to last' Stephen FrySophie, an orphan in love with learning, is sure she will thrive in Tatham's, an esteemed boarding school, having survived years of institutional living. But she soon finds herself lost among its cliques and rituals. Befriending two teenage boys, she experiences the first ache of futile love, then a brilliant teacher's inappropriate attention to one of the trio threatens to destroy them all. Sophie swiftly realizes that there are tougher lessons to absorb outside the schoolroom - of class, sex, families and the emotional disaster they can bring to even the most privileged lives.

Tinder Press

Tree Surgery for Beginners

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER, TREE SURGERY FOR BEGINNERS is a funny, elegant and eclectic novel of love, lies and the secrets we live with 'A very funny, often sad, erudite eclectic novel writ with style. Terrific' Time Out'Excellent' The TimesWhen Lawrence Frost wakes up one morning to discover his wife and child have gone missing, there is gruesome evidence to suggest he may be the main suspect in a murder investigation. Confused, threatened with the loss of everything he loves, Lawrence is sent to the Caribbean on a kill-or-cure cruise. On board and ashore he will discover love, deceit, the truth about his missing family, and the blessings that come with surrendering to destiny.

Tinder Press

The Facts of Life

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Notes from an Exhibition

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

A bestselling 'Cornish' novel, NOTES FROM AN EXHIBITION is a moving, intuitive novel of artistic compulsion, marriage, and the secrets left behind. It was a Richard & Judy bestseller.'Poised and pitch-perfect throughout' Mail on SundayCelebrated artist Rachel Kelly dies alone in her Penzance studio, after decades of struggling with the creative highs and devastating lows that have coloured her life. Her family gathers, each of them searching for answers. They reflect on lives shaped by the enigmatic Rachel - as artist, wife and mother - and on the ambiguous legacies she leaves them, of talent, torment and transcendent love.

Tinder Press

Rough Music

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Truly compelling and rich with emotional insight , Patrick Gale's Cornish novel, ROUGH MUSIC is a beautiful story of a marriage and the secrets a family holds. 'Sparkling with emotional intelligence. A gripping portrait of a marriage and the quiet, devastating fall-out of family life' Independent Julian is a contented if naïve only child, and a holiday on the coast of North Cornwall should be perfect, especially when distant American cousins join the party. But their arrival brings upheaval and unexpected turmoil.It is only as a seemingly well-adjusted adult that Julian is able to reflect on the realities of his parents' marriage, and to recognise that the happy, cheerful boyhood he thought was his is infused with secrets, loss and the memory of betrayals that have shaped his life.

Tinder Press

A Perfectly Good Man

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Devastatingly moving and full of psychological insight, A PERFECTLY GOOD MAN is a warm, humane Cornish novel from the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER'A convincing, moving account of man's struggle with faith, marriage and morality' Sunday TimesOn a clear, crisp summer's day in Cornwall, a young man carefully prepares to take his own life, and asks family friend, John Barnaby, to pray with him. Barnaby - priest, husband and father - has always tried to do good, though life hasn't always been rosy. Lenny's request poses problems, not just for Barnaby, but for his wife and family, and the wider community, as the secrets of the past push themselves forcefully into the present for all to see.

Tinder Press

Gentleman's Relish

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Dangerous Pleasures

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

The Whole Day Through

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

A Place Called Winter

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Tinder Press

A Place Called Winter

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

** Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award 2015 **From the writer of BBC TV's MAN IN AN ORANGE SHIRT comes Sunday Times Top Ten hardback and paperback bestseller, A PLACE CALLED WINTER - picked for the BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club and the Waterstones Book Club.'A mesmerising storyteller; this novel is written with intelligence and warmth' The TimesTo find yourself, sometimes you must lose everything.A shy but privileged elder son, Harry Cane has followed convention at every step. Even the beginnings of an illicit, dangerous affair do little to shake the foundations of his muted existence - until the shock of discovery and the threat of arrest force him to abandon his wife and child and sign up for emigration to Canada.Remote and unforgiving, his allotted homestead in a place called Winter is a world away from the golden suburbs of turn-of-the-century Edwardian England. And yet it is here, isolated in a seemingly harsh landscape, under the threat of war and madness that the fight for survival will reveal in Harry an inner strength and capacity for love beyond anything he has ever known before.

Abi Maxwell

Abi Maxwell is the author of an acclaimed story collection, LAKE PEOPLE, and her fiction has also appeared in McSweeney's. She studied writing at the University of Montana and now lives in New Hampshire, where she grew up, with her husband and son.