We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781802793239

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 18th January 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘A haunting, gripping, deeply atmospheric novel’ – Emma Stonex

‘What a storyteller . . . masterful’ – Donal Ryan

‘Beautiful, compelling and exquisitely told. This story will haunt me’ – Ruth Hogan

‘To be savoured long after the last page’ – Leonora Nattrass

‘A master craftswoman. I am in awe at this novel’s brilliance’ – Louisa Treger

‘A stylish, evocative novel from a born storyteller’ – Sunday Independent

Bestowed with the graces.
Condemned by a secret.
Redeemed by a lie.

Dublin, 1918. Rosaleen Moore: The Rose. A seer and a healer.

Revered by popular spiritualists and sought after for her gifts of prophecy and healing by fashionable society, the mighty of Dublin Castle and mercurial political agitators alike, her last extraordinary prophecy will only see her legend grow.

On the anniversary of her death, pilgrims walk the Way of the Rose: to St. Kilian’s Abbey and its bell tower which so lured the Rose in life. Although a shrine, the bell tower has seen tragedy – a heinous crime to which the monastery’s once-beloved Abbot, now imprisoned, has confessed.

Then emerges a deathbed revelation by Rosaleen Moore which casts doubt on the Abbot’s word.

The Rose has a different tale to tell . . .

Science and faith collide against tumultuous 20th-century Ireland in this heart-wrenching historical novel, perfect for fans of Stacey Halls and Laura Purcell.

PRAISE FOR SIOHAN MACGOWAN:

‘Keeps the reader hooked to the end’ – The Times

‘Utterly absorbing and vividly realised’ – Irish Independent

‘An enthralling drama’ – Best

‘A sweeping, heart-breaking quest for justice’ – Fiona Looney

‘A tale told with such ominous beauty. Lotta will stay with me forever’ – Chas Newkey-Burden

‘Weaves historical fact with an engaging and page-turning plot’ – Sinead Moriarty

‘This is a sit-down-and-do-not-get-up-until-you’ve-finished read’ – Belfast Telegraph

‘A brilliant tale’ – Sunday Business Post

‘A gripping story of injustice, intrigue and revenge set at the turn of the 20th century’ – Irish Times

What's Inside

Read More Read Less