We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Search Results for: hollow kingdom

Showing 1-2 of 2 results

Hollow Kingdom

Hollow Kingdom

A humorous, big-hearted romp through the apocalypse, where even a cowardly crow can become a hero. Perfect for fans of Dawn of the Dead and Isaac Marion’s Warm Bodies.

‘A thoroughly enjoyable account of the end of the world as we know it. The Secret Life of Pets meets The Walking Dead.’ Karen Joy Fowler

‘It’s transformative, poignant, and funny as hell. S.T. the irrepressible, cursing crow is my new favourite apocalyptic hero.’ Helen Macdonald, New York Times bestselling author of H Is for Hawk

S.T. is a domesticated crow. He is a bird of simple pleasures: hanging out with his owner Big Jim, trading insults with Seattle’s wild crows (those idiots) and enjoying the finest food humankind has to offer: Cheetos.

But when Big Jim’s eyeball falls out of his head, S.T. starts to feel like something isn’t right. His most tried-and-true remedies – from beak-delivered beer to the slobbering affection of the loyal, but dim-witted, dog Dennis – fail to cure his owner.

S.T. is left with no choice but to venture out into a frightening new world, where he discovers that the neighbours are devouring each other, and the local wildlife is abuzz with rumours of dangerous new predators roaming Seattle…

Humanity’s extinction has arrived, and the only one determined to save it is a foul-mouthed crow.

Readers love Hollow Kingdom

‘Beguilingly different’ Bookist (starred review)

‘…wildly original and inventive, funny and profane’ Laurie Frankel, author of This is How It Always Is

I love this book so much! I wanted to set it on fire while hugging it.’ Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
The Music of Bees

The Music of Bees

Set in the gorgeous, sprawling countryside of the Pacific Northwest, Eileen Garvin’s THE MUSIC OF BEES is about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places, and the families we choose for ourselves. Heart-warming, inspirational and redemptive, it is perfect for fans of THE LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS and Rachel Joyce.

‘It’s simultaneously heart-breaking and uplifting, and I loved it’ Abi Daré, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl with the Louding Voice

‘This heart-warming, uplifting story will make you want to call your own friends, not to mention grab some honey’ Good Housekeeping

* A Good Housekeeping Book Club Pick * Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2021 by BookRiot and the New York Post *

After the sudden death of her husband, Alice Holtzman finds herself a social outsider. Reclusive, middle-aged, childless, and with only 850,000 honeybees for company.

On the other side of town, Jake Stevenson and his enormous black mohawk had a bright future in front of them studying music, all until an accident at a high school party leaves him in a wheelchair.

So when Alice nearly crashes her pick-up truck, packed with thousands of restless honeybees, into Jake, the last thing she expects from the near-miss is to find that Jake has a gift: not only is he a natural with bees, but he can hear their buzzing as a form of music. . .

And when Harry, a twenty-four-year-old with debilitating social anxiety, also arrives at the farm looking for work, unexpected friendships begin to blossom.

As these new friends begin to heal one another, all seems right with their world – until the buzzing stops. With a pesticide company threatening the local honeybee population, and everything they have worked for, this trio must unite to defend their bees.

Praise for The Music of Bees. . .

‘Genuinely touching’
Publishers Weekly

‘A hopeful, heart-warming, uplifting story about the power of chosen family’
Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is

‘An exquisite debut’
People Magazine

‘A special treat for nature lovers, The Music of Bees is full of warmth and hope and decency’
Rebecca Hardiman, author of Good Eggs

‘The Music of Bees is an enchanting book of belonging, overcoming adversity and the journey to find a hive of one’s own’
Kira Jane Buxton, author of Hollow Kingdom

‘The Music of Bees sings!’
Adriana Trigiani

A delightful book!’
Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars


Filter by +