Rosie Goodwin - Crying Shame - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Crying Shame

A mother and daughter struggle with their pasts

By Rosie Goodwin

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

After a childhood of misery and a life built on lies, can you ever find peace?

Claire Nightingale is haunted by the memory of childhood abuse and the painful choices she was forced to make. Longing to find peace, she knows she must first confront her demons.

Moving to Solihull with her adopted daughter Nikki, she tries to make amends with the family she left behind. But Claire is not the only one hurting: Nikki is scarred by her own abusive past, and their relationship, once loving, becomes fraught with tension and resentment. Struggling to come to terms with their pain, it is not long before ghosts from the past bring a new threat that jeopardises the possibility of any future happiness...

A heartbreaking tale of abuse, courage and, above all, the redemptive power of love.

Biographical Notes

Rosie Goodwin has worked in social services for many years. She has three children, and lives in Nuneaton with her husband, Trevor, and their three dogs.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755342242
  • Publication date: 27 Nov 2008
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Headline
'A touching and powerful new novel from a wonderful writer' — Bookseller
Headline

The Stolen Child

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

A powerful new saga from Jennie Felton in the grand tradition of Josephine Cox, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin of love, loss, tragedy, drama, secrets and twists and turns.Who will believe this baby is not hers?When Stella Swift is discovered holding a shard of broken glass near her newborn baby boy, fears that she might harm William result in her being taken to Catcombe - the local asylum. Although the regime is not as harsh as it once was, it's not somewhere that Tom wants to send his wife - but he has no choice.Turning to his kind-hearted sister-in-law Grace for help taking care of his other three children whilst he keeps working at the mine seems like the simplest solution until Stella is well - if only there wasn't the shared history between Tom and Grace...At first Catcombe seems to offer the respite Stella needs - until one day she becomes convinced that the baby the nurses have given to her is not William. Is Stella losing her mind? Or is it true that a mother will always know her own child?Don't miss Jennie's Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter, Edie's story in The Girl Below Stairs, Carina's story in The Widow's Promise and Laurel's story in The Sister's Secret.

Headline

The Tuppenny Child

Glenda Young
Authors:
Glenda Young
Headline Review

The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events

Gill Thompson
Authors:
Gill Thompson
Headline Review

The Gown

Jennifer Robson
Authors:
Jennifer Robson
Headline

Belle of the Back Streets

Glenda Young
Authors:
Glenda Young

A dramatically powerful and romantic saga of tragedy and triumph, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.'Glenda has an exceptionally keen eye for domestic detail which brings this local community to vivid, colourful life and Meg is a likeable, loving heroine for whom the reader roots from start to finish' Jenny Holmes'Any rag and bone!'Everyone recognises the cry of Meg Sutcliffe as she plies her trade along the back streets of Ryhope. She learnt the ropes from her dad when he returned from the War. But when tragedy struck, Meg had no choice but to continue alone, with only her trusty dog Spot and beloved horse Stella for company. Now the meagre money she earns is the only thing that stands between her family's safety and predatory rent collector Hawk Jackson...Many say it's no job for a woman - especially a beauty like Meg who's noticed everywhere she goes. When she catches the eye of charming Clarky it looks like she might have found a protector and a chance of happiness. But is Clarky really what he seems? And could Adam, Meg's loyal childhood friend, be the one who really deserves her heart?'I found it difficult to believe that this was a debut novel, as "brilliant" was the word in my mind when I reached the end. I enjoyed it enormously, being totally absorbed from the first page. I found it extremely well written, and having always loved sagas, one of the best I've read' Margaret KaineLook out for Glenda's next compelling saga, The Tuppenny Child.

Headline

A Lucky Sixpence

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker

A poignant and dramatic saga set in Liverpool, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Annie Groves and Lyn Andrews. Praise for Anne Baker's Merseyside sagas: 'A stirring tale of romance and passion, poverty and ambition' Liverpool EchoIt's 1937 and for sisters Lizzie and Milly Travis there's nothing quite like the thrill of the funfair at New Brighton. Amid the bright lights and whirling rides, Lizzie wins a lucky sixpence on a stall - as well as the heart of a handsome stallholder.Ben McCluskey isn't the type of man Lizzie's respectable parents had in mind for her, nevertheless the young couple embark on a whirlwind romance. Lizzie's mother worries that history will repeat itself when Ben introduces her daughter to a world she never knew existed. And, as war looms, Milly realises that her sister's luck can't last for ever...

Headline

The Sister's Secret

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

The Sister's Secret is a powerful new saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Josephine Cox, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin of secrets, romance, drama and triumph in the wake of a bitter tragedy.Can she hide the truth to protect those she loves?The Sykes family have lived at Fairley Terrace since their youngest daughter, Rowan, was born. Fiercely clever, Rowan finds it difficult to fit in with the other village children, so when her beloved older sister, Laurel, takes a new job and moves back home, Rowan is overjoyed. Laurel is happy to be with her family - even if she's keeping the real reason for her return to herself. It seems like she's destined to keep repeating the mistakes of her past when it comes to matters of the heart. The two sisters are each longing for excitement and a fresh start, and when familiar faces return to Fairley Terrace, along with an enigmatic new resident, it looks like they might get their wish. But their harmony is about to be shattered by a mysterious stranger who threatens to expose a long-kept secret - and is prepared to stop at nothing to wreak revenge on the family.Don't miss the rest of the Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter, Edie's story in The Girl Below Stairs, and Carina's story in The Widow's Promise.

Headline

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heart-rending saga of a motherless Liverpool girl

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

The Widow's Promise: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 4

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline

Friends Forever

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Across a Summer Sea

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews
Headline

Love and a Promise

Lyn Andrews
Authors:
Lyn Andrews

A promise to the woman who saved her life holds Maddy back from following her heart... Lyn Andrews writes an unforgettable family saga in Love and a Promise, set in both Dublin and Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Katie Flynn. 'A page-turning and beautifully written novel. The loves and tragedies of the Kiernan siblings will keep you hooked until the very end' - Irish WorldMaddy Kiernan knows her situation is desperate. With her parents dead, her brother Thomas is left as guardian to Maddy and her sister Carmel. But Thomas has plans that don't include his sisters and his reckless ambition could put all their futures at risk. Sharp-witted and strong-willed, Maddy knows she must assume responsibility for the fragile young Carmel.When Thomas deserts Ireland for Liverpool, Maddy realises she has little option but to follow. Within days the girls are destitute, their precious savings gone. Even when Maddy finds a position with an elderly widow, Thomas's aspirations threaten their security. And then Maddy is faced with a terrible choice - between love and a promise... What readers are saying about Love and a Promise: '[This book] was excellent from cover to cover. I found myself staying up late at night just to finish it - you just cannot put it down! It has real life drama, romance and a wonderful ending''Once I start a Lyn Andrews book, I cannot stop reading it. I feel as if I have been transported back in time''Love and a Promise is a great and gripping story, I just had to continue until I'd finished the book. It is a great story of rags to riches and the heartbreak in between - just a lovely story'

Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

A QUESTION OF TRUST is vintage Penny Vincenzi: rich with characters, life-changing decisions, glamour, love, desire and conflict. 'There are few things better in life than ... the latest novel by Penny Vincenzi' Daily Express1950s London. Tom Knelston is charismatic, working class and driven by ambition, ideals and passion. He is a man to watch. His wife Alice shares his vision. It seems they are the perfect match.Then out of the blue, Tom meets beautiful and unhappily married Diana Southcott, a fashion model. An exciting but dangerous affair is inevitable and potentially damaging to their careers. And when a child becomes ill, Tom is forced to make decisions about his principles, his reputation, his marriage, and most of all, his love for his child.(P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Those Were The Days

Lynda Page
Authors:
Lynda Page
Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

A View Across the Mersey

Anne Baker
Authors:
Anne Baker
Headline

The Girl Below Stairs: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 3

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton

The Girl Below Stairs is the third powerful saga from Jennie Felton, in her Families of Fairley Terrace series, in the grand tradition of Katie Flynn, Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Josephine Cox, of secrets, romance, drama and triumph in the wake of a bitter tragedy.'Believable characters, a vivid sense of time and place, thoroughly enjoyable' Rosie GoodwinEdie Cooper has grown up at Fairley Terrace, surrounded by a loving family. Now she spends her days working as lady's maid to Christina, the adopted daughter of the powerful Fairley family, and her nights dreaming of a life with handsome local lad Charlie Oglethorpe. Although broken-hearted when Charlie leaves to make his fortune in London, Edie finds consolation in her friendship with Christina, who asks for her help in uncovering the mystery of her true parentage. But someone in the grand house will stop at nothing to keep the long-buried secrets hidden. Will Edie be able to protect Christina? And will she find her own path to happiness with Charlie? Don't miss Jennie's Families of Fairley Terrace series, which began with Maggie's story in All The Dark Secrets and continued with Lucy's story in The Miner's Daughter, Edie's story in The Girl Below Stairs, Carina's story in The Widow's Promise and Laurel's story in The Sister's Secret.