Simon Scarrow - The Eagle's Prophecy (Eagles of the Empire 6) - Headline Publishing Group

The Eagle's Prophecy (Eagles of the Empire 6)

By Simon Scarrow

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

AD 45, the Adriatic Sea. Centurions Macro and Cato embark on a deadly mission to rescue an imperial agent from pirates. The gripping sixth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series, which includes INVICTUS, BRITANNIA and THE BLOOD CROWS.

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

THE EAGLE'S PROPHECY is the powerful sixth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire seires. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. Praise for Simon Scarrow's gripping novels: 'Ferocious and compelling' Daily Express

The Adriatic Sea, AD 45. Cato and Macro, centurions of the Roman army, are horrified to learn that they face possible execution after the death of their commanding officer. Fortunately, the Emperor's secretary is willing to offer them an alternative: to join the marines and hunt down a band of brutal pirates who are decimating not only Rome's reputation, but also a critical supply chain.

As they discover the true horror of battle at sea, Macro and Cato must also remember their real mission: to recover from those pirates a set of scrolls that hold secrets vital to the future of the Roman Empire. Rome will do anything to get them back...

Biographical Notes

Simon Scarrow is a Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author. His many successful books include his Eagles of the Empire novels featuring Roman soldiers Macro and Cato, most recently INVICTUS, BRITANNIA, BROTHERS IN BLOOD and THE BLOOD CROWS, as well as HEARTS OF STONE, set in Greece during the Second World War, SWORD AND SCIMITAR, about the 1565 Siege of Malta, and a quartet about Wellington and Napoleon including the No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller THE FIELDS OF DEATH. He is the author with T. J. Andrews of the gladiator novels ARENA and INVADER.

Find out more at www.simonscarrow.co.uk and on Facebook /officialsimonscarrow and Twitter @SimonScarrow

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755350001
  • Publication date: 11 Dec 2008
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Headline
Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' — Bernard Cornwell
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best — Independent
Gripping and moving — The Times
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff — Good Book Guide
Ferocious and compelling — Daily Express
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction — Sunday Sport
Rollicking good fun — Mail on Sunday
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller — BBC History Magazine