Karen Rose - Don't Tell (The Chicago Series Book 1) - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755351572
    • Publication date:21 Jan 2010
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755373208
    • Publication date:10 Dec 2009
Books in this series

Don't Tell (The Chicago Series Book 1)

By Karen Rose

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

They tried to escape him, but he wouldn't let them: DON'T TELL is a gripping thriller in the Chicago series by the Sunday Times bestseller Karen Rose.

They tried to escape him, but he wouldn't let them: DON'T TELL is a gripping thriller in the Chicago series by the Sunday Times bestseller Karen Rose.

Desperate Mary Grace Winters knew the only way to save herself and her child from her abusive husband was to stage their deaths. Now all that remains of her former life is at the bottom of a lake.

As Caroline Stewart, Mary Grace has almost forgotten the nightmare she left behind nine years ago. Slowly she has learned to believe that her new life, and new identity, is here to stay.

Then her husband uncovers her hidden trail. Step by step he's closing in on her and everyone she loves. Now Caroline must decide whether to flee again or whether the time has come to stay and fight...

Biographical Notes

Karen Rose was introduced to suspense and horror at the tender age of eight when she accidentally read Poe's The Pit and The Pendulum and was afraid to go to sleep for years. She now enjoys writing books that make other people afraid to go to sleep. Karen lives in Florida with her family. When she's not writing, she enjoys travelling, karate and, though not a popular Florida pastime, skiing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755371150
  • Publication date: 21 Jan 2010
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Headline
Rose delivers the kind of high-wire suspense that keeps you riveted to the edge of your seat — Lisa Gardner
'Romantic suspense at its ultimate best' — Romance Junkies
Headline

Say You're Sorry (The Sacramento Series Book 1)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Wildfire

Cold as the Grave

James Oswald
Authors:
James Oswald
Headline Eternal

You Will Suffer

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy

A new gripping, chilling thriller from New York Times bestselling author, Alexandra Ivy. Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.Every small town has a secret...and this one is worth killing for. The rolling fields outside Curry, Oklahoma, are a beautiful spot to ramble on an early spring day...and a lonely place to die. Among the prairie grass and wildflowers, a killer kneels beside a curled-up figure, plunging a syringe beneath skin to deliver the fatal dose. And as the victim's last breath mingles with the air, it sends a warning out to the world: this is just the beginning. Rejecting her judge father's prestigious connections, Ellie Guthrie opened her own law firm in Curry. But something strange is going on. Ellie's tires are slashed. Dead rats are dumped on her patio. Her neighbour, former FBI agent Nate Marcel, insists on watching out for her. And then bodies begin turning up - supposed overdoses that Nate suspects are something much more sinister. There's a killer in town, toying with her, drawing both Ellie and Nate into a web of murder and vengeance. To find answers, she'll have to unearth this small community's dark and twisted past...before it's her turn to die.Look for more page-turning suspense from Alexandra Ivy with Pretend You're Safe and What Are You Afraid Of?, out now.

Headline

Aftershock

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy
Wildfire

And So It Begins

Rachel Abbott
Authors:
Rachel Abbott
Headline Review

Friend of the Family

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry
Headline

The Night She Died

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

A Measure of Darkness

Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman, Jesse Kellerman

The fantastic follow-up to CRIME SCENE by masters of the psychological thriller genre Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman. A MEASURE OF DARKNESS features deputy coroner Clay Edison in another gripping case . . .Clay Edison gets the call in the middle of the night and it's a bad one. A party in Oakland, feuding neighbours, a wild crowd in the street. Two guns, firing at random, spreading chaos and death. Nobody knows the body count yet. It's going to be a long night for Clay - longer than he ever could have imagined.Because when the dust settles, there's a victim who can't be accounted for. A young woman, strangled instead of shot, without ID and a stranger to all. Clay's journey to give her a name and bring her justice will lead him into a bizarre world where right and wrong begin to blur.If you love the Alex Delaware series, and are a fan of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly, you will be hooked by A MEASURE OF DARKNESS.

Headline

Grist Mill Road

Christopher J. Yates
Authors:
Christopher J. Yates
Wildfire

No Time to Cry

James Oswald
Authors:
James Oswald

From one of the UK's biggest crime writers - the man brought you the bestselling Inspector McLean novels - comes a phenomenal new series guaranteed to have your heart in your mouth. Undercover ops are always dangerous, but DC Constance Fairchild never expected things to go this wrong. Returning to their base of operations, an anonymous office in a shabby neighbourhood, she finds the bloodied body of her boss, and friend, DI Pete Copperthwaite. He's been executed - a single shot to the head. In the aftermath, it seems someone in the Met is determined to make sure that blame for the wrecked operation falls squarely on Con's shoulders. She is cut loose and cast out, angry and alone with her grief... right until the moment someone also tries to put a bullet through her head.There's no place to hide, and no time to cry.

Headline

Delusion

Tom Fox
Authors:
Tom Fox
Wildfire

The Tall Man

Phoebe Locke
Authors:
Phoebe Locke

YOU DON'T FIND HIM... HE FINDS YOU.'THE MUST-READ SUMMER CHILLER' - Daily Express'GENUINELY SCARY' - Observer'IF YOU READ JUST ONE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER THIS YEAR - MAKE IT THE TALL MAN' - CultureFlyThe Tall Man is an ADDICTIVE and UNFORGETTABLE blend of psychological suspense and spine-tingling chills that will be perfect for fans of Stephen King, Ruth Ware, Sarah Pinborough's BEHIND HER EYES. If you love STRANGER THINGS, prepare to be haunted by THE TALL MAN.A SENSELESS MURDER. A TERRIFYING LEGEND. A FAMILY HAUNTED.1990: In the darkest woods, three girls devote themselves to a sinister figure. 2000: A young mother disappears, leaving behind her husband and baby daughter. 2018: A teenage girl is charged with murder, and her trial will shock the world.Three chilling events, connected by the shadow he casts. He is the Tall Man. He can make you special...

Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline

Death Is Not Enough (The Baltimore Series Book 6)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose

-- A BRAND NEW KILLER THRILLER FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER - 3 MILLION BOOKS SOLD IN THE UK ALONE --A ruthless gang leader. A deadly vendetta. A dark past exhumed... KAREN ROSE returns with the break-neck follow-up to MONSTER IN THE CLOSET, and the sixth book in the heart-pounding Baltimore Series. Gwyn Weaver is as resilient as anyone could be. Having survived an attempted murder, she has rebuilt her life and reclaimed her dignity and strength. She's always known about her feelings for defence attorney Thomas Thorne, but as her friend and a colleague there could be no chance of anything more... or could there? Thorne has known violence and pain all his life. He's overcome the hardships thanks to his own steel, and the love of his loyal friends. Now he's thinking it might finally be time to let his guard down, and allow himself to let in the woman he's always admired from afar. Then Thorne's whole world is torn apart - he is found unconscious in his own bed, the lifeless body of a stranger lying next to him, her blood on his hands. Knowing Thorne could never have committed such a terrible crime, Gwyn and his friends rally round to clear his name. But this is just the beginning - the beginning of a brutal campaign to destroy Thorne, and everything he holds dear...Intense, complex and unforgettable - James PattersonFast and furious - SunA high-octane thrill ride - Lisa Jackson

Headline

Skyjack

K. J. Howe
Authors:
K. J. Howe

The electrifying sequel to THE FREEDOM BROKER, featuring Thea Paris, a kidnap and ransom specialist. For Thea, kidnap is always personal - her brother's life was nearly ruined when he was taken as a child. Lisa Gardner says THE FREEDOM BROKER is 'clever and gritty' and Peter James calls it 'spellbinding'. If you like David Baldacci's King and Maxwell series, you will love this.When Thea Paris's flight is hijacked over the Libyan Desert, her first priority is the two former child soldiers she is escorting to a new life in London. As an international kidnap specialist, Thea Paris negotiates for hostage release as part of her job. She knows one wrong move could lead to deadly consequences. After she is forcibly separated from the boys and the other passengers, Thea and her tactical team quickly regroup. And in their desperate search for the hostages that follows, unearth a conspiracy involving the CIA, the Vatican and the Sicilian Mafia, and a plot far more sinister than Thea could ever have imagined.

Headline

The Silenced

Stephen Lloyd Jones
Authors:
Stephen Lloyd Jones
Headline

Edge of Darkness (The Cincinnati Series Book 4)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

The Feed

Nick Clark Windo
Authors:
Nick Clark Windo

THE FEED by Nick Clark Windo is a startling and timely debut which presents a world as unique and vividly imagined as STATION ELEVEN and THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS and explores what it is to be human in the digital age.It makes us. It destroys us.The Feed is everywhere. It can be accessed by anyone, at any time. Every interaction, every emotion, every image can be shared through it.Tom and Kate use The Feed, but they have resisted addiction to it. And this will serve them well when The Feed collapses.Until their six-year-old daughter, Bea, goes missing.Because how do you find someone in a world devoid of technology? And what happens when you can no longer trust that your loved ones are really who they claim to be?

Headline Review

Hardcore Twenty-Four

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich
Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

A serial killer is in town and the race is on for DCI Kate Burrows. Stop the killer before more innocent girls die...Damaged is the explosive new novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller, Martina Cole, and sees the return of her iconic heroine DCI Kate Burrows. The 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and the biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina's unique, powerful storytelling includes Dangerous Lady, The Ladykiller, Betrayal and many more.When the bodies of missing schoolgirls start turning up, former DCI Kate Burrows is dragged out of retirement.A new Grantley serial killer is in town and DCI Annie Carr turns to Kate for help. She welcomes the distraction from her home life with former gangster, Patrick Kelly, whose long lost son has turned up out of the blue, bringing trouble with him.It soon becomes clear the killer is on their doorstep and as the body count grows, Kate and Annie face a race against the clock. But they have no real leads ... and there's more to these murders than meets the eye. Can Kate take the killer down before another schoolgirl dies?