Martina Cole - The Graft - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755350773
    • Publication date:20 Jun 2005
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755338023
    • Publication date:25 Sep 2006

The Graft

A gritty crime thriller to set your pulse racing

By Martina Cole

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

THE GRAFT: Martina Cole's stories expose a world that many would rather ignore.

Success comes at a deadly price...

THE GRAFT by the 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole is an unflinching novel that exposes a world that many would rather ignore...

When Nick Leary hears the sound of an intruder's footsteps downstairs one night, something inside him snaps. The thought of losing his beautiful wife and sons, their luxurious home and possessions, everything he's grafted for, pushes him to attack.

But this single act sets in motion something way beyond Nick's control.
He's picked the wrong fight this time, and now it's too late to go back...

For more novels that will take you deep into the dark and dangerous criminal underworld, check out Martina Cole's THE BUSINESS, THE LIFE and REVENGE

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755374137
  • Publication date: 11 Nov 2010
  • Page count: 528
  • Imprint: Headline
Wildfire

Nothing to Hide

James Oswald
Authors:
James Oswald
Headline

No Mercy

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline Review

Thirty

Christina Bradley
Authors:
Christina Bradley
Headline

Found

Erin Kinsley
Authors:
Erin Kinsley
Headline

A Knife to the Heart (Ikmen Mystery 21)

Barbara Nadel
Authors:
Barbara Nadel

The twenty-first chilling Istanbul crime thriller starring Çetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Silver Dagger Award-winning author Barbara Nadel. Not to be missed by fans of Donna Leon. A derelict villa near Istanbul holds dark spirits, secrets and murder...Retired inspector Çetin Ikmen must confront his demons to reveal the shocking truth behind a young girl's death...When historian Suzan Tan is asked to examine the contents of a derelict villa on the Bosphorus, she is intrigued to discover a Ouija board among the artefacts. Forty years ago, a young girl was found with a knife in her heart in this villa. It is said that before her death this very Ouija board spelled out her name.The verdict was suicide - but what if it was a brutal act of murder and her killer was still walking free?Suzan asks Ikmen to solve the case, and despite his reluctance to get involved, he soon finds himself drawn into the mystery. With the help of his friend Inspector Süleyman, Ikmen delves into Istanbul's dark underbelly to uncover a terrifying tale of secrets, lies and murder.(P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Headline Eternal

You Will Suffer

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy

A new gripping, chilling thriller from New York Times bestselling author, Alexandra Ivy. Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.Someone has a secret. One worth killing for.The rolling fields outside Curry, Oklahoma, are a beautiful spot to ramble on a spring day...and a lonely place to die. Rejecting her judge father's prestigious connections, Ellie Guthrie opened her own law firm in Curry. But something strange is going on. Ellie's tires are slashed. Dead rats are dumped on her patio. And then bodies begin turning up - supposed overdoses that her neighbour, former FBI agent Nate Marcel, suspects are something much more sinister.There's a killer in town, toying with her, drawing both Ellie and Nate into a web of murder and vengeance. To find answers, she'll have to unearth this small community's dark and twisted past...before it's her turn to die.Look for more page-turning suspense from Alexandra Ivy with Pretend You're Safe and What Are You Afraid Of?, out now.

Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton

YOU'VE NEVER READ A LOVE STORY AS TWISTED AS THIS.Perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL, and THE GIRL BEFORE.Meet Juliette. She's intelligent, driven, committed - and in love.Juliette loves Nate.She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flightattendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.They are meant to be.The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing.Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.She is the perfect girlfriend.And she'll make sure no one stops her fromgetting exactly what she wants.True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain...'You don't often come across a character who is both sociopathic and compelling. Buckle your seatbelts, you're in for a very bumpy ride ... Let this supremely enjoyable thriller whisk you up, up and away' Sunday Mirror'This debut novel is written with a gleeful zeal ... Juliette is a memorable, grippingly unpredictable character' Daily Express'An addictive psycological thriller... Unhinged' Culturefly'Be prepared to put your life on hold' Good Housekeeping

Wildfire

Scrublands

Chris Hammer
Authors:
Chris Hammer
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

A QUESTION OF TRUST is vintage Penny Vincenzi: rich with characters, life-changing decisions, love, desire and conflict. 'There are few things better in life than ... the latest novel by Penny Vincenzi' Daily Express1950s London. Tom Knelston is charismatic, working class and driven by ambition, ideals and passion. He is a man to watch. His wife Alice shares his vision. It seems they are the perfect match.Then out of the blue, Tom meets beautiful and unhappily married Diana Southcott, a fashion model. An exciting but dangerous affair is inevitable and potentially damaging to their careers. And when a child becomes ill, Tom is forced to make decisions about his principles, his reputation, his marriage, and most of all, his love for his child.

Headline Review

The Ice Cream Girls

Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson

As teenagers, Poppy Carlisle and Serena Gorringe were the only witnesses to a tragic event. Amid heated public debate, the two seemingly glamorous teens were dubbed 'The Ice Cream Girls' by the press and were dealt with by the courts.Years later, having led very different lives, Poppy is keen to set the record straight about what really happened, while Serena wants no one in her present to find out about her past. But some secrets will not stay buried - and if theirs is revealed, everything will become a living hell all over again...

Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

'With the return of some of her best-loved characters and lashings of her usual grit, Cole fans will lap this up' HeatDamaged is the explosive new novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller Martina Cole, author of Dangerous Lady, The Ladykiller and Betrayal. Iconic heroine DCI Kate Burrows returns in a blistering thriller you won't be able to put down. This killer has only just begun...DCI Kate Burrows might be retired, but when the bodies of missing schoolgirls start turning up in Grantley, she's the first person DCI Annie Carr calls for help.Life for Kate and ex-gangster Patrick Kelly is thrown into chaos when his long lost son turns up out of the blue, bringing trouble with him. This new case could be just what Kate needs.But as the body count grows, Kate and Annie face a race against the clock.Without any clear leads, can they stop the killer before another schoolgirl dies?

Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin

The New York Times Top Ten Bestseller'The Immortalists is about as good as it gets' Karen Joy Fowler'Like literary nectar' Hannah Beckerman'I couldn't put it down' Carys BrayIf you knew the date of your death, how would you live?It's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes.Over the years that follow, the siblings must choose how to live with the prophecies the fortune-teller gave them that day. Will they accept, ignore, cheat or defy them? Golden-boy Simon escapes to San Francisco, searching for love; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician; eldest son Daniel tries to control fate as an army doctor after 9/11; and bookish Varya looks to science for the answers she craves.A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists is a story about how we live, how we die, and what we do with the time we have.

Headline

Betrayal

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

The DI Kate Burrows Trilogy: The Ladykiller, Broken, Hard Girls

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman

In Trigger Warning, global phenomenon and Sunday Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman returns to dazzle, captivate, haunt, and entertain with this third collection of short fiction, which includes a Doctor Who adventure, the David Bowie-inspired The Return of the Thin White Duke and a never-before published American Gods story, Black Dog.The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains was serialised on BBC Radio 4's Book at Bedtime in November 2015. 'We are all wearing masks. That is what makes us interesting. These are stories about those masks, and the people we are underneath them.' Neil Gaiman, writing from a cabin in the dark woods.Make sure you secure your own mask before reading. Before being transported to worlds filled with witches, watchers and big black bees, with deathless Kin and pirate girls, with things that prowl in the darkness beyond the circle fire, to find the Shadder lurking at your journey's end. But then what happens? There's always something waiting for you. There's always more. Just keep turning the pages.'We each have our little triggers.'Literary alchemy from 'a writer of rare perception and endless imagination' (William Gibson), TRIGGER WARNING is a cornucopia of storytelling: horror and ghost stories, science fiction and fairy tales, fabulism and poetry. It will open your eyes to the inexhaustible supply of darkness around you, the magic and the monsters, the myths and the miracles, and to finding truths in the most extraordinary of places.

Headline

Get Even

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

The Good Life

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline Review

A Perfect Heritage

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi
Headline

Moth and Spark

Anne Leonard
Authors:
Anne Leonard
Headline

The Ladykiller

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

He's every woman's worst nightmare...THE LADYKILLER is the first book in the DI Kate Burrows series: the only time the 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and Sunday Times bestseller Martina Cole has written from the perspective of the Old Bill. A killer is on the loose. It's up to DI Kate Burrows to stop him.But Kate has a problem. The Grantley Ripper has attacked the daughter of one of London's most infamous gangsters, Patrick Kelly, and now Kate's investigation, along with her heart, are dangerously entwined with him.As the worlds of crime and law collide, will Kate take down the Ladykiller, or will he be her undoing?Her unique take on London's criminal underworld will have you hooked, so don't miss the rest of the DI Kate Burrows series, BROKEN, HARDGIRLS and DAMAGED