Eowyn Ivey - The Snow Child - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755380558
    • Publication date:01 Feb 2012
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755394357
    • Publication date:01 Feb 2012

The Snow Child

By Eowyn Ivey

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The magical, internationally bestselling debut novel from Eowyn Ivey, THE SNOW CHILD is a fairy-tale for adults that brings the Alaskan landscape to unforgettable life.

A bewitching tale of heartbreak and hope set in 1920s Alaska, THE SNOW CHILD was a top ten bestseller in hardback and paperback, and went on to be a Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize.

Alaska, the 1920s. Jack and Mabel have staked everything on a fresh start in a remote homestead, but the wilderness is a stark place, and Mabel is haunted by the baby she lost many years before. When a little girl appears mysteriously on their land, each is filled with wonder, but also foreboding: is she what she seems, and can they find room in their hearts for her?

Written with the clarity and vividness of the Russian fairy tale from which it takes its inspiration, The Snow Child is an instant classic.

Biographical Notes

Eowyn Ivey's debut novel, THE SNOW CHILD, was published in twenty-six languages, and became an international bestseller. It was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize 2013, and Eowyn won the International Author of the Year category at the 2012 National Book Awards. A former bookseller, Eowyn lives in Palmer, Alaska, with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755380534
  • Publication date: 30 Aug 2012
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
'A magical, heartbreaking story... gorgeous' — Marie Claire
'It's the harsh beauty of the landscape that gives this stunning first novel its unique shape and atmosphere' — The Times
'It is an exceptional book that deserves to melt millions of hearts' — Sunday Express
'A story about finding love in unexpected places... full of fire and ice' — Financial Times
Headline Review

Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay: A delicious Cornish romance

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Tinder Press

To the Bright Edge of the World

Eowyn Ivey
Authors:
Eowyn Ivey
Tinder Press

This Must Be the Place: Costa Award Shortlisted 2016

Maggie O'Farrell
Authors:
Maggie O'Farrell
Headline

Dead Ice

Laurell K. Hamilton
Authors:
Laurell K. Hamilton
Headline Review

If You Were Me

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

Three Amazing Things About You

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

From the No. 1 bestselling author of THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT comes a poignant romantic novel about a young woman whose time is running out. Not to be missed by readers of Jojo Moyes and Erica James.Jill Mansell's enchanting new novel will drive readers to seize life with both hands and make the most of every minute...Hallie has a secret. She's in love. He's perfect for her in every way, but he's seriously out of bounds. And her friends aren't going to help her because what they do know is that Hallie doesn't have long to live. Time is running out...Flo has a dilemma. She really likes Zander. But his scary sister won't be even faintly amused if she thinks Zander and Flo are becoming friends - let alone anything more.Tasha has a problem. Her new boyfriend is the adventurous type. And she's afraid one of his adventures will go badly wrong.THREE AMAZING THINGS ABOUT YOU begins as Hallie goes on a journey. A donor has been found and she's about to be given new lungs. But whose?

Headline Review

The Chase

Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg
Authors:
Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg
Headline Review

The Unpredictable Consequences of Love

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

The delicious new romantic novel from the Sunday Times No. 1 bestseller.When Josh Strachan, newly returned to his home in north Cornwall from sunny California, first meets Sophie Wells, he's immediately smitten. Sophie's pretty, she's funny, she has lots of friends and she clearly loves her job as a photographer, despite the sometimes tricky clients. There's just one problem: Sophie has very firmly turned her back on love. It's nothing personal, she tells Josh, but she just doesn't do dates. And no one - even Sophie's scatty best friend Tula - will tell him why. Josh is sure Sophie likes him, though, and he's just got to find out what's put her off romance. And then put things right...

Headline

The Blood Crows (Eagles of the Empire 12)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

THE BLOOD CROWS is the unputdownable twelfth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell.For nearly ten years, the Roman Empire has fought ceaselessly to strengthen its hold over Britannia. But opposition from native tribes led by the ruthless warrior Caratacus threatens to destroy everything. Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro are summoned by Governor Ostorius to Londinium. Tasked with leading a newly formed cavalry cohort into the heartland of Wales, they must destroy the growing resistance. But with Caratacus hatching increasingly ambitious plans and disorder threatening from within Macro and Cato's own ranks, this final test will push the soldiers to their limits. And if they do not emerge as victors, the Emperor Claudius's rule may be at stake, and the very foundations of the Roman Empire could be shattered irrevocably.

Headline Review

Better Together

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

Don't Want To Miss A Thing

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

Jill Mansell's bestseller DON'T WANT TO MISS A THING is 'bursting with humour, brimming with intrigue and full of characters you'll adore' Heat. Not to be missed by readers of Jojo Moyes and Veronica Henry. Dexter Yates loves his fun, care-free London life; he has money, looks and girlfriends galore. But everything changes overnight when his sister dies, leaving him in charge of her eight-month-old daughter Delphi. How is he ever going to cope? Comic-strip artist Molly Hayes lives in the beautiful Cotswold village of Briarwood. When it comes to relationships, she has a history of choosing all the wrong men. Leaving the city behind, Dex moves to Briarwood - a much better place to work on his parenting skills - and he and Molly become neighbours. There's an undeniable connection between them. But if Dexter's going to adapt, he first has a lot to learn about Molly, about other people's secrets...and about himself.

Headline

Sword and Scimitar

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

Bestselling author Simon Scarrow brings the Great Siege of Malta to vivid and unforgettable life in this gripping standalone novel.1565, Malta: a vital outpost between the divided nations of Europe and the relentlessly expanding Ottoman Empire. Faced with ferocious attack by a vast Turkish fleet, the knights of the Order of St John fear annihilation. Amongst those called to assist is disgraced veteran Sir Thomas Barrett. Loyalty and instinct compel him to put the Order above all other concerns, yet his allegiance is divided. At Queen Elizabeth's command, he must search for a hidden scroll, guarded by the knights, that threatens her reign. As Sir Thomas confronts the past that cost him his honour and a secret that has long lain buried, a vast enemy army arrives to lay siege to the island...

Headline Review

All For You

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Sheila O'Flanagan's No. 1 bestseller ALL FOR YOU is a wonderfully engaging read not to be missed by fans of Veronica Henry and Fern Britton.Winner of the Irish Popular Fiction Book of the Year AwardAs TV's favourite weather forecaster, Lainey is good at making predictions. But what she doesn't foresee is that her own life is about to hit a stormy patch. With a string of failed relationships behind her, surely history isn't about to repeat itself with her beloved Ken? To add fuel to the fire, her career-woman mother is returning to Dublin. Deanna has never approved of Lainey's decisions about men, and her mother's views are the last thing Lainey wants to hear now!Yet is there more to her mother than she knows? Uncovering some long-concealed family secrets, Lainey begins to reassess her life. Is the happy-ever-after she's always dreamed of really what she wants after all?

Headline Review

A Walk In The Park

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
Tinder Press

The Snow Child

Eowyn Ivey
Authors:
Eowyn Ivey
Headline Review

Stand By Me

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

To The Moon And Back

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell

No. 1 bestselling author Jill Mansell writes with sensitivity and optimism about love, loss and new beginnings in TO THE MOON AND BACK. Not to be missed by readers of Jojo Moyes and Veronica Henry. When Ellie Kendall tragically loses her husband she feels her life is over. But eventually she's ready for a new start - at work, that is. She doesn't need a new man when she has a certain secret visitor to keep her company... Moving to North London, Ellie meets neighbour Roo who has a secret of her own. Can the girls sort out their lives? Guilt is a powerful emotion, but a lot can happen in a year in Primrose Hill...

Headline Review

Follow Me

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline

The Gladiator (Eagles of the Empire 9)

Simon Scarrow
Authors:
Simon Scarrow

The action-packed new novel featuring Roman army officers Macro and Cato from Sunday Times bestselling author Simon ScarrowWhile centurions Macro and Cato are returning to Rome from a harrowing campaign against the Parthians, their transport ship is almost capsized by a tidal wave. They barely make it to the port of Matala in Crete where they are stunned to find a devastated town. An earthquake has struck the island, destroying its cities and killing thousands. In the chaotic aftermath, large bands of the island's slaves begin to revolt and local bandits, taking advantage of the slave rebellion, urge the Cretans to overthrow the Roman administration. With many of the island's troops either killed or wounded during the earthquake, the governor of the province calls on Macro and Cato for help. Can they move swiftly enough to counter the rebellion before it sweeps the Romans from the island?(P)2012 Headline Digital

Headline Review

A Season To Remember: A Christmas Treat

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Sheila O'Flanagan's deliciously engaging A SEASON TO REMEMBER is essential Christmas reading for fans of Marian Keyes, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans. Reviewers love Sheila's novels: 'A romantic and charming read' CandisIt's Christmas - when everyone is meant to be merry. But what if you've just had your heart broken? Or discovered that the man you're married to has lied to you? What if a secret from your past has come back to haunt you?As Claire and Neil Archer open the doors to their luxurious Sugar Loaf Lodge for the festive season, it's with worries of their own. But can they, along with their troubled guests, find the magic of Christmas - and a happy ending - within the walls of this beautiful hotel? Maybe this really is the happiest time of the year!