Emylia Hall - The Book of Summers - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755390861
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2012
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755396146
    • Publication date:24 May 2012

The Book of Summers

The Richard and Judy Bestseller

By Emylia Hall

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The perfect summer read from a glorious new voice in commercial literary fiction

Beth Lowe has been sent a parcel.

Inside is a letter informing her that her long-estranged mother has died, and a scrapbook Beth has never seen before. Entitled The Book of Summers, it's stuffed with photographs and mementos complied by her mother to record the seven glorious childhood summers Beth spent in rural Hungary.
It was a time when she trod the tightrope between separated parents and two very different countries; her bewitching but imperfect Hungarian mother and her gentle, reticent English father; the dazzling house of a Hungarian artist and an empty-feeling cottage in deepest Devon. And it was a time that came to the most brutal of ends the year Beth turned sixteen.

Since then, Beth hasn't allowed herself to think about those years of her childhood. But the arrival of The Book of Summers brings the past tumbling back into the present; as vivid, painful and vital as ever.

Biographical Notes

Emylia was born in 1978 and grew up in the Devon countryside, the daughter of an English artist and a Hungarian quilt-maker. After studying English & Related Literature at the universities of York and Lausanne, she spent five years working in a London ad agency, before moving to the French Alps. It was there that she began to write. Emylia now lives in Bristol with her husband, the comic-book writer and children's author, Robin Etherington, and young son. She is the author of The Book of Summers, which was a Richard & Judy Summer Book club pick in 2012, A Heart Bent Out of Shape and The Sea Between Us.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755390854
  • Publication date: 24 May 2012
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Headline Review
'A charming debut novel' — Woman's Own
'A vivid coming-of-age story' — Woman & Home
'A compelling coming-of-age story with a superb twist' — Easy Living
'Emylia Hall creates an enchanting and vivid picture of Beth's summers in rural Hungary... It's an addictive read and an amazing debut for Emylia Hall' — www.cosmopolitan.co.uk
'Fab debut about a woman reliving the summers she spent in rural Hungary' — Heat
'Heartfelt and evocative... all we need now is for summer to finally arrive' — Grazia
'Fantastically evocative and sun-drenched with a twist, it's guaranteed a place on our summer holiday reading list' — www.stylist.co.uk
'Enchantingly evocative' — Marie Claire
Headline Review

Come Back to Me (Seal Island 3)

Daniela Sacerdoti
Authors:
Daniela Sacerdoti

What if you finally find the great love of your life... just as they're leaving for ever? From the bestselling author of WATCH OVER ME, Daniela Sacerdoti's latest novel is a sweeping, epic, romantic story set on the beautiful island of Seal. If you love the novels of Rosanna Ley and Tracy Rees, you will adore Daniela Sacerdoti.** Over 1 million copies sold of Daniela Sacerdoti's novels **Two different affairs begin. How will they both end?

Headline Review

Tell Me Your Secret

Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson
Headline Review

Private Lies

Muna Shehadi
Authors:
Muna Shehadi
Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall

The perfect beach read for summer 2018 . . . set in idyllic Italy, for fans of Harriet Evans and Ruth Hogan.When Kit loses her mother in tragic circumstances, she feels drawn to finally connect with the father she has never met. That search brings her to the Thousand Lights Hotel, the perfect holiday escape perched upon a cliff on the island of Elba. Within this idyllic setting a devastating truth is brought to light: shaking the foundations upon which the hotel is built, and shattering the lives of the people within it.A heartbreaking story of loss, betrayal, and redemption, told with all the warmth and beauty of an Italian summer.

Headline Review

The Sea Between Us

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Headline Review

A Heart Bent Out of Shape

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Headline Review

Wicked Business (Wicked Series, Book 2)

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich

Reasons to read Janet Evanovich's bestselling novels: 'Hilarious' (Mail on Sunday); 'The funniest, sassiest crime writer going' (Good Book Guide); 'A laugh-out-loud page turner' (Heat)True love is hard to find when the secret has been taken to the tomb.Lizzy Tucker's once normal life as a pastry chef is over as she battles sinister forces and an inconvenient attraction to her unnaturally talented, but off-limits partner, Diesel.There's been a gruesome murder of a lovelorn academic, and the clues to finding the killer point straight to one of Seven Stones Lizzy and Diesel have been searching for. Problem is Diesel's black sheep cousin, Wulf, also wants the stone. Or maybe it's Lizzy that he wants. Either way Lizzy and Diesel are in his crosshairs.Treasures will be sought, and the power of lust will be unmistakable as Lizzy and Diesel find themselves in an ancient game of twisted riddles and high-stakes hide-and-seek.

Headline Review

Glitz

Louise Bagshawe
Authors:
Louise Bagshawe

Chloe Benjamin

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

Christina Schwarz

Christina Schwarz's novels include the Oprah Book Club selection Drowning Ruth, which was an international bestseller. Born and raised in rural Wisconsin, USA, she lives in southern California.

Christopher Golden

CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN is the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of such novels as Wildwood Road, The Boys Are Back in Town, The Ferryman, and Of Saints and Shadows. He has collaborated on books, comics, videogames and scripts with other writers, including Mike Mignola, Amber Benson, and Charlaine Harris. He has also written novels for teens and young adults, and, as an editor, he has worked on several short story anthologies. Golden was born and raised in Massachusetts, where he still lives with his family. www.christophergolden.com

Crime Files

Bringing you killers and their captors - from the Crime Team at Hodder, Headline and Quercus. Dedicated to quality Crime & Thriller writing, from the publishers of Martina Cole, John Grisham, Peter May & many more. Crime Files is a dedicated community, created by Hodder, Headline and Quercus, where all you crime and thriller writing fans can get together and share your passion for thrillingly good books. Plus you can get in on the case and have access to all the latest news, reviews, interviews and highly confidential information. What are you waiting for? Join the club. It would be criminal not to.www.crimefilesinternational.comwww.facebook.com/CrimeFiles

Daisy Goodwin

Daisy Goodwin's work as a TV producer and presenter includes Reader I Married Him, Bookworm and The Nation's Favourite Poems; she is also the creator of Grand Designs and wrote the script for ITVs Victoria . She has edited numerous poetry anthologies, including the bestselling 101 Poems That Could Save Your Life, and is the author of Silver River, a memoir as well as two novels, My Last Duchess and The Fortune Hunter. Goodwin reviews regularly for the Times and Sunday Times and writes a bibliotherapy column for the Daily Mail.

David Arnold

David Arnold lives in Lexington, Kentucky, with his (lovely) wife and (boisterous) son. Previous jobs include freelance musician/producer, stay-at-home dad, and preschool teacher. He is a fierce believer in the power of kindness and community. And chips. He believes fiercely in chips. Mosquitoland is his first novel.You can learn more at davidarnoldbooks.com and follow him on Twitter @roofbeam.

David Churchill

David Churchill is the pseudonym of an award-winning journalist, who has conducted several hundred in-depth interviews with senior politicians, billionaire entrepreneurs, Olympic athletes, movie stars, supermodels and rock legends. He has investigated financial scandals on Wall Street, studio intrigues in Hollywood and corrupt sports stars in Britain, and lived in Moscow, Washington DC and Havana. He has edited four magazines, published seventeen books and been translated into some twenty languages. The Leopards of Normandy trilogy reflects his lifelong passion for history and his fascination for the extraordinary men and women of the past who shaped the world we live in today.

David Duchovny

David Duchovny is a television, stage and screen actor, as well as a screenwriter and director.

David Gibbins

David Gibbins is the author of twelve novels that have sold over three million copies in thirty languages. He has been on both the New York Times and the Sunday Times top ten bestseller lists, and he has been a Newsweek number one bestseller in Poland. As well as nine novels in his Jack Howard series of archaeological thrillers, he has written two novels set in the world of ancient Rome. David has a PhD in archaeology from Cambridge University, is a passionate diver and derives much of the inspiration for his novels from the many expeditions he has led around the world to investigate ancient shipwrecks and other archaeological sites. His awards have included a Fellowship and Medallion from the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust. For his latest discoveries and more about David and his novels, visit www.davidgibbins.com and www.facebook.com/DavidGibbinsAuthor.

Deborah Harkness

Deborah Harkness is a historian of science and a professor of history at the University of Southern California. She spent several years in Oxford doing research (and really did once find a missing manuscript in the Bodleian Library!). She has written THE JEWEL HOUSE: ELIZABETHAN LONDON AND THE SCIENTIFIC REVOLUTION as well as the three novels in the internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES, SHADOW OF NIGHT and THE BOOK OF LIFE.

Emma Lowe

Emma has narrated audio books in the UK and for RTE Radio by writers including Jennifer Johnston, Eilis Ni Dhuibhne, Marian Keyes, Deirdre Purcell and Maeve Binchy. Film/TV: Brooklyn, Foyles War (ITV), Fair City and The Clinic (RTE). Theatre: Hamlet (Smock Alley), Tiny Plays (Fishamble), Comedy of Errors (Rosemary Branch).

Emylia Hall

Emylia Hall was born in 1978 and grew up in the Devon countryside. She is the author of The Book of Summers, which was a Richard & Judy Summer Book Club pick in 2012, A Heart Bent Out of Shape, The Sea Between Us and The Thousand Lights Hotel. She lives in Bristol with her husband, the writer Robin Etherington, and their young son.