Emylia Hall - The Book of Summers - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755390861
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2012
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755396146
    • Publication date:24 May 2012

The Book of Summers

The Richard and Judy Bestseller

By Emylia Hall

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The perfect summer read from a glorious new voice in commercial literary fiction

Beth Lowe has been sent a parcel.

Inside is a letter informing her that her long-estranged mother has died, and a scrapbook Beth has never seen before. Entitled The Book of Summers, it's stuffed with photographs and mementos complied by her mother to record the seven glorious childhood summers Beth spent in rural Hungary.
It was a time when she trod the tightrope between separated parents and two very different countries; her bewitching but imperfect Hungarian mother and her gentle, reticent English father; the dazzling house of a Hungarian artist and an empty-feeling cottage in deepest Devon. And it was a time that came to the most brutal of ends the year Beth turned sixteen.

Since then, Beth hasn't allowed herself to think about those years of her childhood. But the arrival of The Book of Summers brings the past tumbling back into the present; as vivid, painful and vital as ever.

Biographical Notes

Emylia was born in 1978 and grew up in the Devon countryside, the daughter of an English artist and a Hungarian quilt-maker. After studying English & Related Literature at the universities of York and Lausanne, she spent five years working in a London ad agency, before moving to the French Alps. It was there that she began to write. Emylia now lives in Bristol with her husband, the comic-book writer and children's author, Robin Etherington, and young son. She is the author of The Book of Summers, which was a Richard & Judy Summer Book club pick in 2012, A Heart Bent Out of Shape and The Sea Between Us.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780755390854
  • Publication date: 24 May 2012
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Headline Review
'A charming debut novel' — Woman's Own
'A vivid coming-of-age story' — Woman & Home
'A compelling coming-of-age story with a superb twist' — Easy Living
'Emylia Hall creates an enchanting and vivid picture of Beth's summers in rural Hungary... It's an addictive read and an amazing debut for Emylia Hall' — www.cosmopolitan.co.uk
'Fab debut about a woman reliving the summers she spent in rural Hungary' — Heat
'Heartfelt and evocative... all we need now is for summer to finally arrive' — Grazia
'Fantastically evocative and sun-drenched with a twist, it's guaranteed a place on our summer holiday reading list' — www.stylist.co.uk
'Enchantingly evocative' — Marie Claire
Wildfire

Untitled

Headline Review

Thirty

Christina Bradley
Authors:
Christina Bradley
Headline Review

Tell Me Your Secret

Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson

Headline Eternal

The Lemon Sisters: Wildstone Book 3

Jill Shalvis
Authors:
Jill Shalvis

The Lemon Sisters is the third Wildstone novel from New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis, a story of friendship, love and family, where two completely opposite sisters - who are still nursing wounds from the past - realize they need each other more than they think. For fans of Susan Mallery, Kristan Higgins and Robyn Carr.When Brooke's older sister, Mindy, shows up at her door with her three kids in tow, she barely recognizes her sibling who looks like she's on the verge of a total breakdown. While adventurous, wanderlust Brooke was always the problem child, eager to slip free of Wildstone and its small-town constraints, Mindy was the golden child, who never had a hair out of place or a GPA below 4.0. The Mindy that arrives at Brooke's apartment however, is a far cry from the ever-perfect doctor's wife.Brooke's further stunned when Mindy asks to trade places with her for a few days so she can pick up her pieces and put herself back together. What Mindy doesn't realize is that Brooke is just as broken. Her sister needs her though, so Brooke takes the kids and returns to Wildstone.But how does one go home after seven years away and what feels like a lifetime of secrets? It doesn't take long for Brooke to come face-to-face with her past, in the form of one tall, dark, sexy mistake. But Garrett's no longer interested, or so he says. Only his words don't match his actions, leaving Brooke feeling things she long ago shoved deep.The sisters begin to wonder if the childhood taunts were true, are they lemons in life? In love? True or not, they know one thing - you can't run far enough to outpace your demons. And when long-dead secrets surface, they'll have to overcome their differences and learn that sometimes the one person who can help you the most is the one you never thought to ask.Check out Jill's warm, funny Heartbreaker Bay novels, visit gorgeous Cedar Ridge, spellbinding Lucky Harbor or experience some Animal Magnetism in Sunshine, Idaho in Jill's other unforgettable series.

Headline Review

The Oceans Between Us: A riveting, heartwrenching and uplifting story inspired by extraordinary real events

Gill Thompson
Authors:
Gill Thompson

Inspired by heartrending real events, a mother fights to find her son and a child battles for survival in this riveting debut novel.For readers of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, and Remember Me by Lesley Pearse.A woman is found wandering injured in London after an air raid.She remembers nothing of who she is. Only that she has lost something very precious.As the little boy waits in the orphanage, he hopes his mother will return.But then he finds himself on board a ship bound for Australia, the promise of a golden life ahead, and wonders: how will she find him in a land across the oceans?In Perth, a lonely wife takes in the orphaned child. But then she discovers the secret of his past. Should she keep quiet? Or tell the truth and risk losing the boy who has become her life? This magnificent, moving novel, set in London and Australia, is testament to the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

Tinder Press

Goulash

Brian Kimberling
Authors:
Brian Kimberling

From Brian Kimberling, the acclaimed author of SNAPPER, comes a pitch perfect story of falling in and out of love in Prague.Eager to escape stifling small-town Indiana, Elliott moves to Prague, where he gets a job teaching English. It's 1998, and the Czech Republic is moving with increasing rapidity out of the shadow of communism and into the wilds of twenty-first-century capitalism. Elliott meets his students in a variety of pubs and conducts his lessons over pints of local Radegast beer. He gets his shoes stolen by an experimental artist who engages Elliott in a number of eccentric schemes. And he meets Amanda, an English teacher from the UK, with whom he falls in love. Together, they try to make a place for themselves as strangers in this strange land. They explore the dark history and surprising wonders of their adopted city, touring the twisting ancient streets and encountering expats, movie stars, tobacco executives, a former Soviet informant, and the president of Poland. But the forces that are reshaping the city are also at work on them, and eventually it becomes evident that their idyll must end - that change is the only reality one can't outrun.

Tinder Press

The Six Loves of Billy Binns

Richard Lumsden
Authors:
Richard Lumsden

THE SIX LOVES OF BILLY BINNS is a deeply moving and honest debut set in London against the backdrop of the changing 20th century. it is reading group fiction perfect for those who loved the quirky pathos of Gail Honeyman's ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE and the humour of Rachel Joyce's THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY I remember my dreams but not where they start. Further back, I recall some of yesterday and the day before that. Then everything goes into a haze. Fragments of memories come looming back like red London buses in a pea-souper.Time plays funny tricks these days. I wait for the next memory. I wait and I wait.At 117 years old, Billy Binns is the oldest man in Europe and he knows his time is almost up. But Billy has a final wish: he wants to remember what love feels like one last time. As he looks back at the relationships that have shaped his flawed life - and the events that shaped the century - he recalls a life full of hope, mistakes, heartbreak and, above all, love.

Wildfire

The Perfect Girlfriend

Karen Hamilton
Authors:
Karen Hamilton
Headline Review

A Winter Beneath the Stars

Jo Thomas
Authors:
Jo Thomas
Wildfire

And So It Begins

Rachel Abbott
Authors:
Rachel Abbott
Headline Review

The Moment We Meet

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Who you meet can change your life for ever...A wonderful collection of short stories from Sheila O'Flanagan, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE MISSING WIFE and THE HIDEAWAY. The Moment We Meet was previously published as Destinations. Featuring an exclusive Q&A with Sheila O'Flanagan...Perfect for readers of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes. A young PR girl has the night of her life at a glitzy work event and finds more than just her face splashed across the newspapers the next day. Two women listen in on each other's phone calls and learn more about themselves than they ever expected. And a wife faces up to the truth that her husband isn't a man she feels safe with.Everyone aboard this train is on a journey - and they all have a story to tell...Praise for Sheila O'Flanagan's bestselling novels:'Wonderfully escapist...captivating' Daily Express'A beautiful backdrop to the story of a woman finding acceptance and new beginnings' Woman & Home'A hugely enjoyable romance, written with pace and heart' Sunday Mirror'Page-turner' Bella'I read the book in one sitting as it was so enjoyable, full of romance and kept you riveted until the last page' Woman's Way

Headline Review

The Ice Cream Girls

Dorothy Koomson
Authors:
Dorothy Koomson
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline

Hunted

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline Review

A Question of Trust

Penny Vincenzi
Authors:
Penny Vincenzi

A QUESTION OF TRUST is vintage Penny Vincenzi: rich with characters, life-changing decisions, love, desire and conflict. 'There are few things better in life than ... the latest novel by Penny Vincenzi' Daily Express1950s London. Tom Knelston is charismatic, working class and driven by ambition, ideals and passion. He is a man to watch. His wife Alice shares his vision. It seems they are the perfect match.Then out of the blue, Tom meets beautiful and unhappily married Diana Southcott, a fashion model. An exciting but dangerous affair is inevitable and potentially damaging to their careers. And when a child becomes ill, Tom is forced to make decisions about his principles, his reputation, his marriage, and most of all, his love for his child.

Headline Review

The Thousand Lights Hotel

Emylia Hall
Authors:
Emylia Hall
Headline

Betrayal

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole
Headline Eternal

Nobody But You: Cedar Ridge 3

Jill Shalvis
Authors:
Jill Shalvis