Colette Mcbeth - The Life I Left Behind - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472205988
    • Publication date:01 Jan 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472206008
    • Publication date:01 Jan 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472207159
    • Publication date:22 Jan 2015

The Life I Left Behind

By Colette Mcbeth

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The Life I Left Behind is a rare thing; a well-paced, meticulously-researched thriller which is not just gripping but compassionate, too. Paula Hawkins, THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.You know those books you feel jealous of everyone reading? This is one of those those. Read it. Savour it. Talk about it. Share it.

You know those books you feel jealous of everyone reading? This is one of those those. Read it. Savour it. Talk about it. Share it.

'The plot is taut and compelling, the writing excellent, but it's the exciting narrative structure that sets it apart - a three-strand storyline, one told by a woman who has already been murdered' (Marian Keyes Guardian)


Everyone tells her she's a survivor. No-one knows she's dead inside.

Six years ago Melody was left for dead. When the body of another woman, Eve, is discovered, Melody knows her attacker is still out there. The only way she can survive is to follow the clues of the life that Eve left behind.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472205995
  • Publication date: 13 Aug 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Lots of women published great, grippy thrillers this year - Colette McBeth's The Life I Left Behind (Headline Review) is one of the best. The plot is taut and compelling, the writing excellent, but it's the exciting narrative structure that sets it apart - a three-strand storyline, one told by a woman who has already been murdered. — Marian Keyes, Guardian
One of the best books of the year — Sun
The Life I Left Behind is a rare thing; a well-paced, meticulously-researched thriller which is not just gripping but compassionate, too — Paula Hawkins, author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN
Absolutely amazing. Grip-Lit of the highest order. Brilliant. — Marian Keyes
A creepy and clever thriller — Fabulous
Dark and clever murder tale with a twist — Heat
McBeth pulls it off with aplomb — Glamour
This intriguing and twisty thriller kept me reading into the night — Woman & Home
McBeth's is a much better realisation of the same theme [as The Lovely Bones] and, psychologically, by far the more interesting accomplishment — Independent
If a more affecting psychological thriller is published this year, it will be a very good book indeed — Irish Times
Completely brilliant — Jill Mansell
Fantastic — Lucy Diamond

Praise for Colette McBeth:

'Colette McBeth delivers twists and shocks with superb timing. An impressive debut'

— The Times
'An interesting and original page-turner' — Literary Review
'A cleverly crafted tale... If you're a fan of Gone Girl, you'll love this' — Sunday Mirror
'An excellent storyteller... Precious Thing is more than deserving of a place on the modern thriller bookshelf' — Sunday Express
'A great debut, menacing, gripping and full of twists and surprises... This is one of those incredibly compelling stories that simply drags you along, whether you like it or not. Highly recommended' — Lovereading.co.uk
'Precious Thing is one of my top five books of 2013. Truthfully, I would go on for hours about what I loved about this psychologically disturbing, thoroughly readable, cleverly written book' — Fabulousmag.co.uk
Headline

The Foster Child

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

Playing With Death

Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis
Authors:
Simon Scarrow, Lee Francis

PLAYING WITH DEATH is a gripping, edge-of-your seat contemporary thriller that marks a new direction for legendary historical novelist Simon Scarrow, writing with exciting new talent Lee Francis. Not to be missed by readers of David Baldacci and Michael Crichton. SOMETIMES, THE MONSTER WINS...And FBI Special Agent Rose Blake knows it more than most. Haunted by a failed undercover mission, she is finding it hard to shake the memory of her close encounter with a ruthless serial killer - one who is still free, and could come for her at any time.The call to investigate a suspected arson attack is a welcome distraction. It's not the kind of case usually assigned to the FBI, but nothing about this crime is usual. As Rose digs deeper, she finds herself confronting the kind of imagination her son might see in the fantasy worlds of his video games.And when your opponent is a killer, nothing feels like a game...

Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette Mcbeth
Authors:
Colette Mcbeth
Headline

The Funhouse

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Seize the Night (Moonlight Bay Trilogy, Book 2)

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Chase

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Every Dark Corner (The Cincinnati Series Book 3)

Karen Rose
Authors:
Karen Rose
Headline

The Freedom Broker

K. J. Howe
Authors:
K. J. Howe

The first in a brand new series featuring Thea Paris, a kidnap and ransom specialist. Lisa Gardner says THE FREEDOM BROKER is 'clever and gritty' and Peter James says it's 'spellbinding'. If you like I AM PILGRIM, David Baldacci's King and Maxwell series or Ludlum's Bourne series, you will love this. Thea Paris is one of only twenty-five elite professionals in the world with the ability to bring hostages home safely. International negotiation, undercover operations and extractions are a part of life. Their only objective: release.For Thea, her family's wealth meant kidnap was a constant threat and their worst fears were realised when her brother was kidnapped. Although he was returned, she made it her life's mission to stop others suffering the trauma they did.Now Thea's past is about to come back with a vengeance as her billionaire father is taken.With her professionalism challenged to its limits, all Thea knows is that she has to get her father back alive, at any cost.

Headline

Right Behind You

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner

Lisa Gardner's next thriller following her runaway New York Times bestseller Find Her takes her wildly popular brand of suspense to new heights.Thirteen-year-old Sharlah Nash knows that the first time her brother killed eight years ago, he did it to save their lives.Now retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his wife Rainie Conner have offered Sharlah a new life of safety. She desperately wants to believe this is her shot at happily ever after. Then two people are murdered in their local convenience store and Sharlah's brother is identified as the killer. Telly Ray Nash is on the hunt for Sharlah and as the death count rises it becomes clear that nothing and no-one, including Pierce and Rainie, will stop him getting to her.Now, Sharlah has one chance to take control. She can run for her life... or turn and face the danger right behind her.

Headline

Defender

G X Todd
Authors:
G X Todd
Headline Review

Where Dead Men Meet

Mark Mills
Authors:
Mark Mills
Headline

Sole Survivor

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Before I Let You In

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst
Headline

Pendulum

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy
Headline

Death Do Us Part (DI Damen Brook 6)

Steven Dunne
Authors:
Steven Dunne

D.I. Damen Brook returns in DEATH DO US PART, the sixth book in Steven Dunne's gripping crime series. Proclaimed by Stephen Booth as 'dark and twisted...with and exceptional depth of humanity', it will appeal to fans of Peter Robinson and Mark Billingham.Even death cannot part these couples . . .DI Damen Brook is on a rare period of leave and determined to make the most of it by re-connecting with his daughter Terri. But with her heavy drinking proving a challenge, Brook takes the opportunity to visit a local murder scene when his help is requested.An elderly couple have each been executed with a single shot to the heart and the method echoes that of a middle-aged gay couple killed the previous month.With the same killer suspected and the officer currently in charge nearing retirement, Brook knows that he has little choice but to cut short his leave when forced by his superiors to take the lead on the case.Brook believes that he can catch this ruthless killer, but already distracted by Terri's problems, is he about to make a fatal mistake and lead the killer right to his own door?

Headline

Boar Island

Nevada Barr
Authors:
Nevada Barr

The nineteenth Anna Pigeon mystery is a gripping novel that transports you to the wild and dangerous landscape of Acadia National Park and is sure to appeal to fans of Sue Grafton and Janet Evanovich.Anna Pigeon, in her career as a National Park Service Ranger, has had to deal with all manner of crimes and misdemeanours, but cyber-bulling and stalking is a new one. The target is Elizabeth, the adopted teenage daughter of her friend Heath Jarrod. Elizabeth is driven to despair by the disgusting rumours spreading online and bullying texts. Until, one day, Heath finds her daughter Elizabeth in the midst of an unsuccessful suicide attempt. And then she calls in the cavalry - her aunt Gwen and her friend Anna Pigeon.The three adults decide the best thing to do is to remove Elizabeth from the situation and, since Anna is about to start her new post as Acting Chief Ranger at Acadia National Park in Maine, they join her and stay at a house on the cliff of a small island near the park, Boar Island. But the move doesn't solve the problem. The stalker has followed them. And Heath (a paraplegic) and Elizabeth aren't alone on the otherwise deserted island. At the same time, Anna has barely arrived at Acadia before a brutal murder is committed by a killer uncomfortably close to her.

Headline

Find Her

Lisa Gardner
Authors:
Lisa Gardner
Headline

The Murderer's Daughter

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline

Dominus

Tom Fox
Authors:
Tom Fox
Headline

The Outsider (James Bishop 4)

Jason Dean
Authors:
Jason Dean