Colette Mcbeth - The Life I Left Behind - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472206008
    • Publication date:01 Jan 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472207159
    • Publication date:22 Jan 2015

The Life I Left Behind

By Colette Mcbeth

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The Life I Left Behind is a rare thing; a well-paced, meticulously-researched thriller which is not just gripping but compassionate, too. Paula Hawkins, THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.You know those books you feel jealous of everyone reading? This is one of those those. Read it. Savour it. Talk about it. Share it.

You know those books you feel jealous of everyone reading? This is one of those those. Read it. Savour it. Talk about it. Share it.

'The plot is taut and compelling, the writing excellent, but it's the exciting narrative structure that sets it apart - a three-strand storyline, one told by a woman who has already been murdered' (Marian Keyes Guardian)


Everyone tells her she's a survivor. No-one knows she's dead inside.

Six years ago Melody was left for dead. When the body of another woman, Eve, is discovered, Melody knows her attacker is still out there. The only way she can survive is to follow the clues of the life that Eve left behind.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472205995
  • Publication date: 13 Aug 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Headline Review
Lots of women published great, grippy thrillers this year - Colette McBeth's The Life I Left Behind (Headline Review) is one of the best. The plot is taut and compelling, the writing excellent, but it's the exciting narrative structure that sets it apart - a three-strand storyline, one told by a woman who has already been murdered. — Marian Keyes, Guardian
One of the best books of the year — Sun
The Life I Left Behind is a rare thing; a well-paced, meticulously-researched thriller which is not just gripping but compassionate, too — Paula Hawkins, author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN
Absolutely amazing. Grip-Lit of the highest order. Brilliant. — Marian Keyes
A creepy and clever thriller — Fabulous
Dark and clever murder tale with a twist — Heat
McBeth pulls it off with aplomb — Glamour
This intriguing and twisty thriller kept me reading into the night — Woman & Home
McBeth's is a much better realisation of the same theme [as The Lovely Bones] and, psychologically, by far the more interesting accomplishment — Independent
If a more affecting psychological thriller is published this year, it will be a very good book indeed — Irish Times
Completely brilliant — Jill Mansell
Fantastic — Lucy Diamond

Praise for Colette McBeth:

'Colette McBeth delivers twists and shocks with superb timing. An impressive debut'

— The Times
'An interesting and original page-turner' — Literary Review
'A cleverly crafted tale... If you're a fan of Gone Girl, you'll love this' — Sunday Mirror
'An excellent storyteller... Precious Thing is more than deserving of a place on the modern thriller bookshelf' — Sunday Express
'A great debut, menacing, gripping and full of twists and surprises... This is one of those incredibly compelling stories that simply drags you along, whether you like it or not. Highly recommended' — Lovereading.co.uk
'Precious Thing is one of my top five books of 2013. Truthfully, I would go on for hours about what I loved about this psychologically disturbing, thoroughly readable, cleverly written book' — Fabulousmag.co.uk
Headline

The Feed

Nick Clark Windo
Authors:
Nick Clark Windo

The Feed is a unique, thought-provoking and utterly addictive thriller that asks us what makes us human, and what happens when we switch off... Fans of The Girl With All the Gifts, Station Eleven and The Walking Dead will devour The Feed.The Feed is everywhere. It can be accessed by anyone, at any time. Every interaction, every emotion, every image can be shared through it.Tom and Kate use The Feed, but they have resisted addiction to it.And this will serve them well when The Feed collapses.Until their six-year-old daughter, Bea, goes missing.Because how do you find someone in a world devoid of technology?And what happens when you can no longer trust that your loved ones are really who they claim to be?

Headline

The Girl I Used To Be

Mary Torjussen
Authors:
Mary Torjussen

YOU DON'T REMEMBER. THEY WON'T LET YOU FORGET.'Torjussen is one to watch' Gillian McAllister on GONE WITHOUT A TRACEThe second compelling psychological thriller from Mary Torjussen. Twisty, thought-provoking and completely gripping, this is perfect for fans of I SEE YOU and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.How can you hide your mistakes when you don't know what they are?Gemma, a stressed mother and businesswoman, wishes her life was just a little simpler.A networking event in London looks the ideal chance to get away. And a new client seems like perfect company when he joins Gemma for an innocent dinner.But the next day Gemma is plunged into a twisted nightmare she can't control. Secrets both past and present force her to confront the truth of the girl she used to be . . .

Wildfire

Lying To You

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds
Wildfire

The Broken Girls

Simone St. James
Authors:
Simone St. James

Headline

Skyjack

K. J. Howe
Authors:
K. J. Howe
Headline Eternal

Pretend You're Safe

Alexandra Ivy
Authors:
Alexandra Ivy

Pretend You're Safe is the new gripping, chilling thriller from New York Times bestselling author, Alexandra Ivy. Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.He sees you... He knows you... And he'll never let you go...Jaci Patterson was sixteen when she found the first golden locket on her porch. Inside were a few strands of hair wrapped around a scrap of bloodstained ribbon. Though the 'gifts' kept arriving, no one believed her hunch that a serial killer was at work. Now Jaci has finally returned home - only for bodies of strangled victims to start appearing years after they disappeared. Her nightmare is beginning all over again. And this time it won't end until the murderer makes Jaci his...for ever.Look for the next novel of page-turning suspense from Alexandra Ivy, What Are You Afraid Of?

Headline

One Perfect Lie

Lisa Scottoline
Authors:
Lisa Scottoline
Headline

Twilight Eyes

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Slim MacKenzie knows what they are, what they do - and how they hide in human form. He is blessed - or cursed - by twilight eyes. He can see the diabolical others through their innocent human disguise. He's already killed one of them. And he'll kill again...But even the grave won't hold them...

Headline

Freefall

Adam Hamdy
Authors:
Adam Hamdy
Headline

The Foster Child

Jenny Blackhurst
Authors:
Jenny Blackhurst

The brilliant new novel from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 eBook bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU, which Clare Mackintosh called 'utterly gripping' and BEFORE I LET YOU IN. If you love Louise Jensen's THE GIFT or SK Tremayne's THE ICE TWINS you will love this.When child psychologist Imogen Reid takes on the case of 11-year-old Ellie Atkinson, she refuses to listen to warnings that the girl is dangerous.Ellie was the only survivor of a fire that killed her family. Imogen is convinced she's just a sad and angry child struggling to cope with her loss.But Ellie's foster parents and teachers are starting to fear her. When she gets upset, bad things seem to happen. And as Imogen gets closer to Ellie, she may be putting herself in danger...

Headline Review

The Pool House: Someone lied. Someone died.

Tasmina Perry
Authors:
Tasmina Perry

This dark, twisting novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author Tasmina Perry will keep you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for everyone who's been gripped by the TV series RIVIERA or THE AFFAIR, or J. P. Delaney's THE GIRL BEFORE. 'Gripping... Great pace and brilliantly written. I loved it' Daily Mail on The House on Sunset LakeA Summer To Die ForTo Jem Chapman, it's the chance of a lifetime. An invitation to join a group in an exclusive Hamptons house-share, who could say no? But when she discovers what happened last summer, Jem can't help but feel a chill.A young woman was found drowned in the house's pool. The housemates said Alice was troubled. She'd been drinking. She couldn't swim...A Secret To Kill ForAs Jem gets to know her glamorous new housemates, she realises each has something to hide. What really happened last summer? And who would go to any lengths to keep a person quiet?

Wildfire

Yesterday

Felicia Yap
Authors:
Felicia Yap

A brilliant high-concept debut thriller - just how do you solve a murder when you only remember yesterday?'The thriller of the summer' - Observer'A 2017 literary event' - Newsweek'The intrigue of Gone Girl and the drama of Before I Go to Sleep' - iNews'So hotly tipped it should come with scorch marks... Quite literally mind-bending' - RedThere are two types of people in the world: those who can only remember yesterday, and those who can also recall the day before.You have just one lifeline to the past: your diary. Each night, you write down the things that matter. Each morning, your diary tells you where you were, who you loved and what you did.Today, the police are at your door. They say that the body of your husband's mistress has been found in the River Cam. They think your husband killed her two days ago.Can you trust the police? Can you trust your husband? Can you trust yourself?

Wildfire

Close To Me

Amanda Reynolds
Authors:
Amanda Reynolds
Wildfire

An Act of Silence

Colette McBeth
Authors:
Colette McBeth
Tinder Press

See What I Have Done

Sarah Schmidt
Authors:
Sarah Schmidt
Headline

My Sister

Michelle Adams
Authors:
Michelle Adams
Headline

Phantoms

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Review

The Missing Wife: The Unputdownable Bestseller

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Headline Review

Where Dead Men Meet

Mark Mills
Authors:
Mark Mills

A return to the period adventure thriller in WHERE DEAD MEN MEET re-establishes Mark Mills as:'A master storyteller' Val McDermid. For fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming or Robert HarrisParis, 1937. Luke Hamilton - a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy - finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity, or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding towards war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago.From the author of the bestselling THE SAVAGE GARDEN, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets and lies.

Headline

The House of Thunder

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

In a cavern called The House of Thunder, Susan Thorton watched in terror as her lover died a brutal death in a college hazing. And in the following four years, the four young men who participated in that grim fraternity rite also died violently. Or did they? Twelve years later Susan wakes in a hospital bed. Apparently involved in a fatal accident, she is suffering from amnesia. She doesn't remember who she is or why she is there. All she knows is that her convalescence is unfolding into a fearful nightmare - and that the faces that surround her, pretending loving care, are those of the four men involved in that murder years before. Have the dead come back to life? Or has Susan plunged into the abyss of madness? With the help of her neurosurgeon, Susan desperately clings to her sanity while fighting to uncover who or what could be stalking her...