Matthew Quick - Boy21 - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472212917
    • Publication date:19 Jun 2014

Boy21

By Matthew Quick

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

For fans of John Green and THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER. A book about friendship, basketball and finding your own way...

A moving tale of incredible friendship for fans of Jay Asher, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS and David Levithan.

It's never been easy for Finley, particularly at home. But two things keep him going: his place on the basketball team and his girlfriend, Erin - the light in even the darkest of his days.

Then Russ arrives. He answers only to Boy21, claims to be from outer space, and also has a past he wants to escape. He's one of the best high school basketball players in the country and threatens to steal Finley's starting position.

Against all the odds, Russ and Finley become friends. Russ could change everything for Finley, both for better and for worse. But sometimes the person you least expect can give you the courage to face what's gone before ...and work out where you're going next.

Biographical Notes

Matthew Quick (aka Q) is the New York Times bestselling author of several novels, including THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, which was made into an Oscar-winning film. His work has been translated into thirty languages and has received a PEN/Hemingway Award Honorable Mention. Q lives with his wife, novelist/pianist Alicia Bessette, on North Carolina's Outer Banks.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472212900
  • Publication date: 19 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Every Exquisite Thing

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick

From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, comes EVERY EXQUISITE THING, a quirky and deeply moving novel about a teen's journey through love, rebellion and belonging. For readers who love John Green and Rainbow Rowell.'Books like Quick's are necessary' New York TimesNanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper - the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic - the rebel within Nanette awakens. As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price.A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.

Headline

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick

A powerful and important book for fans of Mark Haddon, THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK and Jay Asher.How would you spend your birthday if you knew it would be your last? Eighteen-year-old Leonard Peacock knows exactly what he'll do. He'll say goodbye.Not to his mum - who he calls Linda because it annoys her - who's moved out and left him to fend for himself. Nor to his former best friend, whose torments have driven him to consider committing the unthinkable. But to his four friends: a Humphrey-Bogart-obsessed neighbour, a teenage violin virtuoso, a pastor's daughter and a teacher.Most of the time, Leonard believes he's weird and sad but these friends have made him think that maybe he's not. He wants to thank them, and say goodbye. In this riveting and heart-breaking book, acclaimed author Matthew Quick introduces Leonard Peacock, a hero as warm and endearing as he is troubled. And he shows how just a glimmer of hope can make the world of difference.

Headline

Sorta Like A Rockstar

Matthew Quick
Authors:
Matthew Quick

A.K. Shevchenko

A.K. Shevchenko is the author of BEQUEST and two bestselling cultural guides to Russia and Ukraine. She was awarded a residential fellowship by the Hosking Houses Trust in 2010 to write THE GAME.

Al Sarrantonio

Al Sarantonio is an expert editor in this field and he has edited collections of horror writing with top auithors of the genre including Stephen King.

Alex Bell

Alex Bell is an exceptional novelist. She lives in Hampshire.

Alex Dryden

Alex Dryden is a pseudonym. He worked for many years in intelligence specialising in Russian matters and is now a writer and journalist. When the Berlin Wall came down in 1989, Dryden watched the statues of Lenin fall across the former Soviet Union. Since then he has charted the false dawn of democracy in Russia as the country morphed into the world's most powerful secret state.

Allie Spencer

Allie Spencer is an author with many strings to her bow. Before becoming a full-time writer, Allie Spencer gained a B.A. in English Literature and an M.A. in Medieval Studies, then qualified as a barrister, practising in family and matrimonial law. Her debut novel, TUG OF LOVE won the 2009 RNA New Writers' Award.

Amelia Carr

Amelia Carr grew up in Somerset, where she lives today. She has written numerous short stories for magazines as well as a number of novels under another name. Her novels under the name Amelia Carr, including DANCE WITH WINGS and A SONG AT SUNSET, have been very warmly acclaimed.

Amy Molloy

Amy Molloy is 24 years old and, since graduating with a journalism degree in 2007, has worked for various magazines in London and Dublin. She is currently the features assistant at the Daily Mail's Weekend magazine.

Anne Stuart

Anne Stuart is a winner of Romance Writers of America's Lifetime Achievement Award. She's appeared on most bestseller lists, including the New York Times and USA Today. Read more about her on www.anne-stuart.com.

Arthur Conan Doyle

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was born in 1859 in Edinburgh, Scotland. He was a doctor by trade; optician more specifically. It is rumoured that during his off periods of work he would think about and write his various stories. He is well known for several science fiction works, but of course his most recognizable works are the Sherlock Holmes mysteries. He died in 1930.He tried desperately to "kill off" Holmes so that he could pursue other genres of writing as well, and not just be known for the Holmes mysteries. However, after much public outcry, Holmes returned in "The Empty House" and in many other stories following, up to the "Case Book of Sherlock Holmes" collection.

Bernardine Kennedy

Bernardine Kennedy was born in London but spent most of her childhood in Singapore and Nigeria before settling in Essex, where she still lives with her husband Ian. She also has a son, Stephen, and daughter, Kate. Her varied working life has included careers as an air hostess, a swimming instructor and a social worker. She has been a freelance writer for many years, specialising in popular travel features for magazines. Her previous novels, Everything is Not Enough, My Sisters' Keeper, Chain of Deception, Taken, Old Scores and Past Chances, are also available from Headline.

Billy Hopkins

Billy Hopkins (better known to his family and friends as Wilfred Hopkins) was born in Collyhurst in 1928 and attended schools in Manchester. Before going into higher education, he worked as a copy boy for the Manchester Guardian. He later studied at the Universities of London, Manchester and Leeds and was involved in school-teaching and teacher-training in Liverpool, Manchester, Salford and Glasgow. He also worked in African universities in Kenya, Zimbabwe and Malawi. Billy Hopkins, author, husband and father of six, died aged 83 in 2012.

Carolyn Turgeon

Carolyn Turgeon was born in Michigan and grew up in Illinois, Texas, Michigan and Pennsylvania. After graduating from Penn State, she earned a Master's in Comparative Literature from UCLA, and spent several years in New York working as a writer and editor. Godmother: The Secret Cinderella Story was her previous novel. She now lives in Pennsylvania, where she bellydances and plays the accordion. She loves old movies, burlesque shows, and drinking pink cocktails at the Algonquin Hotel.

Caspar Walsh

Caspar Walsh is a regular writer for BBC Radio 4, with broadcasts including the sixties gangster story Vincent Vice's Rainbow. The Prison Father, a critically acclaimed feature length docudrama, and the young offender docudrama, Inside Out, were based on his prison life experience. As a workshop facilitator in and out of prisons, he helps fathers and their families to rehabilitate by using his own experiences as an inspiration.

Cecily Von Ziegesar

Cecily von Ziegesar grew up in New York City and attended a private girls' school. She always wanted to be a writer, and she was always a gossip, so the GOSSIP GIRL and THE IT GIRL novels were inevitable.

Charlie Owen

Charlie Owen enjoyed a thirty-year career in the police service, serving with two forces in the Home Counties and London, reaching the rank of Inspector.

Dan Wells

Dan Wells has a Bachelors in English from Brigham Young University where he was the editor of The Leading Edge Magazine. He now runs www.timewastersguide.com.

Dee Williams

Dee Williams was born and brought up in Rotherhithe in East London where her father worked as a stevedore in Surrey Docks. She lives in Hampshire, where she is also an active fundraiser for breast cancer awareness.