Kathryn Hughes - The Letter - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781783069170
    • Publication date:19 Mar 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472230935
    • Publication date:07 May 2015

The Letter

In one woman’s past lies another woman’s future

By Kathryn Hughes

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The No. 1 Kindle bestseller and word-of-mouth sensation guaranteed to break your heart. If you love Lesley Pearse and Susan Lewis, you will love Kathryn Hughes.

The #1 EBook Bestseller. Every so often a love story comes along to remind us that sometimes, in our darkest hour, hope shines a candle to light our way. Discover THE LETTER by Kathryn Hughes, the Number One bestseller that has captured thousands of hearts worldwide. 'A wonderful, uplifting story' Lesley Pearse

And if you love THE LETTER, you will adore Kathryn's second novel THE SECRET...

Tina Craig longs to escape her violent husband. She works all the hours God sends to save up enough money to leave him, also volunteering in a charity shop to avoid her unhappy home. Whilst going through the pockets of a second-hand suit, she comes across an old letter, the envelope firmly sealed and unfranked. Tina opens the letter and reads it - a decision that will alter the course of her life for ever...

Billy Stirling knows he has been a fool, but hopes he can put things right. On 4th September 1939 he sits down to write the letter he hopes will change his future. It does - in more ways than he can ever imagine...

The Letter tells the story of two women, born decades apart, whose paths are destined to cross and how one woman's devastation leads to the other's salvation.

Biographical Notes

Kathryn Hughes was born in Altrincham, near Manchester. After completing a secretarial course, Kathryn met her husband and they married in Canada. For twenty-nine years they ran a business together, raised two children and travelled when they could to places such as India, Singapore, South Africa and New Zealand. Kathryn and her family now make their home in a village near Manchester. The Letter is Kathryn's first novel, and she is busy working on her second, The Secret.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472229953
  • Publication date: 08 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Headline Review
A wonderful, uplifting story — Lesley Pearse
Autumnal Sunday afternoons were invented solely to read heart-tugging novels like this — Red
This moving love story had everyone talking... Get set to be hooked — Look
A moving story of love, loss and hope — Bella
A captivating and tragic story...beautifully told — Ajoobacats Blog
You will find it hard to put down. I cried buckets of tears reading it — Books With Wine and Chocolate
Very satisfying. Both women's stories were equally developed and interesting. They were also equally heartbreaking — Mom With a Book
With a swift pace, memorable characters and a wonderful conceptual depth, Hughes' novel is one that simply can't be put down — Bytheletterbookreviews
A story which reveals heartbreak, tragedy and loss...will stay with me for a long time — jaffareadstoo
Tugs at the heart strings... A truly gorgeous story — Shaz's Book Blog
Headline Review

Addy Mayford's Last Feast

Hina Belitz
Authors:
Hina Belitz
Headline Review

Before I Let You Go: a gripping novel about the unbreakable bond between sisters

Kelly Rimmer
Authors:
Kelly Rimmer
Headline

Siege Line (Reawakening Trilogy 3)

Myke Cole
Authors:
Myke Cole
Tinder Press

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin
Authors:
Chloe Benjamin
Headline

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

Helen Carey
Authors:
Helen Carey
Headline

Twilight Eyes

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The House of Thunder

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Neverwhere

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman
Tinder Press

See What I Have Done

Sarah Schmidt
Authors:
Sarah Schmidt

Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.'Eerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins'Stunning' Sunday Times'Gripping... outstanding' Observer'Glittering' Irish TimesJust after 11am on 4th August 1892, the bodies of Andrew and Abby Borden are discovered. He's found on the sitting room sofa, she upstairs on the bedroom floor, both murdered with an axe.It is younger daughter Lizzie who is first on the scene, so it is Lizzie who the police first question, but there are others in the household with stories to tell: older sister Emma, Irish maid Bridget, the girls' Uncle John, and a boy who knows more than anyone realises.In a dazzlingly original and chilling reimagining of this most notorious of unsolved mysteries, Sarah Schmidt opens the door to the Borden home and leads us into its murkiest corners, where jealousies, slow-brewed rivalries and the darkest of thoughts reside.

Headline

Damaged

Martina Cole
Authors:
Martina Cole

The new novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller, Martina Cole, sees the return of her iconic detective heroine DI Kate Burrows. If you liked THE LADYKILLER, you'll love DAMAGED. The 'undisputed queen of crime writing' (Guardian) and the biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina's unique, powerful storytelling includes DANGEROUS LADY, THE TAKE, BETRAYAL and many more.When the bodies of missing schoolgirls start turning up, former DCI Kate Burrows is dragged out of retirement.A new Grantley serial killer is in town and DCI Annie Carr turns to Kate for help. She welcomes the distraction from her home life with former gangster, Patrick Kelly, whose long lost son has turned up out of the blue, bringing trouble with him.It soon becomes clear the killer is on their doorstep and as the body count grows, Kate and Annie face a race against the clock. But they have no real leads ... and there's more to these murders than meets the eye. Can Kate take the killer down before another schoolgirl dies?

Headline

The Widow's Promise: The Families of Fairley Terrace Sagas 4

Jennie Felton
Authors:
Jennie Felton
Headline Review

Cartes Postales from Greece

Victoria Hislop
Authors:
Victoria Hislop

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERCartes Postales from Greece is an extraordinary new book from Victoria Hislop, the Sunday Times Number One bestselling author of The Island, The Return, The Thread, and The Sunrise. It is fiction with a distinctive photographic framework - magical and unique.'Hislop's passionate love of the country breathes from every page' Daily MailWeek after week, the postcards arrive, addressed to someone Ellie does not know, each signed with an initial: A.These alluring cartes postales of Greece brighten her life and cast a spell on her. She decides she must see this country for herself. On the morning Ellie leaves for Athens, a notebook arrives. Its pages tell the story of a man's odyssey through Greece. Moving, surprising and sometimes dark, A's tale unfolds with the discovery not only of a culture, but also of a desire to live life to the full once more.

Tinder Press

Tin Man

Sarah Winman
Authors:
Sarah Winman
Headline

Love Me or Leave Me

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

No.1 bestselling writer Josephine Cox is 'hailed quite rightly as a gifted writer in the tradition of Catherine Cookson' (Manchester Evening News). Love Me or Leave Me is a heartrending story of love and friendship and the obstacles that may come between. Perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Catherine Cookson.Beautiful Eva Bereton has just three close friends: Patsy, whom she looks upon as a sister; Bill, once her childhood sweetheart, now married and living in Canada; and her mother, to whom she is devoted. When a tragic accident turns Eva's world upside down, Patsy is the only one she can turn to.A hated figure from the past comes to reclaim the farm and business that Eva had always believed were her parents'. Not even Bill, still in love with Eva, can stop Eva being thrown out on the streets. Together with Patsy, Eva starts a new life far away.Luckily, they find work and lodgings wherever they settle. But when Eva arrives in Blackburn her past mistakes rise up to haunt her. Yet even when threatened from all sides Eva will never accept that her chances of happiness have been destroyed. Determined and optimistic, she fights on to change her life for the better.

Headline Review

My Mother's Shadow: The unputdownable summer read about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

Nikola Scott
Authors:
Nikola Scott
Headline

American Gods

Neil Gaiman
Authors:
Neil Gaiman

Headline

Phantoms

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline Review

The Missing Wife: The Unputdownable Bestseller

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Readers of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan's THE MISSING WIFE - the riveting story of a woman determined to escape, the man who wants to find her and the friends and family unaware of the dark truth. Set in the glorious, sunny south of France.Have you ever wanted to disappear? When Imogen Naughton vanishes, everyone who knows her is shocked. She has a perfect marriage. Her handsome husband treats her like a princess. She's always said how lucky she is. So why has she left? And how will she survive without Vince?What goes on behind closed doors is often a surprise, and Imogen surprises herself by taking the leap she knows she must. But as she begins her journey to find the woman she once was, Imogen's past is right behind her... Will it catch up with her? And will she be ready to face it if it does?

Headline

Cradle of Thorns

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Tinder Press

The Fractured Life of Jimmy Dice

Ronan Ryan
Authors:
Ronan Ryan