Maggie O'Farrell - I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240750
    • Publication date:22 Aug 2017
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240743
    • Publication date:22 Aug 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240774
    • Publication date:22 Aug 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472240781
    • Publication date:22 Aug 2017

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

By Maggie O'Farrell

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

An extraordinarily intimate memoir of the the brushes with death that have made Maggie O'Farrell the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of THE LAST ACT OF LOVE and WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR

I AM, I AM, I AM is Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel-Award winner Maggie O'Farrell's electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life; it will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Joan Didion's THE YEAR OF MAGICAL THINKING.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital.

This is a memoir with a difference: seventeen encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal to us a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. It is a book to make you question yourself: what would you do if your life was in danger? How would you react? And what would you stand to lose? I AM, I AM, I AM is a book you will finish newly conscious of your own vulnerability, and determined to make every heartbeat count.

Biographical Notes

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of seven novels, AFTER YOU'D GONE, MY LOVER'S LOVER, THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX, THE HAND THAT FIRST HELD MINE, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, INSTRUCTIONS FOR A HEATWAVE, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, and THIS MUST BE THE PLACE, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472240767
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 308
  • Imprint: Tinder Press
Maggie O'Farrell is a highly accomplished author with seven novels to her name but she achieves something altogether more powerful and direct in this astonishing memoir... Each chapter is an accomplished piece of memoir writing in its own right. The cumulative effect is extraordinary and I felt my understanding of what it means to be a human and a mother grew. Where other writers may be playing with paper, O'Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims right at the human heart — Cathy Rentzenbrink, The Times
I have never read a book about death that has made me feel so alive. A heart-stopping, addictive read — Tracy Chevalier
I adored every minute. A triumph — Joanna Cannon
Extraordinary. A beautiful testament to courage and grace under fire without an ounce of self-pity — Kate Mosse
It is absolutely, in every possible sense of the word, brilliant. It shines with wit and candour and insight. It is spectacularly moving, funny, impeccably controlled, artful and sincere. It's a gift — Max Porter
By turns chilling, terrifying, deeply moving, funny, recognisable, wild, simple, complicated. A rich celebration — Rachel Joyce
Quite simply astonishing... reminds the reader of the fierce joy of being alive. To my mind, I AM, I AM, I AM is Maggie O'Farrell's greatest work to date — Louise O'Neill
The final chapter is one of the boldest and most terrifying things I have read this year — Scotsman
She is a breathtakingly good writer, and brings all her elegance and poise as a novelist to the story of her own life — Guardian
Ingenious and original... A rich celebration of every breath O'Farrell's taken — Independent
[An] extraordinary memoir... uncomfortable and compelling... fluent, poised, packed with colourful details — Observer
A mesmerising read — The Sunday Times
It's a prayer for perspective that reminds readers to see every dodged bullet as the gift of new life and a reminder not to sweat the small stuff — Daily Mail
A profoundly affecting, powerful and life-affirming book. If you only read one memoir this year, make it O'Farrell's — Sunday Express
O'Farrell has a compelling and arresting writing style that fills in a scene quickly and engagingly, to great dramatic and narrative effect — New Statesman
Exceptionally accomplished and emotionally sophisticated — Scotsman
One of the most life affirming reads of the summer — Irish Independent
I can count on one hand the books that made me cry, and still have two fingers spare. I Am, I Am, I Am is one of them — Irish Times
O'Farrell's emotional acuity makes it a powerful account of a determined and thoughtful life. Her fiction is always a masterclass in empathy and the same is true of I Am, I Am, I Am which lingers even longer in the memory for being drawn from real life. — Daily Express
A remarkable and life-affirming autobiography — Good Housekeeping
I have never read a book about death that has made me feel so alive. Beautifully observed, exquisitely written, Maggie's memoir is a heart-stopping, addictive read. She has raised the bar on memoir to a height few others will reach — Tracy Chevalier
A beautiful, strangely reassuring read — The i