Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death

AS SELECTED FOR THE ZOE BALL BOOKCLUB, A BOOK OF THE YEAR IN THE SUNDAY TIMES, THE TIMES, GUARDIAN, IRISH TIMES, OBSERVER, RED and THE TELEGRAPH.

I AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference – the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman’s life in near-death experiences. Insightful, inspirational, gorgeously written, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life’s fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Timesbestselling author Maggie O’Farrell. It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose?

I AM, I AM, I AM will speak to readers who loved Cheryl Strayed’s WILD or Max Porter’s GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS.

(P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd
Read More

Genre: Biography & True Stories / Memoirs

On Sale: 22nd August 2017

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472240781

Reviews

O'Farrell's emotional acuity makes it a powerful account of a determined and thoughtful life. Her fiction is always a masterclass in empathy and the same is true of I Am, I Am, I Am which lingers even longer in the memory for being drawn from real life.
Daily Express
Leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful and fully alive. Maggie O'Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book
Ann Patchett
One of the most life affirming reads of the summer
Irish Independent
Maggie O'Farrell is a highly accomplished author with seven novels to her name but she achieves something altogether more powerful and direct in this astonishing memoir... Each chapter is an accomplished piece of memoir writing in its own right. The cumulative effect is extraordinary and I felt my understanding of what it means to be a human and a mother grew. Where other writers may be playing with paper, O'Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims right at the human heart
Cathy Rentzenbrink, The Times
A mystical howl, a thrumming, piercing reminder of how very closely we all exist alongside what could have happened, but didn't
New York Times Book Review
The final chapter is one of the boldest and most terrifying things I have read this year
Scotsman
Exceptionally accomplished and emotionally sophisticated
Scotsman
[An] extraordinary memoir... uncomfortable and compelling... fluent, poised, packed with colourful details
Observer
I adored every minute. A triumph
Joanna Cannon
I can count on one hand the books that made me cry, and still have two fingers spare. I Am, I Am, I Am is one of them
Irish Times
By turns chilling, terrifying, deeply moving, funny, recognisable, wild, simple, complicated. A rich celebration
Rachel Joyce
It is absolutely, in every possible sense of the word, brilliant. It shines with wit and candour and insight. It is spectacularly moving, funny, impeccably controlled, artful and sincere. It's a gift
Max Porter
A remarkable and life-affirming autobiography
Good Housekeeping
I have never read a book about death that has made me feel so alive. A heart-stopping, addictive read
Tracy Chevalier
If you want evidence that life can be just as dramatic as fiction, you couldn't wish for better than Maggie O'Farrell's stunning memoir
Louise Doughty, Guardian Books of the Year
O'Farrell has a compelling and arresting writing style that fills in a scene quickly and engagingly, to great dramatic and narrative effect
New Statesman
I AM, I AM, I AM is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive. Maggie O'Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book
Ann Patchett
I have never read a book about death that has made me feel so alive. Beautifully observed, exquisitely written, Maggie's memoir is a heart-stopping, addictive read. She has raised the bar on memoir to a height few others will reach
Tracy Chevalier
A mesmerising read
The Sunday Times
A remarkable book
Scotsman
Extraordinary. A beautiful testament to courage and grace under fire without an ounce of self-pity
Kate Mosse
I have never read a book about death that has made me feel so alive. A heart-stopping, addictive read
Tracy Chevalier
She is a breathtakingly good writer, and brings all her elegance and poise as a novelist to the story of her own life
Guardian
It's a prayer for perspective that reminds readers to see every dodged bullet as the gift of new life and a reminder not to sweat the small stuff
Daily Mail
It's a memoir replete with courage, heartbreak and optimism: the most life-affirming book of the year
Sunday Express
A beautiful, strangely reassuring read
The i
Quite simply astonishing... reminds the reader of the fierce joy of being alive. To my mind, I AM, I AM, I AM is Maggie O'Farrell's greatest work to date
Louise O'Neill
A profoundly affecting, powerful and life-affirming book. If you only read one memoir this year, make it O'Farrell's
Sunday Express