Josephine Cox - Miss You Forever - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780747249580
    • Publication date:16 Feb 1998
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780755384501
    • Publication date:19 Jan 2012

Miss You Forever

A thrilling saga of love, loss and second chances

By Josephine Cox

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A heartbreaking story from No.1 bestselling writer Josephine Cox.

Miss You Forever by Josephine Cox, Sunday Times bestselling author of Lonely Girl and Whistledown Woman, is a classic heartbreaking tale. As a woman lies at death's door in hospital, her touching story, encapsulated in her diaries, springs back to life.

One winter's night, in the coal-hole in her yard, Rosie finds that a woman sheltering there has been severely beaten by thugs. At a glance, Kathleen looks like an unkempt, aged vagabond who tramps the roads carrying all her worldly possessions in a grubby tapestry bag. Her only friend is the mangy old dog who accompanies her; the sum of her life is in the diaries she so zealously guards. Yet close up, Rosie can see that Kathleen has a gracious beauty - the 'look' of a respectable lady of means.

In hospital, fighting for her life, yet moved by Rosie's care and compassion, Kathleen entrusts the diaries to her, urging her to look at them. There, in the soft glow of the lamp, Rosie reads a heartrending tale of stolen dreams, true love, heartache and loss. A tale that, somehow, must have a happy ending . . .

Biographical Notes

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472245373
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 336
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Pagans tackle the Knights of St John with terrible consequences in the new medieval thriller by Queen of the Dark Ages, Karen Maitland. Set on the wilds of Dartmoor, this is a ghostly tale for fans of The Essex Serpent or C. J. Sansom's Shardlake series, and readers who can't wait for The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse. 'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMER1316. On the wilds of Dartmoor stands the isolated Priory of St Mary, home to the Sisters of the Knights of St John. People journey from afar in search of healing at the holy well that lies beneath its chapel.But the locals believe Dartmoor was theirs long before Christianity came to the land. And not all who visit seek miracles. When three strangers reach the moor, fear begins to stir as the well's waters run with blood.What witchcraft have the young woman, the Knight of St John and the blind child brought with them?The Sisters will need to fight for everything they hold dear as the ghosts of the Old World gather in their midst.

Headline Review

The Songs of Us

Emma Cooper
Authors:
Emma Cooper
Headline

Bad Boy Jack

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

The Gilded Cage

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Tomorrow the World

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Cradle of Thorns

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Cradle of Thorns by Josephine Cox, the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lonely Girl and Whistledown Woman, is a classic spell-binding tale of escape, love and family, that will appeal to fans of Catherine Cookson and Rosie Goodwin. 'One of the country's best-loved storytellers' PrimaNell Reece has never known her mother, and her father's burden of guilt about his wife has kept him cowed for years, working as a common labourer on his sister's farm. But for all her aunt's spiteful attempts to break Nell's independent spirit, she has never succeeded. But now Nell, pregnant and alone, is forced to leave behind the men in her life, believing she might never be able to return. With little but the clothes she wears, she travels across the Bedfordshire countryside of 1890. When she encounters a scruffy urchin called Kit, a ten-year-old orphan who's lived his whole life on the streets, she takes him under her wing. The pair become devoted friends, never knowing where their journey will take them, but each aware that the time will come when there must be a reckoning.

Headline

Born to Serve

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

The bestselling classic story from Sunday Times bestselling author Josephine Cox.'I can take him away from you any time I want.' Her mistress's cruel taunt is deeply disturbing to Jenny. But why should Claudia be interested in a servant's sweetheart? Jenny reckons without Claudia's vicious nature; using a wily trick she seduces Frank, who, overcome with shame, departs for a new life in Blackburn. Losing her sweetheart is just the first of many disasters that leave Jenny struggling to cope alone. When Claudia gives birth to Frank's baby girl she cruelly disowns the helpless infant and relies on Jenny to care for little Katie and love her as her own. Always afraid for the beloved child who has come to depend on her, Jenny is constantly called upon to show courage and fortitude to fight for all she holds dear. In her heart she yearns for Frank, believing that one day they must be reunited. When Fate takes a hand, it seems as though Jenny may see her dreams come true.

Headline

Whistledown Woman

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Killer (Alex Delaware series, Book 29)

Jonathan Kellerman
Authors:
Jonathan Kellerman
Headline Review

Notorious Nineteen

Janet Evanovich
Authors:
Janet Evanovich

Who guards the guardian angel?New Jersey bounty hunter Stephanie Plum is on the trail of a con-man in Notorious Nineteenth, the nineteenth sizzling adventure in the hilarious Stephanie Plum series by bestselling author Janet Evanovich. The perfect series for fans of Sue Grafton and Harlan Coben. Praise for Evanovich: 'Evanovich is a clever writer with a strong streak of laugh out loud sardonic humour' (Melbourne Weekly); 'Non-stop laughs with plenty of high jinks' (USA Today); 'As smart and sassy as high gloss wet paint' (Time Out).Tracking down a multi-million-dollar fraudster who somehow walked out of hospital after major surgery should be easy, right? But Stephanie's got more pressing work: her unbearably handsome mentor Ranger has been getting death threats from a fellow ex-Special Forces operative. Suddenly, she's meant to be the one looking out for him.But between her attraction to Ranger and the killer's determination, she'll be lucky if she makes it through the week...What readers are saying about Notorious Nineteen:'As usual once I started I couldn't put it down''Excellent read - kept me in hysterics''Hilarious, understated and well-written'

Headline

Jinnie

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Let It Shine

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Ada Williams once believed money and power would bring her happiness. But now she is all alone except for her greedy son Peter, who waits only for the day he will inherit her fortune. Ada, however, has a different plan altogether. A few miles away in Blackburn, the Bolton family may be poor - but the love they share means they can overcome almost any adversity. But no one could foresee the shocking events of Christmas night, 1932, which split the family asunder, leaving Larry crippled and the twins, Ellie and Betsy, in a foster home. Events that began many years ago, when Ada Williams was young and foolish.

Headline

Looking Back

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

From the moment she learns of the stranger's visit, Molly Tattersall is filled with a sense of fear.Then her mother disappears, leaving behind a letter asking Molly to take care of her five brothers and sisters. Molly's wayward father rejects his responsibilities, leaving Molly to choose between the young man she has given her heart to, and the family she adores. It is the cruellest decision of her life, with long-reaching and heartbreaking consequences. Only one thing is certain: Molly's life will never be the same again.

Headline

Rainbow Days

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

'You're everything to me. I'd have to lose my life before I'd lose you.'This is the vow Silas made to Cathleen on the day he asks her to marry him. Throughout their childhood their love has grown stronger and now, in 1900, they start to plan a life together. But a jealous woman is determined to ruin their happiness and uses Silas's father - a good and honest man - to do so, forcing him to make an impossible sacrifice. As a dutiful son, Silas has no choice but to obey his father, and Cathleen must pay the bitter price. Separated, each is swept along to a place where there is no love or peace and no way back . . .

Headline

Somewhere, Someday

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

A Time for Us

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

Lucy Nolan is the golden girl. The only daughter of local grocers, Sally and Mike Nolan, she's grown up in a home of total love and security. The one thing her heart desires is that Jack Hanson might ask her to marry him, and when he does eventually propose, Lucy is prepared to give up everything to be with him - even though it means leaving her beloved parents to live abroad where Jack has been offered an exciting business opportunity.But then, almost on the eve of the marriage itself, tragedy strikes. And for the first time in her life, Lucy is forced to realise that Fate, which has been so kind to her, can also be just as cruel.

Headline

The Devil You Know

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

More than Riches

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

When Rosie's parents were involved in a train accident, her mother was killed and her father left crippled, unable to earn a living and relying on Rosie to keep the wolf from the door.With her mother gone and her sweetheart Adam away in the army, Rosie is lonely. She eagerly awaits the letters from him, but they never come. As she grows more disillusioned, Adam's best friend Doug goes out of his way to be charming and attentive. Alone and confused, Rosie blossoms under his evil influence. Soon she is carrying Doug's baby and her father has thrown her out of the house. Realising she has no choice, she agrees to marry Doug.As if she isn't in enough trouble, Rosie's whole world falls apart when a warm and wonderful letter arrives from Adam . . . telling her he's on his way home.

Headline

Nobody's Darling

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox
Headline

Angels Cry Sometimes

Josephine Cox
Authors:
Josephine Cox

The marriage of Marcia and Curt Ratheter seemed idyllically happy. As much in love as on their wedding day, nothing could mar their joy. But one fateful day in 1931 brought Marcia's world tumbling about her ears and left her and her two daughters bereft.Barty Bendall had always loved her, he said; and the girls needed a father. Marcia moved to Blackburn with him, where she tried to forget the past. Barty, though, sank into bad ways, tyrannizing the family. In particular he would vent his aggression on Polly, Curt and Marcia's first-born, blonde as an angel but afflicted since birth with an ominous shadow over her health.Even in troubled times, lovely raven-haired Marcia was a fighter. But the news that Curt Ratheter had reappeared would render her the helpless prey of wildly conflicting emotions.