Dean Koontz - Shadowfires - Headline Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780747236818
    • Publication date:15 Aug 1991
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781472202888
    • Publication date:06 Dec 2012

Shadowfires

Unbelievably tense and spine-chilling horror

By Dean Koontz

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

What do you do when there's nowhere left to run?

Originally published under the pseudonym Leigh Nichols.

Rachael Leben's violently possessive ex-husband, Eric, hideously mangled in a freak accident, is dead. But his body has disappeared from the city morgue.

Now someone, or something, is watching Rachael. Calling her. Stalking her. And though no one will believe her, she knows who it is; that his walking corpse is a grotesque mockery of life, and his brilliant, warped mind, once again 'alive', is seething with jealous rage, seeking an unspeakable revenge.

Originally published under the pseudonym Leigh Nichols.

Biographical Notes

Dean Koontz is an international household name whose novels have sold many millions of copies worldwide and have appeared on national and international bestseller lists, selling millions of copies each year. He lives with his wife Gerda, their dog Anna and the enduring spirit of their dog Trixie in southern California.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781472248268
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 512
  • Imprint: Headline
Headline

Between the Lies

Michelle Adams
Authors:
Michelle Adams
Tinder Press

Ease

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

A quirky, warm novel of eccentric adventure from the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER - 'A huge treat' Daily Mail'Patrick Gale is among the great, unsung English novelists. Think Austen, Hardy, Murdoch. Remarkable' IndependentDomina Tey is a playwright, celebrated by friends, her husband, and the public alike, yet she fears losing her vital edge. Her solution: to leave her beautiful home in Bristol and seek adventure in a squalid West London bedsit, where she will live under an assumed name with only her typewriter for companionship. Once installed, however, she can't resist meddling in the business of others, forgetting that blurring fact with fiction can be a dangerous game.

Tinder Press

The Aerodynamics of Pork

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

THE AERODYNAMICS OF PORK is an irresistible novel of love, music and comedy - 'A master storyteller' Independent on Sunday'Gale's concoction is irresistible: modern relationships with period charm' Armistead MaupinSeth, a musical prodigy on the eve of his sixteenth birthday, is obsessed with sex and with the men he might meet, as well as with his strange family - his arch mother, his beautiful sister, and his damaged, distant father. Mo, a policewoman struggling with moral dilemmas and her sexuality in the violent, bigoted police force of the 1980s, wants only to find romance. In this haunting tale of self discovery and hidden identities, Mo and Seth will connect to face unexpected truths about themselves, and those they have chosen to love.

Headline Review

A Gathering of Ghosts

Karen Maitland
Authors:
Karen Maitland

Pagans tackle the Knights of St John with terrible consequences in the new medieval thriller by Queen of the Dark Ages, Karen Maitland. Set on the wilds of Dartmoor, this is a ghostly tale for fans of The Essex Serpent or C. J. Sansom's Shardlake series, and readers who can't wait for The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse. 'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMER1316. On the wilds of Dartmoor stands the isolated Priory of St Mary, home to the Sisters of the Knights of St John. People journey from afar in search of healing at the holy well that lies beneath its chapel.But the locals believe Dartmoor was theirs long before Christianity came to the land. And not all who visit seek miracles. When three strangers reach the moor, fear begins to stir as the well's waters run with blood.What witchcraft have the young woman, the Knight of St John and the blind child brought with them?The Sisters will need to fight for everything they hold dear as the ghosts of the Old World gather in their midst.

Headline Review

How to Find Love in the Little Things

Virginie Grimaldi
Authors:
Virginie Grimaldi
Tinder Press

Take Nothing With You

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER comes a new novel of boyhood, coming of age, and the confusions of desire and reality. For all readers of Ian McEwan's ATONEMENT or L P Hartley's THE GO-BETWEEN.1970s Western-Super-Mare and ten-year-old oddball Eustace, an only child, has life transformed by his mother's quixotic decision to sign him up for cello lessons. Music-making brings release for a boy who is discovering he is an emotional volcano. He laps up lessons from his young teacher, not noticing how her brand of glamour is casting a damaging spell over his frustrated and controlling mother.When he is enrolled in holiday courses in the Scottish borders, lessons in love, rejection and humility are added to daily practice.Drawing in part on his own boyhood, Patrick Gale's new novel explores a collision between childish hero worship and extremely messy adult love lives.

Tinder Press

The Facts of Life

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale's THE FACTS OF LIFE is a mesmerising, epic yet intimate novel of love, music and the life events that stay with us forever - perfect for any reader of Armistead Maupin, or E M Forster'Absorbing . . . deftly characterised, deeply involving and relevant' The TimesGerman composer Edward Pepper escapes to England just before the war begins in earnest. Struck with TB, he is recuperating in hospital when he meets Sally, a young doctor who has battled her way through medical school, despite the opposition of her parents. They fall in love and marry, settling in the fenlands of East Anglia. Years later, Edward watches as his grandchildren trip up against life and death, and realises that patterns can repeat themselves, bringing both pain and unexpected discovery.

Tinder Press

The Story Keeper

Anna Mazzola
Authors:
Anna Mazzola
Headline Review

The Image of You: I thought I knew you. But you're a liar.

Adele Parks
Authors:
Adele Parks
Headline

Discover Marnie Rome: SOMEONE ELSE’S SKIN and NO OTHER DARKNESS

Sarah Hilary
Authors:
Sarah Hilary

Have you discovered DI Marnie Rome yet? Winner of the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year, and a Richard and Judy Book Club pick. In a debut deemed 'stunning' by Mark Billingham, DI Marnie Rome is called to a women's refuge to take a routine witness statement, where she instead walks in on an attempted murder. Trying to uncover the truth from layers of secrets, Marnie finds herself confronting her own demons. Because she, of all people, knows that it can be those closest to us we should fear the most . . . Followed by the visceral NO OTHER DARKNESS, in which the bodies of two young boys are discovered, trapped in an underground bunker, huddled against one another for warmth. Who put them there? Why has it taken five years to find them? Who are they? So begins one of the most difficult and traumatic cases of DI Marnie Rome's career. Her only focus is the boys. She has to find out just who they are and what happened to them. For Marnie, there is no other darkness than this . . . Once you've discovered Marnie Rome, you won't want to let her go.

Tinder Press

A Sweet Obscurity

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale
Tinder Press

Tree Surgery for Beginners

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

From the bestselling author of A PLACE CALLED WINTER, TREE SURGERY FOR BEGINNERS is a funny, elegant and eclectic novel of love, lies and the secrets we live with 'A very funny, often sad, erudite eclectic novel writ with style. Terrific' Time Out'Excellent' The TimesWhen Lawrence Frost wakes up one morning to discover his wife and child have gone missing, there is gruesome evidence to suggest he may be the main suspect in a murder investigation. Confused, threatened with the loss of everything he loves, Lawrence is sent to the Caribbean on a kill-or-cure cruise. On board and ashore he will discover love, deceit, the truth about his missing family, and the blessings that come with surrendering to destiny.

Tinder Press

Kansas in August

Patrick Gale
Authors:
Patrick Gale

Patrick Gale's KANSAS IN AUGUST is a witty, warm novel of childhood and abandonment for readers of Armistead Maupin and Edmund White 'Modern, excellent and sympathetic' Stephen FryMusical-obsessed Hilary Metcalfe, abandoned by his lover Rufus on his birthday, gets drunk, discovers a baby and brings it home to his flat above a corner shop to provide comfort and company. Rufus, meanwhile, allows himself to be seduced by a frivolous young woman, who is actually Hilary's professional, high-powered sister, romancing under a pseudonym to escape the reality of her own loneliness. In this witty, bawdy slice of sex and lies, the trio will find themselves drawn together ever more tightly by the lures of hedonism, self-delusion and the inescapable desire to be needed.

Headline

Watch Me Disappear

Janelle Brown
Authors:
Janelle Brown
Headline

The Servants of Twilight

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

To his mother, Joey seems an ordinary six-year-old boy - special to her, but to no one else. To the Servants of Twilight, he is an evil presence who must be destroyed - an Anti-Christ who must die. The terrifying ordeal for Joey and his mother begins in the supermarket car park where an old woman accosts them and pursues them with her terrible threats. Christine's world is turned into a nightmare of terror. Only her love for her child, and the support of the one man who believes her, gives her the chance to survive the Servants of Twilight... This book was originally published under the pseudonym Leigh Nichols.

Headline

Icebound

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

The House of Thunder

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

In a cavern called The House of Thunder, Susan Thorton watched in terror as her lover died a brutal death in a college hazing. And in the following four years, the four young men who participated in that grim fraternity rite also died violently. Or did they? Twelve years later Susan wakes in a hospital bed. Apparently involved in a fatal accident, she is suffering from amnesia. She doesn't remember who she is or why she is there. All she knows is that her convalescence is unfolding into a fearful nightmare - and that the faces that surround her, pretending loving care, are those of the four men involved in that murder years before. Have the dead come back to life? Or has Susan plunged into the abyss of madness? With the help of her neurosurgeon, Susan desperately clings to her sanity while fighting to uncover who or what could be stalking her...Originally published under the pseudonym Leigh Nichols

Headline Review

What Happened That Night

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Feature

Shattered

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz
Headline

Twilight Eyes

Dean Koontz
Authors:
Dean Koontz

Slim MacKenzie knows what they are, what they do - and how they hide in human form. He is blessed - or cursed - by twilight eyes. He can see the diabolical others through their innocent human disguise. He's already killed one of them. And he'll kill again...But even the grave won't hold them...