Related to: 'The Tideway Girls'

Trapped at the Altar

Excerpt

Read a little of legendary romance author Jane Feather's latest novel, Trapped at the Altar.

Headline

A Brighter Day Tomorrow

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Dance Your Troubles Away

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Pam Evans' heartwarming London saga, DANCE YOUR TROUBLES AWAY, is set during the Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.When Polly Pritchard learns that her husband has been killed in action, she brings up their young daughter Emmie alone. To make ends meet she gets a job at the Cherry Ballroom in West London and it is here that she meets James, a Canadian airman, and they fall in love. But then Polly's husband turns up, very much alive...Life is even harder for Polly after the war; James has gone; her husband is involved in a criminal gang; and their daughter suffers from an illness that leaves her deaf. But Polly's spirit remains strong and with courage and determination she find the happiness she and her daughter deserve.

Headline

Lamplight on the Thames

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

When tragedy strikes two childhood sweethearts, they must look to their hearts to find true happiness... A dramatic story of bitter rivalry and forbidden love, Pam Evans' London saga, Lamplight on the Thames, is sure to appeal to fans of Kitty Neale, Katie Flynn and Kate Thompson.Since the end of the war, when Bob Brown had taken over the car workshop in London, Frank Bennett had been trying to get his hands on it. An East-Ender made good, Frank was determined to get the prime site - whatever the cost.As children, Bob's daughter Bella and Frank's son Dezi became unlikely friends, though both families disapproved. Years later, their love blossomed, and it seemed that nothing, not even the feud between their fathers, could prevent their marriage. Until Bob's tragic death and his dying request to Bella... What Amazon readers are saying about Lamplight on the Thames: 'Loved this book. It was the first time I had read anything by Pam Evans but won't be the last. A super story, couldn't put it down''Another great book by Pamela Evans, I really enjoyed it'

Headline

Diamonds in Danby Walk

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A young girl discovers that the grass isn't always greener on the other side... Set in London's East End in the 1900s, Diamonds in Danby Walk is Pam Evans' dramatic and heartrending family saga sure to appeal to fans of Dilly Court and Annie Murray.If Ralph Jackson had not been selfishly intent on an afternoon's stolen pleasure with his East End mistress Clara that day in 1900, a great many lives would have been different - most notably that of Amy Atkins, Clara's skinny young niece. Her penniless father George wants a better start for her than the mean streets of Bethnal Green, and if he has to resort to a spot of blackmail to get it, so be it.For fear of his philandering ways coming to light, Ralph offers Amy a job at his posh West London jewellers. With her quick wits and eye for business she attracts the attention of Ralph's handsome son Clifford. But when one thing inevitably leads to another, weak-willed Clifford is quite happy to leave Amy holding the baby. He has reckoned without the powerful influence Amy's father still exerts over Ralph. An amazed Amy finds herself Mrs Clifford Jackson, but even love and gratitude do not blind her to her husband's weaknesses, and when tragedy strikes she is faced with some difficult choices... What Amazon readers are saying about Diamonds in Danby Walk: 'Lovely story''Five stars'

Headline

The Apple of her Eye

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Mother's Joy: A Short Story Collection In Celebration Of Motherhood

Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Authors:
Lynda Page, Pamela Evans, Anne Baker, Jennie Felton
Headline

On Her Own Two Feet

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

A Distant Dream

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

A young dancer strives to make ends meet, but never gives up on her dreams. An inspiring family saga, Pam Evans' compelling tale, The Pride of Park Street, is sure to stay with you long after you finish the last page. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin. 'A gorgeous story...This book touched me very, very much...beautifully written...exciting reading. It's lovely' - North Wales ChronicleWhen Jess Mollitt gains a place with the famous Burton Girls dance troupe, appearing on the West End stage, it seems her dreams have finally come true. But then a family outing ends in tragedy, leaving her mother dead and her father a broken man, and Jess is forced to give up her career to look after her younger siblings, as well as manage the newsagents her father is no longer capable of running. Unable to contemplate a life without dance, it's not long before Jess is also running a hugely popular Saturday dance class for local children and this, combined with her blossoming friendship with neighbour Don Day, provides Jess with the saving grace she needs. But when the brother Don hates arrives on the scene, it seems Jess's problems may be only beginning... What readers are saying about The Pride of Park Street: 'Pamela Evans is amazing. I love her warm stories and this one does not disappoint, I feel like I'm transported back to the olden days in these stories. I just love them and recommend them to everyone. Well deserved five stars!' 'Sheer nostalgia'

Headline

Harvest Nights

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Infidelity and long-kept secrets threaten to destroy a family in Pamela Evans' gripping London saga.It's 1920, and ex-land girl Clara Tripp is back home in West London with her family. Despite her engagement to local boy Arnold, Clara is feeling trapped in her dead-end job and longs to return to the countryside. An unexpected meeting with old flame Charlie Fenner leads to a temporary job at his family's orchard in Kent. Clara is finally content, but the longer she spends with the Fenners, the more she begins to suspect that all is not what it seems. What is the dark secret that hangs over them all? As Clara's feelings for Charlie grow, she realises she has an enemy on the farm who wants her gone at any cost...

Headline

When The Boys Come Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

As German bombs wreak havoc on West London, for Morgan's Dairy it's business as usual. But when owner Dai Morgan is killed in an air raid, his daughter Megan is determined to continue in her father's footsteps and she braves the ravaged streets alone to do his milk round by horse and cart. Megan finds comfort in the knowledge that her twin girls are tucked away in a Welsh village, but she worries about her husband, Will, abroad with his platoon. And when Will's best friend, Doug Reynolds, returns, wounded and disfigured, she doesn't hesitate to take the poor man in. However, Doug is not the man she thinks he is. And when the boys come home, Megan has battle scars she can't allow Will to see...

Headline

In The Dark Streets Shining

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

The Sparrows of Sycamore Road

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Through the good times and bad, the Sparrow family has always stuck together. But as the Blitz ravages London in 1940, each of the Sparrows has their own battle to fight. Nancy finds herself volunteering as a porter at busy Paddington station - a world away from the smart West End dress shop where she used to work. Young Mickey is sent to the front line, while little Leslie suffers as an evacuee. Nancy must summon all her strength to support her loved ones, but they are unaware the woman they rely on hides a painful secret...

Headline

Second Chance of Sunshine

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

It's 1956, and while many women are doing jobs they'd never dreamed of before the war, Molly Hawkins is chained firmly to the kitchen sink. Her husband Brian believes his wife's place is in the home, but is too idle to seek regular employment for himself. Molly worries that her six-year-old daughter Rosa is going without, but is willing to sacrifice luxuries - and her own happiness - for her little girl to have a dad.Then a family friend dies suddenly, leaving Molly a share in a successful pottery business. To Brian's horror, it's on condition that Molly takes a job at the pottery. Seizing the chance to bring in much needed income, Molly accepts the position, and soon gains strength from her new-found independence. It's a strength she will need to take her through the tragedy that lies ahead...

Headline

The Pride of Park Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Close to Home

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Where We Belong

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

One day in 1964 Rachel West's husband walked out on his wife and two young sons, leaving them nothing but pain and heartache. Now, two years later, struggling in a poorly paid job, Rachel feels her luck will never change. So when she finds herself the new owner of her late Uncle Chip's Hammersmith boat-building business she wonders if it's too good to be true. Why would Chip have left it to her when he has a son himself? The business is only just afloat - thanks to the hard work of Chip's charismatic assistant, Ben - but Rachel is determined to restore it to its former glory for the sake of her sons. And before long, she realises that she's falling in love with kind-hearted and handsome Ben. But her good fortune doesn't last for long - someone is maliciously plotting to sabotage her plans...

Headline

A Song in your Heart

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans
Headline

Part of the Family

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans

Lizzie Smith has practically become part of the Carter family, and it is only fitting that she should eventually marry Stan, one of the Carter boys. But, as much as she loves Stan, Lizzie senses a darker side to him that his mother cannot see. It isn't long before his bitterness causes Lizzie to question her relationship, and ultimately leads to tragedy...

Headline

Maggie of Moss Street

Pamela Evans
Authors:
Pamela Evans