Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

*The hilarious new novel from Abbi Waxman – I WAS TOLD IT WOULD GET EASIER – is available to pre-order now*

Abbi Waxman’s charming novel follows introvert and bookworm Nina Hill as she discovers if real life can ever live up to fiction… Shortlisted for the Comedy Women In Print Prize, this novel is perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Maria Semple.

Like a conversation with the funniest person you know just lovely’ Katie Fforde

Meet Nina Hill: A young woman supremely confident in her own. . . shell.

Nina has her life just as she wants it: a job in a bookstore, an excellent trivia team and a cat named Phil. If she sometimes suspects there might be more to life than reading, she just shrugs and picks up a new book.

So when the father she never knew existed dies, leaving behind innumerable sisters, brothers, nieces, and nephews, Nina is horrified. They all live close by! She’ll have to Speak. To. Strangers.

And if that wasn’t enough, Tom, her trivia nemesis, has turned out to be cute, funny and interested in getting to know her…

It’s time for Nina to turn her own fresh page, and find out if real life can ever live up to fiction. . .

Praise for The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

‘Book lovers will absolutely relate’
O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE

‘Meet our bookish millennial heroine – a modern-day Elizabeth Bennet’
THE WASHINGTON POST

‘A quirky, eccentric romance that will charm any bookworm’
ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

‘I hope you’re in the mood to be downright delighted, because that’s the state you’ll find yourself in
POPSUGAR
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 9th July 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472266200

Reviews

A funny and uplifting debut novel
Good Housekeeping
Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful
#1 New York Times bestselling author Emily Giffin
Waxman has given us a grow bag full of emotion - witty, uplifting and unashamedly honest
Heidi Swain, Sunday Times bestselling author of Summer at Skylark Farm
The Garden of Small Beginnings is a quirky, funny, and deeply thoughtful book. . . . We're already dying to know if there will be a sequel
HelloGiggles on The Garden of Small Beginnings
Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely
Katie Fforde
Cosy, life-affirming read
Cathy Hopkins, author of The Kicking the Bucket List