Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Strangers with the Same Dream

Strangers with the Same Dream

From Alison Pick, Booker longlisted author of FAR TO GO comes a suspenseful, dystopian reimagining of the founding of a kibbutz in 1920s Palestine, for readers of WHEN I LIVED IN MODERN TIMES, THE HANDMAID’S TALE or THE POWER.

‘We came into their valley at dawn’. From three vastly different points of view, Alison Pick relates the story of a group of Jewish pioneers, many escaping violent homelands, who have come together to found a kibbutz on a patch of land that will later become Israel. With tightly controlled intensity, Pick takes us into three very different minds to show us how a utopian dream is punctured by messy human entanglements. Yet this is also the story of the land itself (present day Israel and Palestine), revealing the way the newcomers chose to ignore the fact that their valley was already populated, home to a people that the pioneers did not want to see.

In writing of extraordinary, at times heartbreaking power, Pick has created unforgettable characters, haunted by ghosts and compromised by unbearable secrets. The novel’s shocking conclusion is a tour de force, the work of a writer uniquely in control of her craft and with an extraordinary insight into the innermost workings of the human heart.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 9th August 2018

Price: £18.99

ISBN-13: 9781472225115

Reviews

Explores the dark side of utopian longing with terrific sensitivity, intelligence and attention to beauty. Alison Pick is one of the wisest and most compassionate of writers
Painfully topical, this raw and sensual novel is one of the most skillful examples of multiple simultaneous viewpoints (and in the process, characterisation) I've ever encountered, its perfectly meted revelations heightening the personal tragedy and collective moral conflict. Outstanding
Literary Sofa
A riveting, timely novel that takes an essential moment in Jewish history and allows it to blaze into being in all its strange and glorious complexity. Alison Pick has a way of reinventing the historical novel again and again
A riveting, timely novel that takes an essential moment in Jewish history and allows it to blaze into being in all its strange and glorious complexity. Alison Pick has a way of reinventing the historical novel again and again
Stunning. On one level, a fascinating novel about early kibbutz life. More deeply, this is thought-provoking fiction that asks important questions about idealism, privacy, equality, power, corruption and war
STRANGERS WITH THE SAME DREAM explores the dark side of utopian longing with terrific sensitivity, intelligence and attention to beauty. Alison Pick is one of the wisest and most compassionate of writers