Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

*THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER*

Anne Boleyn
: A King’s Obsession by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen
, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

‘A triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman’ Elizabeth Fremantle

‘Anne Boleyn as you have never seen her before. I could not put it down’ Tracy Borman

‘Alison Weir makes history come alive as no one else’ Barbara Erskine

The young woman who changed the course of history.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown – and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

ANNE BOLEYN. The second of Henry’s Queens. Her story.
History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.

The third novel in Alison Weir’s spellbinding Six Tudor Queens series: Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen – coming May 2018

Praise for Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession:

Alison Weir has brought English history’s most famous ‘other woman’ compellingly to life’ Linda Porter

‘Detailed, immaculately researched and convincing’ The Times

‘Weir’s outstanding and sound historical research shines through, shedding new light on England’s most controversial queen’ Nicola Tallis
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 18th May 2017

Price: £18.99

ISBN-13: 9781472227621

Reviews

Weir's outstanding and sound historical research shines through, shedding new light on England's most controversial queen. Weir provides page after page of utterly compelling detail, keeping the reader hooked from start to finish. This book is not only a world apart from any other novel on Anne Boleyn, it is also an exquisite work of literary art
Captivating... The way that Katherine comes alive on the page is credit to the author who has such a breadth of knowledge about this Tudor period that it's a real pleasure to read her fictional work
Jaffareadstoo Blog
This well-researched and engrossing read gives a new perspective on the long-suffering first wife
Good Housekeeping
Alison ensures that we not only come away knowing more of the real Katherine, we understand more of how it felt to be her... The author really enables us to feel the claustrophobia and paranoia as Katherine tries to make decisions for her day to day life on snippets of news from her advisors - advisors she begins to realise may not be telling her the truth
The Book Bag
Alison Weir makes history come alive as no one else
This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII's first wife, Katherine... A fascinating insight into this period of our history. Weir's undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England
Sun
Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen is a true tour de force. Finely crafted, this novel is wonderful historical fiction and an outstanding introduction to the Six Tudor Queens series
Queen Anne Boleyn Blog
Alison Weir is the doyen of Tudor fiction and non-fiction ... With Alison's light touch, [Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession] is fiction that reads as fact, and leaves us breathless, hoping ... then of course we recognise that we are not reading pure fiction after all, but a finely woven tapestry of fictional biography that stays with us long after we close the book at the final line. It is simply a masterpiece
Weir's opening foray into the life of Katherine of Aragon presents Henry's first and most enduring marriage from a refreshingly new and utterly gripping perspective
Lancashire Evening Post
Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life
Guardian
Alison Weir has brought English history's most famous 'other woman' compellingly to life. The story of Anne Boleyn's rise from accomplished court lady to Henry VIII's second queen is vividly told and the terror of her final days will haunt the reader. A must for all lovers of historical fiction
Alison Weir's wonderfully detailed novel offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne's true nature . . . Enthralling
Prominent royal biographer and historical novelist Weir is well-placed to craft this detailed fictional portrait of Henry VIII's second wife . . . She explores Anne's influences and motivations, creating a multifaceted portrait of an ambitious woman who reluctantly accedes to Henry's courtship and later acts out of desperation to protect herself and her daughter, Elizabeth. Even readers who know Anne's story well should gain insights from this revealing novel
Booklist </i>on<i> Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession
Alison Weir brings Henry VIII's first queen to life, revealing a strong, spirited and intelligent woman fighting for her rights and those of her daughter
Choice </i> magazine
Alison Weir clearly admires her heroine ... meticulously researched
The Times
Weir manages to untangle the complex web of 16th-century politics, shown through Katherine's duties as ambassador, and her astute reading of the games being played. This adds greatly to the heft of the character, demonstrating what a competent woman she was becoming
Herald Scotland
Detailed, immaculately researched and convincing
The Times </i>on<i> Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession
This is Anne Boleyn as you have never seen her before. I could not put it down
Weir's Boleyn is a highly intelligent idealist, who becomes the tragic victim of her own ambition. . . The novel is a triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman
Brilliantly rich
Heat
The authentic voice of Katherine rings true throughout. It is a study of a woman who inspires admiration as well as sympathy ... a fitting tribute to a queen who was unduly wronged by history
Lady
A marvellous book - Anne comes alive and leaps from the page, fascinating, enthralling, full blooded - you can't help but fall in love with her. A brilliant evocation of the period - and a knife edge moment in British history. Wonderful
Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail . . . her handling of Katherine's misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching
Daily Mail
This ambitious, engrossing novel tells Katherine's story from that moment, through her brief and controversial marriage to Prince Arthur and then to his brother, the handsome, gallant Henry VIII ... Fascinating
S Magazine (Sunday Express)