Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

*A Sunday Times Top Ten Bestseller*

Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of The Lost Tudor Princess, is the first in a spellbinding six novel series about Henry VIII’s Queens. Alison takes you on an engrossing journey at Katherine’s side and shows her extraordinary strength of character and intelligence. Ideal for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

‘Shatters the many myths about Henry VIII’s long-suffering first wife’ Tracy Borman


‘Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life’ Guardian


A Spanish princess. Raised to be modest, obedient and devout. Destined to be an English Queen.

Six weeks from home across treacherous seas, everything is different: the language, the food, the weather. And for her there is no comfort in any of it. At sixteen-years-old, Catalina is alone among strangers.

She misses her mother. She mourns her lost brother.
She cannot trust even those assigned to her protection.

KATHERINE OF ARAGON. The first of Henry’s Queens. Her story.

History tells us how she died. This captivating novel shows us how she lived.


SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.


Praise for Alison Weir and Katherine of Aragon:

‘A tender understanding of and genuine sympathy for this proud, much-loved and honourable Queen. . . I was gripped [from] start to finishMavis Cheek

‘Well-researched and engrossing’ Good Housekeeping


‘Yet again, Alison Weir has managed to intertwine profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence, to compose a work that throws light on an endlessly fascinating historical figure. Yet her real gift in all of this is making it feel so fresh and aliveEarl Spencer

‘This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII’s first wife, Katherine. . . A fascinating insight into this period of our history. Weir’s undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England’ Sun

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen is a true tour de force. Finely crafted, this novel is wonderful historical fiction and an outstanding introduction to the Six Tudor Queens series’ Queen Anne Boleyn Blog

‘Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail . . . her handling of Katherine’s misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching’ Elizabeth Buchan, Daily Mail
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 5th May 2016

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472227492

Reviews

A majestic book! ... I felt every one of [Katherine's] emotions: her joy, her heart-wrenching despair and the passionate loyalty she shows to Henry. The bravery she displays is incredible and she must have been one hell of a Queen. It is beautifully written and captivating with so much attention to detail, that the Tudor court came alive in every sense
Baattyaboutbooks Blog
This well-researched and engrossing read gives a new perspective on the long-suffering first wife
Good Housekeeping
The authentic voice of Katherine rings true throughout. It is a study of a woman who inspires admiration as well as sympathy . . . a fitting tribute to a queen who was unduly wronged by history
The Lady </i> magazine
Alison Weir brings Henry VIII's first queen to life, revealing a strong, spirited and intelligent woman fighting for her rights and those of her daughter
Choice </i> magazine
Alison Weir clearly admires her heroine . . . meticulously researched
The Times
This ambitious, engrossing novel tells Katherine's story from that moment, through her brief and controversial marriage to Prince Arthur and then to his brother, the handsome, gallant Henry VIII . . . Fascinating
S Magazine (Sunday Express)
Weir's opening foray into the life of Katherine of Aragon presents Henry's first and most enduring marriage from a refreshingly new and utterly gripping perspective
Lancashire Evening Post
Alison ensures that we not only come away knowing more of the real Katherine, we understand more of how it felt to be her. . . The author really enables us to feel the claustrophobia and paranoia as Katherine tries to make decisions for her day to day life on snippets of news from her advisors - advisors she begins to realise may not be telling her the truth
The Book Bag
This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII's first wife, Katherine . . . A fascinating insight into this period of our history. Weir's undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England
Sun
Yet again, Alison Weir has managed to intertwine profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence, to compose a work that throws light on an endlessly fascinating historical figure. Yet her real gift in all of this is making it feel so fresh and alive
Earl Spencer
Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen is a true tour de force. Finely crafted, this novel is wonderful historical fiction and an outstanding introduction to the Six Tudor Queens series
Queen Anne Boleyn Blog
Engrossing and meticulously researched . . . Katherine's life and world are brought vividly to life
Choice </i> magazine
Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail . . . her handling of Katherine's misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching
Elizabeth Buchan, Daily Mail
Captivating. . . The way that Katherine comes alive on the page is credit to the author who has such a breadth of knowledge about this Tudor period that it's a real pleasure to read her fictional work
Jaffareadstoo Blog
Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life
Guardian
In this, the first novel of the Six Tudor Queens series, Alison Weir brings Katherine of Aragon dazzlingly to life. Based upon extensive new research, it is a portrayal that shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife. Far from being the one-dimensional victim of history, she emerges as a charismatic, indomitable and courageous heroine whose story never fails to enthral
Tracy Borman
Weir manages to untangle the complex web of 16th-century politics, shown through Katherine's duties as ambassador, and her astute reading of the games being played. This adds greatly to the heft of the character, demonstrating what a competent woman she was becoming
Herald Scotland
A tender understanding of and genuine sympathy for this proud, much-loved and honourable Queen... I was gripped [from] start to finish
Mavis Cheek