We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Mud, Muck and Dead Things (Campbell & Carter Mystery 1)

Mud, Muck and Dead Things (Campbell & Carter Mystery 1)

Crime in the Cotswolds just got deadly…

Ann Granger introduces Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter in Mud, Muck and Dead Things, the first cosy Cotswolds crime novel in the Campbell and Carter mystery series. The perfect read for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and ITV’s Midsomer Murders.

‘The reader can expect a treat. Lively, different and fun’ – Yorkshire Post

Lucas Burton hates the countryside. To him it’s nothing but mud, muck and dead things. And he’s right. When he turns up at a deserted farm in the middle of nowhere hoping to conduct a business deal, he stumbles across the body of a girl. And that’s just the start of his bad luck: Penny Gower from the local stables has spotted his silver Mercedes leaving the scene of the crime. Suddenly, for Lucas, things are looking very bleak indeed… Inspector Jess Campbell is on the case, but with few leads and a new superintendent, Ian Carter, breathing down her neck, she’s beginning to feel the pressure. Then another dead body is found…

What readers are saying about Mud, Muck and Dead Things:

‘A good, easy read for when one wants no demands – just to savour and enjoy

‘The characters are, as usual well-rounded, believable and interesting, and the plot is multi-faceted to keep the reader turning pages

‘This is in the classic whodunit style about a small group of suspects and lots of clues along the way without too much gory detail. A well-crafted story
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th April 2012

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755372751

Reviews

Praise for Ann Granger's previous crime novels: 'Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent'
The Times
'The plot is neat and ingenious, the characters rounded and touchingly credible, and the writing of this darkly humorous but humane and generous novel fluent, supple and a pleasure to read'
Ham and High
'The reader can expect a treat. Lively, different and fun'
Yorkshire Post
'Ann Granger's skill with character together with her sprightly writing make the most of the story....she is on to another winner'
Birmingham Post
'One of crime fiction's most engaging heroines'
Yorkshire Post