Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Running Scared (Fran Varady 3)

Running Scared (Fran Varady 3)

When a stranger is stabbed to death, Fran’s own life is put in danger…

Amateur sleuth Fran Varady has to stay ahead of a killer in Running Scared, the third exciting mystery in Ann Granger’s Fran Varady series. The perfect read for fans of LJ Ross and Elly Griffiths.

‘One of crime fiction’s most engaging heroines’ – Yorkshire Post

Aspiring actress and part-time private investigator Fran Varady knew there would be maximum disruption when her friend Ganesh decided to modernise his uncle’s newsagents, starting with the washroom. But she isn’t prepared for the nightmare that begins when an agitated passer-by asks to use it: hours later, he’s found stabbed to death, leaving a message for Fran to meet him, and a mysterious roll of film hidden behind the old pipes… Fran realises that whoever wanted the negatives knows where they were hidden. And, probably, where they are now.

With her police protection more a hindrance than a help, an old friend, Tig, on the verge of collapse, and the builders wreaking havoc in the shop, can Fran find out why someone is prepared to murder for the negatives – before they find her?

What readers are saying about Running Scared:

The heroine is a very convincing and likeable character, living almost on the fringes of society’

Loved this book as I have in all the Fran Varady books; gripping plot as normal with a twist at the end’

‘From the start I felt like I know the characters! It’s a great read, very believable storyline and some humour as well’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 10th June 1999

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780747255772

Reviews

'The plot is neat and ingenious, the characters rounded and touchingly credible, and the writing of this darkly humorous but humane and generous novel fluent, supple and a pleasure to read'
Ham and High
'One of crime fiction's most engaging heroines'
Yorkshire Post
'Ann Granger's skill with character together with her sprightly writing make the most of the story....she is on to another winner'
Birmingham Post
Praise for Ann Granger's previous crime novels: 'Characterisation, as ever with Granger, is sharp and astringent'
The Times
'The reader can expect a treat. Lively, different and fun'
Yorkshire Post