Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

As Christmas approaches, justice must be served…

Anne Perry sweeps her readers away to India in her tenth seasonal novella, A Christmas Garland. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.


‘Perry avoids all of the mawkish pitfalls that are usually the hallmark of holiday books by choosing an unconventional setting and decidedly different approach. Rather than leaning on sentiment, she writes an honest, though somewhat grim, story that captures the essence of 19th-century India and the character of a compassionate man. A novel approach to an oft-explored subject, this tale will delight Perry’s fans and bring her new ones’ – Kirkus Reviews

1857. After the fire of mutiny has swept through British India, young Lieutenant Victor Narraway arrives at a battered military base at Cawnpore. It is just two weeks before Christmas, but no one is able to celebrate: they have been betrayed. A soldier under arrest for dereliction of duty has killed a guard and escaped to join the rebels, taking crucial information that led to the massacre of nine men on patrol. Someone must have helped him, and medical orderly John Tallis is the only man unaccounted for at the time. He is now on trial for his life, and Narraway is commanded to defend him.

Narraway knows that his is an impossible task. The British Army needs justice to be carried out in full, and there seems no doubt of Tallis’s guilt. But Narraway cannot see any motive for his actions. Will an innocent man hang before Christmas?

What readers are saying about A Christmas Garland:

‘Make yourself a pot of tea, turn on your reading lamp and settle in for another deliciously atmospheric tale from Perry’

Christmas would not be Christmas without a Perry novella

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 25th October 2012

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9780755397259

Reviews

Perry's gift is that she can evoke a sense of place and time while still producing the thrills and chills expected of a modern-day mystery writer
The Orlando Sentinel
Delightful... The perfect gift for a whodunit addict who likes to curl up with a good book after Christmas lunch
Oxford Times
This engaging historical mystery offers an introspective look at the character, Narraway, who will become the future boss of Thomas Pitt, star of Perry's long-running series. Perry's tenth Christmas novel is a winner
Booklist
Perry, as always, does an admirable job of pulling back the Christmas tree skirt and showing the darker underside tucked away behind the trappings of a Victorian holiday
The Washington Post
[A] heart-warming, if crime-tinged, complement to the holiday season
Booklist
In Anne Perry's gifted hands, the puzzle plays out brilliantly
Greensboro News & Record
[Perry] writes with detail that invades the senses
Lincoln Journal Star
Praise for Anne Perry: Perry avoids all of the mawkish pitfalls that are usually the hallmark of holiday books by choosing an unconventional setting and decidedly different approach. Rather than leaning on sentiment, she writes an honest, though somewhat grim, story that captures the essence of 19th-century India and the character of a compassionate man. A novel approach to an oft-explored subject, this tale will delight Perry's fans and bring her new ones
Kirkus Reviews
A bite-sized mystery that could be fitted in after your Christmas lunch
Daily Telegraph
Perry's Victorian-era holiday mysteries... are for many an annual treat
The Wall Street Journal