Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Christmas Homecoming (Christmas Novella 9)

A Christmas Homecoming (Christmas Novella 9)

In snowy Whitby in 1897, dangerous secrets emerge from the dark…

A Christmas Homecoming is a Victorian tale of murder and intrigue during one snowy Christmas, from acclaimed author Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘Perry’s gift is that she can evoke a sense of place and time while still producing the thrills and chills expected of a modern-day mystery writer’ – Orlando Sentinel

During a bitter snowstorm, a mysterious stranger descends on the Netheridges’ country home in Whitby, where a group of renowned actors has gathered to prepare a Boxing Day production of Dracula. Amidst an atmosphere of competing theatrical egos and artistic disagreements, the unknown Mr Ballin is brutally murdered.

Determined to uncover the truth, but without help from the police who cannot reach the house through the snow, Caroline Fielding begins to investigate the circumstances surrounding the puzzling affair. Who was the victim? Was his appearance at the house as innocent and as circumstantial as he professed? And which of the guests knows more than they are letting on?

What readers are saying about A Christmas Homecoming:

A good read by the fire on a cold dark night’

Atmospheric

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 10th November 2011

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9780755376957

Reviews

A bite-sized mystery that could be fitted in after your Christmas lunch
Daily Telegraph
Perry, as always, does an admirable job of pulling back the Christmas tree skirt and showing the darker underside tucked away behind the trappings of a Victorian holiday
The Washington Post
[A] heart-warming, if crime-tinged, complement to the holiday season
Booklist
In Anne Perry's gifted hands, the puzzle plays out brilliantly
Greensboro News & Record
Praise for Anne Perry: Perry's gift is that she can evoke a sense of place and time while still producing the thrills and chills expected of a modern-day mystery writer
The Orlando Sentinel
Delightful... The perfect gift for a whodunit addict who likes to curl up with a good book after Christmas lunch
Oxford Times
[Perry] writes with detail that invades the senses
Lincoln Journal Star
Could have been devised by Agatha Christie... [Perry is] a modern master
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Perry's Victorian-era holiday mysteries... are for many an annual treat
The Wall Street Journal