Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

A Christmas Message (Christmas Novella 14)

A mysterious stranger sends the Narraways on a dangerous pilgrimage…

A Christmas Message is a tantalising festive tale from Anne Perry, the master of Victorian crime. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.


Christmas 1900. Victor Narraway, Thomas Pitt’s former boss, and his new wife Vespasia are travelling by train from Jaffa to Jerusalem. Although enjoying their time together and the interesting people they meet, Vespasia soon becomes concerned that someone is watching their every move.

When one of their new acquaintances is found murdered, the only clue is a mysterious piece of parchment written in a foreign tongue, and a message imploring Narraway to continue the stranger’s quest. Sensing its importance, Narraway and Vespasia decide to fulfil their dead friend’s wish.

Continuing to Jerusalem with the parchment in hand, they quickly find themselves embroiled in danger. With Vespasia’s fears suddenly realised and a watcher on their trail, will Narraway and Vespasia’s fates follow that of their friend or can they make it to Jerusalem unscathed?

What readers are saying about A Christmas Message:

‘As always I was lost in the extraordinary events

‘It is an extraordinary story and so gripping

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Adventure / Historical Adventure

On Sale: 20th October 2016

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472234230

Reviews

A bite-sized mystery that could be fitted in after your Christmas lunch
Daily Telegraph
[A] heart-warming, if crime-tinged, complement to the holiday season
Booklist
Delightful... The perfect gift for a whodunit addict who likes to curl up with a good book after Christmas lunch
Oxford Times
Perry's gift is that she can evoke a sense of place and time while still producing the thrills and chills expected of a modern-day mystery writer
The Orlando Sentinel
Perry, as always, does an admirable job of pulling back the Christmas tree skirt and showing the darker underside tucked away behind the trappings of a Victorian holiday
The Washington Post
Praise for Anne Perry: Perry's Victorian-era holiday mysteries... are for many an annual treat
The Wall Street Journal
In Anne Perry's gifted hands, the puzzle plays out brilliantly
Greensboro News & Record
[Perry] writes with detail that invades the senses
Lincoln Journal Star