Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Christmas Secret (Christmas Novella 4)

A Christmas Secret (Christmas Novella 4)

A shocking discovery seems to indicate that all it not as it seems in an idyllic country village…

Anne Perry’s A Christmas Secret is a compelling Victorian mystery set in the English countryside. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Jacqueline Winspear.


‘Short but highly enjoyable, with Perry’s finely drawn period descriptions providing an engrossing backdrop’ – Good Book Guide

December 1890: Eleven days before Christmas, Clarice and her husband, Reverend Dominic Corde, arrive in the idyllic village of Cottisham to watch over the Reverend Wynter’s flock, whilst he takes a richly deserved holiday.

With its village green and thatched cottages, Cottisham is a far cry from the bleak London parish they’ve left behind. But Clarice can’t shake the feeling that the welcoming smiles of the locals are hiding dark secrets.
When a shocking discovery confirms her suspicions, Clarice can’t resist investigating. Could it be that the Reverend is not all that he seems? Are there black sheep in the fold? One thing is certain: Clarice is determined to uncover the truth. Even if it means putting her own life in danger.

What readers are saying about A Christmas Secret:

A delightful, gentle read to prepare you for Christmas… What more could a reader want?

‘This is such a warming novel. The characters really shine amid the setting of a charming English village. A lovely mystery/love story

‘I look forward to Anne Perry’s Christmas novellas. This one is wistful and melancholic. A good book to curl up with on a winter’s afternoon
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 1st August 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472210128

Reviews

[Perry] writes with detail that invades the senses
Lincoln Journal Star
In Anne Perry's gifted hands, the puzzle plays out brilliantly
Greensboro News & Record
A bite-sized mystery that could be fitted in after your Christmas lunch
Daily Telegraph
Praise for Anne Perry: Short but highly enjoyable, with Perry's finely drawn period descriptions providing an engrossing backdrop
Good Book Guide
Perry's gift is that she can evoke a sense of place and time while still producing the thrills and chills expected of a modern-day mystery writer
The Orlando Sentinel
Delightful... The perfect gift for a whodunit addict who likes to curl up with a good book after Christmas lunch
Oxford Times
Perry's Victorian-era holiday mysteries... are for many an annual treat
The Wall Street Journal
Perry, as always, does an admirable job of pulling back the Christmas tree skirt and showing the darker underside tucked away behind the trappings of a Victorian holiday
The Washington Post
[A] heart-warming, if crime-tinged, complement to the holiday season
Booklist