Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Christmas Visitor (Christmas Novella 2)

A Christmas Visitor (Christmas Novella 2)

One Christmas proves to be unlike any other…

Henry Rathbone, one of Anne Perry’s most engaging characters from her William Monk series, appears in the seasonal murder mystery A Christmas Visitor. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Ann Granger.


‘It wouldn’t be Christmas without a good mystery, and this one has the perfect backdrop: a rambling manor in the Lake District’ – You Magazine

Henry Rathbone arrives to spend Christmas at the Dreghorn family manor house near Ullswater. He is greeted by the news that the master of the house, Judah Dreghorn has slipped while crossing a stream in the grounds of the estate in the middle of the night, and drowned. Not only this, but Ashton Gower, recently released from prison, is slandering Judah’s name, claiming that his family rightfully owns the estate and that the forged deeds for which he was imprisoned were in fact genuine. To Rathbone and the two remaining Dreghorn brothers, also returning to the Lakes for Christmas, Judah’s mysterious death and Gower’s outrageous claims seem inextricably linked.

What readers are saying about A Christmas Visitor:

‘I guarantee that you won’t soon forget this story

An excellent novel set in the Lake District’

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755383122

Reviews

Delightful ... The perfect gift for a whodunit addict who likes to curl up with a good book after Christmas lunch
Oxford Times
Praise for Anne Perry: It wouldn't be Christmas without a good mystery, and this one has the perfect backdrop: a rambling manor in the Lake District
You Magazine
In Anne Perry's gifted hands, the puzzle plays out brilliantly
Greensboro News & Record
A bite-sized mystery that could be fitted in after your Christmas lunch
Daily Telegraph
[Perry] writes with detail that invades the senses
Lincoln Journal Star
Perry's gift is that she can evoke a sense of place and time while still producing the thrills and chills expected of a modern-day mystery writer
The Orlando Sentinel
[A] heart-warming, if crime-tinged, complement to the holiday season
Booklist
Perry's Victorian-era holiday mysteries... are for many an annual treat
The Wall Street Journal
Perry, as always, does an admirable job of pulling back the Christmas tree skirt and showing the darker underside tucked away behind the trappings of a Victorian holiday
The Washington Post