Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Sudden Fearful Death (William Monk Mystery, Book 4)

A Sudden Fearful Death (William Monk Mystery, Book 4)

No one is beyond suspicion…

William Monk once again pits himself against a deadly enemy in the fourth novel featuring the enigmatic detective from
New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Arthur Conan Doyle.

‘Absorbing… Perry continues her excellent renderings of Victorian manners and mayhem’ – Chicago Sun-Times

Death might be commonplace in 1857 in the Royal Free Hospital in London’s Gray’s Inn Road, but murder certainly isn’t. When the body of Prudence Barrymore, a gently bred, dedicated and passionate nurse, is discovered stuffed into a laundry chute no one – high born or low – can be beyond suspicion. But the police seem determined to concentrate their efforts on proving Dr Kristian Beck the culprit – because he is foreign. Concerned and unhappy with this state of affairs, Lady Callandra Daviot of the Board of Governors asks Investigator William Monk to pursue the case.

Monk, frustrated by the lingering traces of amnesia caused by an accident, agrees, and calls upon his old colleagues to aid him. Hester Latterly, an independent young woman who served with Florence Nightingale in the Crimean War, knew the dead woman there; Hester’s profession provides the perfect cover for her to obtain work at the Royal Free. And Oliver Rathbone, a brilliant barrister, who is brought in as counsel for the defence. But under the ever-present shadow of the gallows, and inching towards the appalling solution, the three begin to despair of justice ever prevailing.

What readers are saying about A Sudden Fearful Death:

Intriguing murder mystery in a bygone era, which captivates the reader

‘Was enthralled from beginning to end’

‘I’ve got quite addicted to these stories’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 26th September 2013

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9781472211767

Reviews

When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
San Diego Union-Tribune
[Anne Perry] is adept at showing the reader two sides of Victorian London - the dark side where people are barely surviving and glittering society where people sometimes kill to hide terrible secrets
Knoxville News-Sentinel
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Seattle Weekly
[Perry's] early-Victorian series... has deepened and darkened its insights into the social evils that burdened London's underclasses
New York Times Book Review
Riveting... [a] surpassingly excellent historical and psychologically intricate mystery
Publishers Weekly
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
The Wall Street Journal
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
Faye Kellerman
Praise for Anne Perry: Absorbing... Perry continues her excellent renderings of Victorian manners and mayhem
Chicago Sun-Times
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Guardian
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Cleveland Plain Dealer