Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Angels in the Gloom (World War I Series, Novel 3)

Angels in the Gloom (World War I Series, Novel 3)

1916, and Britain faces possible starvation. Can a way be found to beat the deadly German U-boats?

The third breath-taking novel in Anne Perry’s heart-stopping World War I quintet, Angels in Gloom follows the Reavley family as they face danger closer to home. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker and Sebastian Barry.


‘Perry creates a meticulously detailed backdrop, whether [on the] home front or [the] front lines, while leaving plenty of room for her characters to contemplate issues of honor, loyalty, and love’
Booklist

It’s March 1916, and Joseph Reavley is on sick leave and finding recovery slow and hard. His sister Hannah is caring for him at home, and it’s a delight to them both when Shanley Corcoran, an old friend, comes to visit. Corcoran confides in Joseph that he’s come very close to completing an invention that will paralyse the deadly German U-boats. Soon afterwards, however, the leading scientist on that project is found murdered, and it’s clear that someone has been betraying secrets to the enemy. Joseph’s brother Matthew, of the S.I.S., comes down to investigate, and together the two men embark on a search that will solve the crime and lead them to the spy.

What readers are saying about Angels in the Gloom:

This is truly a special series

‘The author’s description of war on the Western Front is so vividly described that the reader feels as if he/she is present in the trenches

The author [is] exceptionally skilled at holding together the diverse threads and keeping every page full of human interest
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 25th November 2010

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755382743

Reviews

Praise for Anne Perry: Perry creates a meticulously detailed backdrop, whether [on the] home front or [the] front lines, while leaving plenty of room for her characters to contemplate issues of honor, loyalty, and love
Booklist
Bloody battles at sea, gumshoe work, family ties and gentle love add flavor as the mystery nears a climax
The Oklahoman
Perry's bent for action and suspense greatly enlivens the story... She is a careful researcher and adept storyteller. But those talents have taken a quantum leap with the World War I series
The Star-Ledger
Suspenseful, often heartbreaking and riveting... This is Perry's probing, brooding landscape of the soul, which she masters and makes her own
Providence Journal
The writer weaves her compelling fiction around a graphic account of the horror of First World War trench warfare that has not been bettered since Sebastian Faulks' Birdsong
Nottingham Evening Post
Perry cleverly resolves some plot lines while reserving the solution of others for future mysteries... she does a superb job of bringing the grimness and waste to life, in a nice shift of gears from her two 19th-century historical series
Publishers Weekly
Perry fans will not be disappointed
Huddersfield Daily Examiner
Very enjoyable and gripping
Glasgow Evening Times